Lord of the Column

Señor de la Columna

Lord of the Column, I, Esmeralda Lara, medicate this retablo to you. I was in love with Angelica Pilar but was afraid to open my feelings to her and be rejected, but you helped me.

Acapulco
March 7, 1980

Juana dedicates this humble retablo to the Lord of the Column for Juvencio who got five bullets in the stomach from the soldiers of the garrison at Celaya for having deserted. I found him almost dead and prayed the Lord for protection. He heard me, and I thank him with this retablo for what happened that morning on April 15, 1922.

Praise the Lord Jesus!

The terrible tragedy happened the other night when Cutberto came home with the booze. He got me out the room and began to beat me insulting me. My daughter came over trying to defend me. Her father was going to beat her also. That moment I implored the Lord of the Column, and he didn’t hurt my daughter. A miracle happened on May 17, 1965.

Retablo by

Miraculous Lord of the Column, we, Aido Salcido and my beloved Rocio Gonzalez, thank you for all your help. Yes, we are different and aren’t quite understood by others, but have nothing to hide. Now we live together and it seems that our families and the people begin to understand us.

Coyoacán — March 15, 1974

Господь у Колонны

Señor de la Columna

Хуана посвящает это ретабло Господу у Колонны за Хувенсио, который получил пять пуль в живот от солдат гарнизона Селаи за то, что дезертировал со своего поста. Я нашла его почти мертвым и взмолилась Господу о покровительстве. Он услышал меня, и теперь я посвящаю это ретабло в благодарность за случившееся тем утром 15 апреля 1922.

Слава тебе, Господи Иисусе!

Ужасная неприятность случилась в ту ночь, когда Кутберто заявился с выпивкой. Он вытащил меня из комнаты, стал оскорблять меня и бить. Прибежала моя дочурка, чтобы защитить меня. Ее отец собирался поколотить и ее. Я взмолилась Господу у Колонны, и он не причинил вреда моей дочурке. Чудо случилось 17 мая 1965.

Чудотворящий Господь у Колонны, приносим тебе благодарности я, Аида Салсидо, и моя возлюбленная, Росио Гонсалес, за то, что ты нам помогал. Да, мы отличаемся, и нас не понимают, но нам нечего скрывать. Теперь мы живём вместе, и кажется, семья и окружающие люди начинают нас понимать.

Койоакан, 15 марта 1974