— tagged with “violence”

Saint Sebastian, I thank you because I’m alright now after that tremendous beating a client gave me when he realized that I’m not a woman. He dragged me naked out of the hotel and whacked me. In that mortal danger, I implored you begging to save my life.

Armando “La Paola”
Tlalpan, Mexico City, May 12, 2000

Young Anselmo Aguilar was tired of his teacher constantly flunking him in physics for no reason. One day he got so angry, he threw the teacher down the stairs of the school. He gives thanks to Saint Francis of Paula for he was only kicked out of school and did not go to jail. He also did community service and paid medical expenses.

Rodrigo Meneses made bandits angry by not cooperating with them, and they tied him to the railway tracks. He fervently thanks the Virgin of San Juan because he was able to get out before passing of the train.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

We entrust the souls of these peasants to the Holy Trinity, take pity in them. They were hanged for joining the revolution like us who are keep on going hoping to defeat the evil government that imposes his law, hunger, poverty and death on us. Long live Emiliano Zapato! Death to Huerta! Long live revolution!

May 30, 1913
Xochimilco, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

The Gonzalez brothers were attacked in their own butcher shop but they were able to defend themselves, with Saint Jude’s help. They bring the present retablo for that, giving thanks and testifying about this great favor.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

In 1917, in the town of San Lucas, my buddy caught me on the mat with his wife. He started to shoot at us. I give thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe because bullets didn’t hit me. She took them all.

Catarino M.

— We’ve already paid!

The Son of Santo thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because on May 17, 2018, when he came back after a fight and saw some collectors behaving too haughty with his wife, he gave some boxing to those three collectors, until a neighbor started shooting.

May you be blessed, Lord of Chalma, for looking after me and saving from death when I was attacked by a robber outside my house. I had no money on me, and he wanted to kill me. Then, like a miracle, came my dog Tequila and bit him, and I could save my life.

1966

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

My Holy, I pray you to thank you. You gave me strength to find justice against my abusive husband. The law didn’t help me, but you did. Bless me, Holy Death, and please keep my secret safe.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Gustavo Lopez was having a diner with his cousin when his girlfriend, crazy of jealousy, came and stab him in his neck with a broken glass. He fervently thanks Saint Raymond with this retablo for his recovery and for that crazy broad was put behind bars.

I was left without a job and I couldn’t pay my rent. Then I got an idea to put sexy clothes on and to flirt with my landlord to make him forgive me the payment. I didn’t count, however, that he would be with his wife that day. When she saw me, she went furious. I thank the Holy Lord of Chalma because the landlord managed to calm his wife and they didn’t kick me pit after this. I promise not to have such ideas anymore.

Silvia S. \ Campeche, Mexico

Sebastiana Garcia beat the crap out of her old-man who was a very irresponsible skirt-chaser and slacker. She thanks the Merciful Lord with this retablo because her old-man amended his behavior.

Puebla, 1920

Retablo by

Ramon Telles got drunk and went flirting with a girlfriend of a wrestler, but the wrestler kicked his ass. He thanks Saint Jude because he just got out of the hospital…

— ретабло с тегом «насилие»

Святой Себастьян, благодарю тебя за то, что теперь мне лучше после того, как один клиент зверски избил меня, осознав, что я не женщина. Он вытащил меня голым из гостиницы и отхерачил. В этой смертельной опасности я взмолился тебе, умоляя, чтобы ты спас мне жизнь.

Армандо «Паола»
Тлальпан, Мехико, 12 мая 2000

Учитель физики постоянно ставил двойки юному Ансельмо Агилара безо всякой причины, пока однажды последний, сильно разозлившись, не столкнул учителя со школьной лестницы. Ансельмо горячо благодарен Святому Франциску из Паолы за то, что его всего лишь выгнали из школы и не посадили в тюрьму. Ему также пришлось выполнять обязательные работы и оплатить расходы на лечение.

Родриго Менесес разозлил налетчиков, отказавшись подчиняться им, и те привязали его к железнодорожным путям. Он горячо благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую этим ретабло за то, что успел выпутаться прежде, чем подъехал поезд.

Пресвятой Троице вверяем души этих крестьян, пусть она смилостивится над ними. Они были повешены за то, что присоединились к революции, как и мы, которые продолжаем борьбу в надежде на свержение злого правительства, которое навязывает нам свой закон, голод, нищету и смерть. Да здравствует Эмилиано Сапата! Смерть Уэрте! Да здравствует революция!

30 мая 1913
Сочимилько, Мексика

На братьев Гонсалес напали в их мясном магазине, но с помощью Святого Иуды они смогли защититься, за что они преподносят это ретабло, с большой благодарностью свидетельствуя об этой великой милости.

В 1917 году в городке Сан-Лукас мой приятель застукал меня на циновке с его женой и начал по нам палить. Я благодарен Деве Гваделупской за то, что он не попал в меня, а все пули пришлись его жене.

Катарино М.

— Мы уже расплатились!

Сын Санто благодарит Деву Гваделупскую за то, что 17 мая 2018 года, когда он вернулся с поединка и увидел, что коллекторы слишком заносчиво ведут себя с его женой, он показал этим троим коллекторами бокс, пока один из соседей не открыл стрельбу.

Благословен будь, Господь Чалмский, за то, что уберег меня от гибели, когда возле дома на меня напал грабитель. У меня не было с собой денег, и он хотел убить меня, но чудом прибежала моя собака Текила и покусала его, и я смог спастись.

1966

Пресвятая моя, молюсь тебе, чтобы отблагодарить тебя. Ты дала мне силы найти управу на моего жесткого мужа. Закон мне не помог, но ты помогла мне. Благослови меня, Пресвятая Смерть, и пожалуйста, сохрани мой секрет в тайне.

Густаво Лопес обедал со своей кузиной, как вдруг явилась его помешавшаяся от ревности невеста и вонзила ему в шею разбитый стакан. Этим ретабло он горячо благодарит Святого Рамона за то, что поправился и что эту безумную тетку упекли за решетку.

Я осталась без работы, и мне было нечем заплатить за аренду квартиры. Тогда меня осенило одеться посексуальнее и пофлиртовать с хозяином, чтобы он разрешил мне не платить. Однако я не рассчитывала, что в тот день с ним будет его жена. Она, завидев меня, просто взбесилась. Благодарю Святого Господа Чалмского за то, что хозяин смог утихомирить ее и что они не выгнали меня на улицу после этого. Обещаю впредь избегать подобных идей.

Сильвия С. \ Кампече, Мексика

Себастьяна Гарсия хорошенько отдубасила своего старика, так как он был безответственным волокитой и лодырем. Она благодарит Господа Милосердного этим ретабло, поскольку старик исправился.

Пуэбла, 1920

Рамон Тейес напился и стал заигрывать с подругой борца, а тот отвесил ему тумаков. Этим ретабло он благодарит Святого Иудушку за то, что уже выписался из больницы…