— tagged with “death”

A very strange lady offered me something to eat.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

The Martinez’ cat died, and the children were very sad. Their relatives saw how inconsolable they are and started to give them kittens. The children thank the Virgin of San Juan for now they have six cute kittens. They’re very happy, and their parents also love new kittens.

— tagged with and , , , , #

My wife died and left my little daughter and me very lonely and sad, but the Virgin of Guadalupe felt sorry for us. I have seen my wife’s spirit taking care of our girl and I feel her lips giving me the good night kiss. I thank for this favor.

With the promise “to be together till death do us apart” the boy Marquitos and his father Jose Antonio Villaseñor took off from Mexico with the illusion of prosperity. In Reynosa, Tamaulipas, together with 70 others people without documents, they got in the trailer of a truck going to Houston, Texas. After few hours of terrible agony, they were found hugging each other but with no life in them like 11 others Mexicans and 5 more Latin Americans. They all died asphyxiated and dehydrated. They were left without mercy by the mean smugglers in the town of Victoria, south of Houston. Morning of May 14, 2003, when I heard these painful news, I entrusted their souls to the Holy Virgin of the Solitude and the Lord of Chalma. I also ask to protect those who escaped the death.

Alfredo Vilchis Roque, Mexico City, 2003

I saw the dogs attacking a lady. I wanted to run and defend her but then I saw that it was the Death himself. I thank the Virgin for protecting me so that the skeleton didn’t take me.

May 2, 1953

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Holy Virgin, thank you for saving my sick son Pedrito from death.

Maria Rey
21–V–90, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

I married Jose a year after he became a widower when his first wife died on the day of the wedding because of indigestion after eating too much. Turned out that the ghost of the first wife was very jealous. She began to appear at nights with the angry face and scared me a lot. Then I ordered a novena for her soul, and it made the ghost to go away and rest in peace. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan because now I’m happy with Jose.

My husband and I were spending a night in an inn in Guanajuato to celebrate our anniversary, and it happened that the Death appeared to us. We were very frightened and prayed to the Virgin of San Juan. The Death disappeared. We thank the Holy Virgin for this horrible apparition didn’t make a deadly omen to us because we were told in the town that this room was bewitched.

Virgin of Guadalupe, I thank you, because the Black Rider saved me from the Death.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Saint Jude Thaddeus, thank you for all your favors. It seemed I was loosing my mind when I got in the river completely naked. One and half year before, my boyfriend Pepe had drowned at the very same place. A lady saw me there and reported to the police. They came looking for me, and then I spent three days at a police station until my mother and my sister came after me. They payed the fine, and then I was taken from there with the psychologist. Few months later, I was doing better mentally, since I had been at the edge of going crazy.

Angela Moreno
Cuernavaca, Morelos, 1965

I met Arturo few months after his wife had died at the day of their wedding. We fell in love, and, after waiting one year of his widowhood, we got married. But after coming back from our honeymoon I began to see his first wife’s ghost every night. She was furious and looked at me with so much hate. Arturo slept like a log and of course didn’t see any of this. And me—I was trembling in fear. Then I ordered a requiem mess for her soul. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan because the ghost hasn’t appeared ever since.

I dedicate this retablo to the holy Virgin of Lourdes. Since I was a little girl I had my little dog called Lassy whom I loved greatly. She died at 18 years old. I thank the Virgin for I found a very good and cheap taxidermist who turned my Lassy back to me in three weeks, and she looked as if she were still alive.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Anselmo Barrientos was resting after the work in the field. He was drinking pulque when he saw the bony Death. Anselmo wasn’t a young man, but still he had no desire to die yet. He prayed the Lord of Blue Eye. The Lord scared the Death away, and it left Anselmo in peace.

— ретабло с тегом «смерть»

У Мартинесов умерла кошка, и дети были сильно опечалены. Тогда их родственники, видя, как безутешны дети, стали дарить им котят. Дети благодарят Пресвятую Деву Сан-Хуанскую, так как теперь у них есть шесть миленьких котят. Они им очень рады, и их родители тоже в восторге.

Моя жена умерла, и мне с нашей маленькой дочкой было очень грустно и одиноко. Но Дева Гваделупская сжалилась над нами. Я видел, как дух моей жены приходит позаботиться о нашей девочке, и я чувствую, как она целует меня перед сном. Благодарю за эту милость.

С обещанием «быть вместе, пока смерть не разлучит нас» маленький Маркитос и его папа Хосе Антонио Вильясеньор отправились из Мексики с мечтой преуспеть. В Рейносе, штат Тамаулипас, они наряду с 70 прочими нелегалами без документов забрались в грузовой прицеп, направлявшийся в Хьюстон, штат Техас. Спустя несколько часов тяжелейших мучений сын и отец умерли в объятиях друг друга от удушья и обезвоживания. С ними также погибли 11 мексиканцев и еще 5 латиноамериканцев. Они были безжалостно брошены подлыми проводниками в Виктории, городке к югу от Хьюстона. Услышав это горькое известие утром 14 мая 2003, я вверил их души Пресвятой Деве Скорбящей и Господу Чалмскому. Прошу также защитить тех, кому удалось избежать гибели.

Альфредо Вильчис Роке, Мехико, 2003

Я увидел, как собаки набросились на одну сеньору и хотел было броситься ей на помощь, но тут я увидел, что это сама Смерть. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву, что защитила меня, так что костлявая не забрала меня.

2 мая 1953

Пресвятая Дева, благодарю, что спасла моего больного сына Педро от смерти.

Мария Рейес
Мексика, 21 мая 1990

Я вышла за Хосе спустя год как он овдовел, когда его первая жена переела и умерла в день свадьбы от несварения желудка. Оказалось, однако, что призрак первой супруги очень ревнив. Она стала появляться по ночам с очень злым лицом и страшно пугала меня. Тогда я заказала отмолить девятиднев по ее душе, и это упокоило призрак. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что теперь я могу жить счастливо с Хосе.

Мы с мужем проводили на ночь на постоялом дворе в Гуанахуато, дабы отпраздновать годовщину нашей свадьбы, и случилось, что нам явилась сама Смерть. Мы перепугались и взмолились Деве Сан-Хуанской. Смерть исчезла. Мы благодарим Пресвятую Деву за то, что это ужасное привидение не сотворило над нами смертное знамение, ведь нам говорили в городе, что это комната заколдована.

Пресвятая Дева, благодарю, что черный всадник спас меня от смерти.

Святой Иуда Фаддей, благодарю тебя за твои благодеяния. Я, кажется, была не в своем уме, когда решила залезть в реку полностью обнаженной. За полтора года до этого на этом самом месте утонул мой жених Пепе. Одна сеньора заметила меня и вызвала полицию. Они приехали за мной, и затем я провела три дня в местном участке, пока мои мама с сестрой не приехали за мной. Они уплатили штраф и увезли меня оттуда с психологом. Через несколько месяцев мое психическое состояние улучшилось, ведь я была на грани сумасшествия.

Анхела Морено
Куэрнавака, Морелос, 1965

Я познакомилась с Артуро несколько месяцев спустя после смерти его жены, которая умерла прямо в день свадьбы. Мы влюбились друг в друга и, прождав, покуда пройдет год, как Артуро овдовел, поженились. Но после возвращения из медового месяца мне каждую ночь стал являться призрак первой жены. Она была в ярости и смотрела на меня с ненавистью. Артуро спал как сурок и ничего этого, конечно, не видел. А я вся тряслась от страха. Тогда я заказала мессу об упокоении ее души. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую, что призрак перестал появляться.

Посвящаю это ретабло Пресвятой Деве Лурдской. С детства у меня была собачка Лесси, которую я сильно любила. Она умерла в возрасте 18 лет. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву, поскольку я нашла очень хорошего и недорогого таксидермиста, который спустя три недели принес мне мою Лесси, и выглядела она будто живая.

Ансельмо Баррьентос отдыхал после полевых работ, попивая пульке, когда вдруг увидел костлявую смерть. Хоть и был Ансельмо уже не молод, но помирать совсем не хотел. Он взмолился Господу Голубоглазому. Господь спугнул смерть, и та оставила Ансельмо в покое.

Джино Руберт посвящает это ретабло Святому Отцу, который услышал его молитвы и заразил его жену смертельной легочной инфекцией, потому что она была очень злой и жестокой женщиной.

Мехико, 2013