Saint Francis of Assisi

San Francisco de Asís

Regino Suarez wanted to impress his neighbor and climbed a pole to save a cat. He’s infinitely thankful, with this retablo, to Saint Francis because he didn’t fell down, although he got scratched all over, but the girl granted him her friendship.

Retablo by

Saint Francis, thank you for your favors. I remember when I met Damian he was a very timid boy. I told him that he has a baby-face, but it turned out that he was the same age as me. He was very shy, and when I talked with him he went beet red. One time some University fellows invited us to a party. Most of them brought their girlfriends. Damian asked me why I didn’t bring mine. I told him that I don’t like women. Then he said “What a coincidence, neither do I”. That’s how we became a couple. I thank for having fallen in love.

Osvaldo Gomez, 1966

I saw that a storm was about to start, and I ran to shelter the animals because my husband slept like a log. I got them under the roof but couldn’t ran to the house myself because a heavy rain with hail broke out. So I made myself comfortable among the animals, and I must confess, I have never slept so good as that nigh. I give thanks to Saint Francis because now when I really need to rest I come to sleep with them, as far as possible from my husband snoring.

I thank Saint Francis of Assisi for the tv-show “Ultraman”. When I was young, this program inspired me to be positive and to fight for what is right, even against overwhelming opponents.

Jaime Rodriguez, Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

Maria Jose thanks Saint Francis, saint patron of the animals, because, although Quintilliano died last year, she still enjoys the company of Kokoro, Pepino and Señor.

— tagged with and , , , #

Rosa Gutierrez brings the present retablo to Saint Francis thanking him because her doggy brought four puppies into the world. They are very cute, and she’s already found them homes.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I was coming back from fishing in my boat when I accidentally got myself into a part of lake I didn’t know well. Suddenly I stumbled upon three huge crocodiles. I got very scared because I had nothing to defend myself. That’s why I implored Saint Francis of Assisi for help, and then, by a miracle, those dangerous animals went away. I give thanks for that.

Rufino Villanueva — Tabasco, Mexico

Retablo by

Gumersinda Cañete’s heifer got sick with a bad indigestion. No remedy would help it, so she implored Saint Francis, and the heifer was cured. She brings this retablo giving thanks for such a particular favor.

Puebla, 1915

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Juan Puntes thanks to St. Francis for the fact that when he was walking and suddenly the local idiots began to burn plastic, Marat Guelman took him home. He did not inhale the poison.

Montenegro, 2015

Retablo by

Victor C. and Cristina M. wanted each other very much, but they didn’t have money for the hotel so they made love in the pigeonry. They infinitely thank Saint Francis for nobody noticed them, although it wasn’t very pleasant because of too much pigeon poo.

Retablo by

Nicandro Malfabon was a macho but he fell in love with his stable boy. He asked Saint Francis of Assisi to release him from this feeling or make so that the young man return his love to him. And he took him to his house.

October 1979, Cuquio, Jalisco
Nicandro Malfabon

On September 19, 2017, there was a terrible earthquake in Mexico, and my brother was trapped under the debris of the collapsed building where he lived. But after few hours the dog Frida found him, and thanks to her his life was saved. I ask Saint Francis of Assisi, with this retablo, to protect and look after Frida and other rescue dogs who risk their lives to save ours at these catastrophes.

Magdalena S., Mexico City

Saint Francis of Assisi, thank you for this great crop of apples.

Yours sincerely, sr. Pedro Gomez-y-Miguel

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Святой Франциск Ассизский

San Francisco de Asís

Рехино Суарес, желая произвести впечатление на соседку, полез на столб снимать кота. Этим ретабло он бесконечно благодарен Святому Франциску за то, что не свалился, хотя кот его всего расцарапал, и добился дружбы девушки.

Святой Франциск, спасибо за твои милости. Помню, когда я познакомился с Дамианом, он был очень застенчивым мальчиком. Я сказал ему, что у него личико, как у ребенка, а оказалось, что ему столько же лет, сколько и мне. Он был очень робок и сильно краснел, когда я с ним разговаривал. Как-то раз однокурсники пригласили нас на праздник. Большинство привело с собой своих девушек. Дамиан спросил меня, почему я не привел свою. Я сказал, что мне не нравятся женщины. Тогда он ответил: «Какое совпадение! Мне они тоже не нравятся». Так мы стали встречаться. Благодарю за то, что мы влюбились друг в друга.

Освальдо Гомес, 1966

Я заметила, что собирается грянуть буря, и побежала укрыть скотину, ибо муж мой спал как сурок. Я загнала живность под крышу, но тут разразился ливень с градом, так что я уже не успела добежать до дома. Тогда я разместилась среди зверей, и, должна признаться, мне никогда так хорошо не спалось, как в ту ночь. Благодарю Святого Франциска, ведь теперь, когда мне надо хорошо отдохнуть, я прихожу спать к скотине, подальше от храпения моего мужа.

Благодарю Святого Франциска Ассизского за телепрограмму «Ультрамен». В молодости эта передача вдохновила меня быть на стороне добра и бороться за правду, в том числе против куда более сильных соперников.

Хайме Родригес, Мехико

Мария Хосе благодарит Святого Франциска, покровителя животных, поскольку, несмотря на то что в прошлом году умер Квинтилиано, она по-прежнему наслаждается компанией Кокоро, Пепино и Сеньора.

Роса Гутьеррес преподносит это ретабло в благодарность Святому Франциску за то, что ее собачка родила на свет четырех щенят. Все они очень миленькие, и она уже их пристроила.

Я возвращался с рыбалки в своей лодочке и случайно заплыл в неизведанную часть озера. Тут я внезапно наткнулся на трех огромных крокодилов. Я страшно перепугался, потому что мне было нечем от них защититься. Тогда я призвал на помощь Святого Франциска Ассизского, и эти страшные звери чудом убрались прочь, за что я благодарю.

Руфино Вильянуэва — Табаско, Мексика

У Гумерсинды Канете телка заболела тяжелым несварением. Никакое лекарство не помогало, и тогда она взмолилась Святому Франциску, и телка поправилась. За такую милостью она преподносит это ретабло и благодарит.

Пуэбла, 1915

Хуан Пунтес благодарит Святого Франциска за то, что, когда он шел и какие-то местные придурки подожгли пластик, Марат Гельман отвез его домой и он не надышался ядом.

Черногория, 2015

Виктор С. и Кристина М. сильно хотели друг друга, но у них не было денег на гостиницу, поэтому они занялись любовью в голубятне. Они бесконечно благодарны Святому Франциску за то, что их никто не заметил, хотя им было не очень приятно из-за кучи голубиных какашек.

Был Никандро Мальфабон мачо, но влюбился в своего конюха. Он попросил Святого Франциска Ассизского, чтобы это чувство прошло или чтобы юноша ответил ему взаимностью. И вот он взял его к себе в дом.

Октябрь 1979, Кукио, Халиско
Никандро Мальфабон

19 сентября 2017 г. в Мехико произошло страшное землетрясение. Мой брат оказался под завалами своего обрушившегося дома. Однако спустя несколько часов собачка Фрида нашла его, и благодаря ей его жизнь была спасена. Этим ретабло я прошу у Святого Франциска Ассизского хранить и беречь Фриду и всех остальных собак-спасателей, которые рискуют своими жизнями во время катастроф, чтобы спасти наши.

Магдалена С., Мехико

Святой Франциск Ассизский, благодарю за этот обильный урожай яблок.

С уважением сеньор Педро Гомес-и-Мигель