Gonzalo Palacios

I dedicate this humble retablo to Saint Patrick thanking him for the talent and great beauty of Marylin Monroe whom I admire. Since I was young, she’s been always my platonic love. I enjoy watching her movies again and again just to look at who is, to me, the most beautiful woman in the cinema.

I dedicate to Saint Jude Thaddeus the present retablo in honor of the great actress Maria Felix better known as “La Doña”. Her beauty and her boldness in playing the roles of women with strong character made her a legend of Mexican cinema.

Mexico

For the last 25 years I’ve been working as a watchman in the Mummies museum in Guanajuato. Although it’s been a long time, I couldn’t get over the fear of staying with mummies at nights. I thank Saint Benedict for giving me his protection since nothing has ever happened to me.

Abelino Gutiérrez \ Guanajuato, Mexico

— tagged with and , , , and #

When I went to work as a cook to the United States, I missed traditional tacos al pastor more than every other food. I bring this retablo to Saint Toribio Romo with eternal gratitude for letting me open my own taqueria place which has got a big success as much with my compatriots as with the Americans.

Cosme Hernández \ Chicago, USA

I was poor all my life. Although I worked, the money was never enough to have a comfortable life. I was fed up with this situation. I thank Saint Expeditus because I met my Castulo. I don’t care what the people says about our big age difference. He’s rich and can give me the luxury life I always dreamt of.

Alicia N. \ Mazatlán, Sinaloa

I’m not a good football player but since I’m the son of the team owner the coach always keeps me on the bench. The other day, during a very important match, the forward of my team was injured and I was put to play. I dedicate the present retablo to Saint John Bosco in gratitude for I scored the victory goal although I did it in a very peculiar manner since I didn’t even see the ball coming. It hit me in the face and went into the goal.

Rogelio Sandoval \ Guadalajara, Jalisco

— tagged with and , and , #

When I watched the movie “From dusk till dawn” I completely fell in love with Salma Hayek after seeing her dancing with the snake. She became my platonic love. With this retablo, I thank the Saint James the Apostle because after many year of admiring her I finally could see her in person on a red carpet of one of her films. Few minutes I spent near her was the most marvelous moment of my life.

Francisco Ortiz \ Mexico City

I always enjoyed the speed and strong emotions. But then I got in a terrible crash on my motorcycle. I suffered multiple fractures and spent several weeks in the hospital. I dedicate this retablo to Saint Barbara thanking her for that crash because that way I met a gorgeous nurse who made my recovery very pleasant. Now, when I’m recovered I’ve even invited her to go dancing.

Ricardo Salas \ Merida, Yucatan

I thank Saint Charbel with this humble retablo because I managed to save enough money to pay for my breast augmentation surgery. I had small bust and had to stuff my bra every day. Once at a party a filling fell off in front of the people, and I was dying of embarrassment. Now this won’t happen again.

Alicia R. \ Cuernavaca, Morelos

I came from Tepeaca, Puebla, to the United States full of dreams and hopes for a better life for me and my family. I’m infinitely grateful to the Virgin of Guadalupe because I found a good job as a dishwasher in a famous restaurant in New York via a fellow countryman. May you be blessed.

Severiano Pérez \ New York, USA

With this humble exvoto I ask the Holy Child Football player so that everything would go well for our national team at the world championship in Russia. So that we wouldn’t end up with penalties, and Ochoa would take everything, and Chicharito wouldn’t fail us, and they wouldn’t penalize us—like in case with Robben when there was no foul—and so we would stay at least till the fifth game to bring some joy to our very devastated Mexico.

Cuahutémoc Márquez \ México

Every day in the office, I was suffering harassment from my boss who used every opportunity to approach me and touch me. He made me improper proposals in change of moving up in my job, and I felt very terrible. I thank Saint Dorothy for giving me enough courage to denounce him to his superiors and to end this nightmare.

Rita N.
Pachuca, Hidalgo

— tagged with and , , , and , #

The pre-hispanic dancers Casimiro and Pancracio Perez dedicate this humble retablo to the Brown-skin girl from Tepeyac, Our Lady of Guadalupe for granting them health to be able to express their faith and visit her in her Basilica every December 12.

Mexico City

Гонсало Паласиос

Gonzalo Palacios

Последние 25 лет я работал сторожем в музее мумий в Гуанахуато. Несмотря на столь долгий срок, я так и не смог избавиться от страха, проводя ночи вместе с мумиями. Благодарю Святого Бенедикта, который всегда защищает меня, поскольку со мной ничего не случалось.

Абелино Гутьеррес \ Гуанахуато, Мексика

Когда я поехал работать поваром в Соединенные Штаты, там мне больше всего не доставало наших традиционных тако по-пастушьи. Приношу это ретабло Святому Торибио Ромо в знак бескрайней благодарности за то, что он помог мне открыть собственную закусочную-такерию, которая снискала успех как у моих земляков, так и у американцев.

Косме Эрнандес \ Чикаго, США

Всю жизнь я была бедной, и сколько бы ни работала, мне никак не хватало денег для комфортной жизни. Мне это порядком надоело. Благодарю Святого Экспедита, поскольку я познакомилась с моим Кастуло. Мне все равно, что говорят люди о нашей большой разнице в возрасте. Он богат и может подарить мне роскошную жизнь, о которой я всегда мечтала.

Алисия Н. \ Масатлан, Синалоа

Я не очень хороший футболист, но поскольку я сын владельца команды, то тренер всегда держит меня на скамейке запасных. И вот как-то раз во время очень важного матча нападающий моей команды получил травму и меня поставили играть. Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Хуану Боско в благодарность за то, что я забил победный гол, пусть это и случилось в необычной манере, поскольку я даже не увидел, как мяч ударил мне в лицо и отскочил в ворота.

Рохелио Сандоваль \ Гвадалахара, Халиско

Когда я смотрел фильм «От заката до рассвета», то без ума влюбился в Сальму Хайек, увидев, как она танцует со змеей. Она стала моей платонической любовью. Этим ретабло я благодарю Святого Апостола Якова за то, что после долгих лет обожания я наконец смог увидеть ее лично — на красной дорожке одного из ее фильмов. Несколько минут рядом с ней были самыми чудесными в моей жизни.

Франсиско Ортис \ Мехико

Я всегда любил скорость и острые впечатления. Но вот однажды я попал в тяжелую аварию на моем мотоцикле. Я переломал себе все кости и несколько недель провел в больнице. Посвящаю это ретабло Святой Барбаре в благодарность за эту аварию, ведь таким образом я познакомился с роскошной медсестрой, скрасившей мою поправку. Теперь, когда я полностью восстановился, я пригласил ее на танцы.

Рикардо Салас \ Мерида, Юкатан

Этим скромным ретабло я благодарю Святого Шарбеля, поскольку я смогла накопить достаточно денег, чтобы оплатить операцию по увеличению груди. Бюст у меня был небольшой, и мне приходилось ежедневно пользоваться вставками. Однажды на вечеринке одна из них выпала на глазах у всех, и я готова была умереть со стыда. Теперь подобное больше не повторится.

Алисия Р. \ Куэрнавака, Морелос

Я приехал из Тепеаки, штат Пуэбла, в Соединенные Штаты полный мечтаний и надежд на лучшую жизнь для меня и моей семьи. Я бескрайне благодарен Деве Гваделупской, поскольку через одного земляка я нашел хорошую работу посудомойщиком в известном нью-йоркском ресторане. Благословенна будь.

Севериано Перес \ Нью-Йорк, США

Этим скромным ретабло я прошу Святого Младенца Футболиста, чтобы у национальной сборной все получилось на чемпионате мира в России. Чтобы, пожалуйста, дело не дошло до пенальти, чтобы Очоа все ловил, чтобы Чичарито не подвел нас, чтобы нам не назначили штрафы, как в случае с Роббеном, когда нарушений не было, и чтобы мы сыграли как минимум в пятом матче, чтобы порадовать нашу удрученную Мексику.

Куаутемок Маркес \ Мехико

Каждый день на работе я страдала от приставаний своего начальника. Он пользовался любой возможностью, чтобы приблизиться ко мне и потрогать меня. Он делал мне непристойные предложения в обмен на повышение, но мне все это было крайне неприятно. Благодарю Святую Дорофею за то, что придала мне мужества заявить на него вышестоящему начальству и прекратить этот кошмар.

Рита Н.
Пачука, Идальго

Танцоры-преиспанцы Касимиро и Панкрасио Перес посвящают это скромное ретабло Смугляночке из Тепейака, Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской за посланное им здоровье, так что они могут в знак своей веры посещать ее базилику каждый год 12 декабря.

Мехико

Этим скромным ретабло мы с моей супругой Ремедиос хотим отблагодарить Святого Исидора Труженика за хороший урожай бархатцев в этом году, а значит, у нас будут хорошие продажи на кладбищах в ближайший День мертвых.

Маргарито Эрнандес
Атлиско, Пуэбла

Настоящим ретабло я благодарю Святого Иудушку Фаддея за то, что мексиканские таланты в области кино теперь принимают в расчет и признают куда больше, чем прежде, как, например, в случае с моим земляком Гильермо дель Торо, выигравшим «Оскар» как лучший режиссер фантастического фильма «Форма воды».

Мексика