Unknown artist #1

With this exvoto, for God’s sake, I testify for such a great favor. I was very much worried about my wife who was a sleepwalker. She got up at night in her sleep and went out to the street putting herself in danger. When I entrusted her to the Virgin of Guadalupe, she quit sleepwalking. Otherwise I couldn’t sleep in peace because I was constantly watching her.

Señor Carlos Gomez, October 5, 1981, Quiroga, Michoacan, Mexico

On a very calm night, my cats that were outside suddenly became anxious and scared. First I didn’t get why, but then I looked in the sky and saw two witches flying on their brooms. They didn’t come with good intentions, they were fighting with my cats. I grabbed a stick and scared the witches as best I could and saved my pets. Thanks, Virgin.

Young man Doroteo Mendez from the Three Buddies ranch
January 3, 1969

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

One very calm night, when I was going to bed, I heard a very big noise. I opened the window, I saw a spaceship and two green aliens. They had bad intentions because one of them got into the house and tried to grab my kitten. Fortunately, my husband Amador was near and he helped me to defend the kitten. I kicked them with a stick, and they ran fast to their ship. Thanks, Virgin, because it was like a dream.

Zenaida Jimenez, September 29, 1968

One evening I heard my cats being very restless. When I looked at them I was quite surprised to see the little red devils torturing my cats to divert themselves. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan for giving me strength to sweep those damned creatures out so I could liberate my cats from suffering.

Petra Soto
January 10, 1979

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

For most of the time, my husband is a very boring man. But I thank the Virgin of Guadlaupe for having heard my prayers. Now, some nights, my husband turns into a red ardent demon at night and stops being boring for few hours. It compensates all the routine days.

Jimena Pacheco
2nd of June 1979, Mexico City

When my husband went to work at the north, I felt very lonely at evenings. Then I began to play guitar and sing outside. Little by little my melodies attracted all the cats from our neighborhood. They were captivated by my music. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan for this big company I have now.

Matilda Olaldi
Tequila, Jalisco
2nd of October 1982

O my Holy Virgin, what a terrible experience it was in the sea. My daughter Anita and I were swimming, and suddenly a giant octopus appeared to us. He grabbed us with his tentacles. I felt drowning, but fortunately nothing bad happened. We only got scared that he might take us down with him.

Maricela Ramirez
Acapulco, Guerrero
February 5, 1982

I thank God with this ex-voto. My horse Colorin got sick. I had to give her medicine, and she almost died. Then I got an idea to give her medicine with a reed tube. My horse got cured, and I’m very happy. I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe.

Camilo Chavez, the Miracle ranch
May 25, 1979

Retablo by

— tagged with , and , , #

One very dark night, my cat refused to go outside to eat. So I took him out, and then—God almighty!—I saw a witch and a skeleton flying over. They wanted to take my cat Sweety. I entrusted myself to Saint Francis of Assisi, and they went away.

Jacinta Ramirez
The Wild Mule ranch, Jalisco — June 5, 1979

Retablo by

One beautiful night, I have to camp. I was assembling my tent when I saw witches flying over me. Thanks to my prayers to the Virgin of Guadalupe they didn’t notice me so I was saved from being bewitched.

Amador Ramirez
“The crazy goat” ranch, Tequila, Jalisco
June 5, 1989

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and , #

I was a very gossipy woman. Every time I went to the market it was about gossiping around. But one day, as soon as I arrived at the market, I felt a strong sulfur smell. Then I had a horrible apparition with wings and horns. Oh my God, it was the devil himself. Frightened as hell, I would never gossip again nor would I talk badly about any person. Thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe.

Gudelia Ramirez,
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
January 7, 1959

Bless you God and my Virgin of Guadalupe for helping my son when he sat out in our garden and was attacked by some tarantulas. Good thing nothing happened, he just got scared.

Amalia Lopez and boy Juanito
Beautiful beach “La Perla”
May 2, 1986

After a shipwreck, I found myself on a small island. I had only a boat to fish to survive. Suddenly two beautiful mermaids appeared from the sea. They apparently were in love with me. I don’t know if it was a hallucination, my nerves or just a pleasant dream. I thank the Virgin.

Amador Ramirez
Island of Women — May 7, 1969

Неизвестный художник № 1

После того как мой муж уехал работать на север, вечерами я чувствовала себя одиноко. Тогда я начала играть во дворе на гитаре и петь. Постепенно мои мелодии привлекла внимание всех окрестных котов. Они были заворожены музыкой. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Сапопанскую за то, что теперь у меня такая большая компания.

Матильда Олалди
Текила, Халиско
2 октября 1982

О, Пресвятая Дева, что за ужасное происшествие случилось в море. Я купалась со своей дочкой Анитой, и внезапно появился огромный осьминог и схватил нас своими щупальцами. Я чувствовала, что мы тонем, но к счастью, ничего страшного не произошло. Мы лишь перепугались, что он нас утащит.

Марисела Рамирес
Акапулько, Герреро
5 февраля 1982

Этим экс-вото я благодарю Бога. Случилось так, что моя лошадь Пеструшка заболела, мне нужно было давать ей лекарства, и она у меня чуть не померла. Тогда меня осенило давать ей лекарства через тростниковую трубочку. Так она у меня поправилась, и я очень этому рад. Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую.

Камило Чавес с ранчо Чудесное
25 мая 1979

Как-то темной-темной ночью мой кот не хотел выходить из дома поесть. Тогда я вытащила его и — о, Господи! — увидела ведьму со скелетом, летающих надо мной. Они хотели забрать моего котика Миленького. Я вверилась Святому Франциску Ассизскому, и они улетели.

Хасинта Рамирес
Ранчо Дикого Мула, Халиско — 5 июня 1979

Как-то тихой ночью мне пришлось разбить лагерь. Я устанавливал палатку, когда вдруг увидел, что надо мной летят ведьмы. Благодаря моим молитвам Деве Гваделупской они меня не заметили и я был спасен от их колдовства.

Амадор Рамирес
Ранчо Безумная коза, Текила, Халиско
5 июня 1989

Я была ужасной болтушкой. Всякий раз отправляясь на рынок, я шла посплетничать. Но вот однажды, только я пришла на рынок, неожиданно почувствовался сильный запах серы. Тут мне явилось ужасное видение с крыльями и рогами. Боже мой, это был сам дьявол. От страха я больше никогда не сплетничаю и ни о ком не говорю ничего дурного. Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую.

Гуделия Рамирес
Сан-Мигель-де-Альенде, Гуанахуато, Мексика
7 января 1959

Славен будь Господь и Дева моя Гваделупская за помощь моему сыну, когда он сидел в саду нашего дома и на него напала куча тарантулов. Хорошо, что с ним ничего не случилось. Он лишь сильно перепугался.

Сеньора Амалия Лопес и мальчик Хуанито
Прекрасный пляж Жемчужный, 2 мая 1986

Я потерпел кораблекрушение и очутился на маленьком острове. У меня осталась лишь одна лодка, на которой я рыбачил, чтобы выжить. Внезапно две прекрасные сирены явились передо мной. По всей видимости, они были влюблены в меня. Я не знаю, были ли это галлюцинации, мои нервы или просто приятный сон. Благодарю тебя, Пресвятая.

Амадор Рамирес
Остров Женщин, 7 мая 1969

Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, самое красивое зрелище, виданное мной в жизни, наблюдая я в тот вечер, когда я отправился на пляж искупаться. Я увидел двух прекрасных сирен: одна играла, словно ангел, а другая была влюбленная. Я больше не хочу пить текилу.

Амадор Рамирес
Пляж Кармен
2 января 1976

Благодарю тебя, Пресвятая Дева, за твою великую милость! Как-то вечером я была на берегу на пляже Росарито в Нижней Калифорнии. Вдруг я выронила моего котенка Николаса. Но тут появилась прекрасная сирена и вернула мне его целым и невредимым.

Амалия Рамирес
20 декабря 1968

Тихим вечером я рыбачил и заснул. Не знаю, привиделось ли мне или было наяву, только увидел я красивую сирену, которая хотела поцеловать меня. Но через миг я ее уже не обнаружил.

Плайя Бонита, Мексика
Амадор Рамирес — 25 июня 1976

Благодарю Бога и Святого Франциска Ассизского за то чудо, что я повстречала любовь всей моей жизни. Мне исполнилось 40 лет, и я уже не думала, что когда-нибудь выйду замуж. Но из Соединенных Штатов вернулся мой старый жених и предложил мне руку и сердце. Благодарю Бога, так как мы очень счастливы и стали родителями прекрасного ребеночка.

Хуанита Лопес и Амадор Рамирес
Гвадалахара, Халиско, 12 декабря 1986

Благодарю Святого Антония Падуанского, что у меня была такая красивая свадьба. Я вышла замуж за человека, которого люблю и который меня тоже сильно любит. Надеемся, что Бог пошлёт нам кучу детишек.

Хуанита Канту и Амадор Рамирес
Текила, Халиско, 26 июня 1862