— tagged with “Tlaxcala”

I bring the present retablo to Saint Pascual Baylon who helped me with my tortillas when my mother-in-law had to visit us. They came out well and didn’t burn. She loved my dishes, and I thank for that.

Gregoria Xicotencatl

Tlaxcala, Mexico

Florino Rodriguez mistakenly entered into his neighbor’s room and was welcomed with bullets because the neighbor hated the fags. Florino thanks Saint Pontius Martyr for he was not wounded by such a big pistol.

Tlaxcala, 1940

Retablo by

Leaving the bar, my old man and I met extraterrestrials who wanted to take us to their planet. I thank the Virgin of San Juan for protecting us from these little creatures.

Tlaxcala, 1985

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

One night, my sister Lupa and I were returning home from our aunt Josefina across de la Gloria ranch. Then two strangers started following us. They start hitting on us, and they seemed to have bad intentions. We got scared and entrusted our honor to the Virgin of Zapopan. She made so some workers from the ranch came on our way, and the strangers went away without attacking our virtue. We thank for that.

Apizaco, Tlaxcala, 1967

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

November 2, Day of the Dead, my buddy’s ghost came to the bar and wanted to pass some shots with me. I got scared and wanted to run away, but he pushed me down and broke my hand. I thank the Holy Child of Atocha for I didn’t kick the bucket.

Susano Camayo, Tlaxcala, 1920

Apolinar, Fermin and Cipriano Ramos infinitely thank the Lord of Chalma for his protection since they’ve been working as builders for 20 years and never had any accidents. All these years they’ve been working to support and provide for their families.

Tlaxcala, 1979

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

The Ramirez Acatecatl family was visiting the archeological site in Cacaxtla. Then they noticed a star-shaped UFO that flew over the pyramid at high speed. It made deafening noise, louder than the Concord’s engines. They thank the Virgin of Ocotlan for protecting them from the danger and bring this retablo.

Tlaxcala, July 28, 1975

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

Carmelo Coyotzi brings this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman thanking him for the success of his bar.

Tlaxcala, 1920

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

I bring the present retablo to Saint Pascual Baylon who helped me so my tortillas went well and didn’t burn because my mother-in-law was to come. She loved my dishes, and I thank for that.

Gregoria Xicotencatl
Tlaxcala, 1938

1925, in Apisaco my husband caught me with my friend and started to shoot at us. I give infinite thanks to Saint Charbel because no bullet hit me, my friend took them all. Now he is at the cemetery and the other on is in the jail.

Teofilo Perez was in a bar when one of his mistresses came there. She wanted to cut his balls for being a womanizer. But he implored Saint James and now thanks him for escaping such a peculiar danger.

Tlaxcala, 1921

The foreman Herminio Castillo’s team thanks the Virgin of Guadalupe for helping them to get till the Holy Cross Day without mishaps and to celebrate it with big work.

Tlaxcala, 1969

Retablo by

I dedicate the present retablo to Saint Michael the Archangel thanking him, with all my heart, for he always accompanies me at my work as a picador. During all my years in this profession, I didn’t suffer from any grave accident, nor did my horse Sparky. So I feel blessed.

Abelardo Rosas
Apizaco, Tlaxcala

— ретабло с тегом «Тласкала»

Приношу это ретабло Святому Паскуальчику Байлону, который помог мне с тортильями, так что все они хорошо вышли и не пригорели. Ведь к нам должна была прийти моя свекровь. Ей понравилась моя стряпня, за что я благодарю.

Грегория Шикотенкатль

Тласкала, Мексика

Флорино Родригес по ошибке зашел в комнату соседа и попал под пули, так как сосед ненавидел гомиков. Флорино благодарит Святого Понтия мученика за то, что сосед не ранил его своим огромным пистолетом.

Тласкала, 1940

Выйдя из кабака, мы с моим стариком повстречали инопланетян, которые хотели забрать нас с собой на их планету. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что защитила нас от этих маленьких существ.

Тласкала, 1985

Одним вечером мы с моей сестрой Лупой возвращались домой от нашей тетушки Хосефины через ранчо де ла Глория. Вдруг за нами увязались два незнакомца. Они стали приставать к нам и шли за нами с явно нехорошими намерениями. Мы испугались и вверили нашу честь Пресвятой Деве Сапопанской. Она сделала так, что появились работники ранчо и незнакомцы ушли, не посягнув на нашу честь. Благодарим за это.

Аписако, Тласкала, 1967

2 ноября, в День Мертвых, в трактир заявился призрак моего товарища, который хотел пропустить со мной по стаканчику. Я испугался и бросился бежать от него. Но он повалил меня на пол и сломал мне руку. Благодарю Святого Младенца с Аточи за то, что я не отдал концы.

Сусано Камайо
Тласкала, 1920

Примечание:
Изучающим испанский язык будет интересно узнать, как я рыскал по словарям мексиканизмов и языковым форумам, пытаясь разгадать слово cafetear. Это очень необычный эвфемизм для глагола умереть. Дословно он переводится как кофейничать, пить кофе. Кофейные церемонии входили в часть традиционных поминок в Латинской Америке. Отсюда и пошло второе, разговорное значение слова.

Аполинар, Фермин и Сиприано Рамос благодарят этим ретабло Господа Чалмского за то, что на протяжении 20 лет, что они кладут кирпичи, у них не было ни одного несчастного случая и они все эти годы могли работать, чтобы поддерживать свои семьи.

Тласкала, 1979

Семья Рамирес Акатекатль посещала археологические раскопки в Какаштле. Там они заметили НЛО в форме звезды, которое на огромной скорости пролетело над пирамидой. Оно издавало оглушительный шум — громче, чем моторы конкорда. Они благодарят Деву Окотланскую за то, что она уберегла их от беды, и преподносят это ретабло.

Тласкала, 28 июля 1975

Кармело Койотци посвящает это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за процветание своего кабака.

Тласкала, 1920

Приношу это ретабло Святому Паскуальчику Байлону, который помог мне с тортильями, так что все они хорошо вышли и не пригорели. Ведь к нам должна была прийти моя свекровь. Ей понравилась моя стряпня, за что я благодарю.

Грегория Шикотенкатль
Тласкала, 1938

В 1925 году в городе Аписако мой муж застукал меня с моим дружком и начал стрелять по нам. Я благодарна Святому Шарбелю за то, что ни одна пуля не попала в меня, а все пришлись моему дружку. Теперь один лежит на кладбище, а другой — в тюрьме.

Теофило Перес сидел в кабаке, и вдруг туда заявилась одна его возлюбленная. Она хотела отрезать Теофило яйца за его измены. Он же взмолился Святому Якову и теперь благодарит за то, что смог убежать от этой непростой опасности.

Тласкала, 1921

Строительная бригада под началом Эрминио Кастильо благодарит Деву Гваделупскую за то, что она помогла им дотянуть без инцидентов до Дня Святого Креста и отпраздновать его большой работой.

Тласкала, 1969

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Михаилу Архангелу и благодарю его от всей души за то, что он всегда рядом со мной на моей работе пикадором. За все годы службы ни со мной, ни с моей лошадью Искоркой никогда не случалось тяжелых несчастных случаев, поэтому я чувствую его благословение.

Абелардо Росас
Аписако, Тласкала