— tagged with “artists”

I’m an art lover, and I especially enjoy the surrealistic paintings of the gray Spanish artist Salvador Dali. I dedicate this exvoto to Saint Luke, thanking him for the talent of this great artist, so influent in XX century, author of my favorite painting “Christ of Saint John of the Cross”.

Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

This is San Lucas Evangelista, the patron saint of artists. I petition him every day to help me make good paintings. Sometimes I think he hears me. Sometimes I don’t.

September 3, COVID-21
SF, CA

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I dedicate this humble retablo to Saint John Bosco thanking him for finding a job as a painter of naked female models. The truth is I can’t paint but I convinced the gallery owner that I have a very abstract and modernist style. So now, apart of making money, I also delight my eyes with the beautiful models.

Gaspar Aguilar \ Queretaro, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and #

I thank my Guardian angel for holding me from killing my friends who come visit the artist and keep me from painting.

Elena Bukina

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Every night in my dreams I get wings and fly over my town. My problems go far away. I wake up happy because Lord gave me a new day. I breathe, I live. I paint. I love life. My Guardian Angel is always with me. I say “Thank you!”

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

Thanks to you, Virgin of Guadalupe, my wife agreed to pose naked for my paintings, and thanks to that I won the artist contest and a scholarship.

Rogelio, Oaxaca, Mexico, 1967

I dedicate this exvoto to Saint Jude Thaddeus for the fabulous work and life of Diego Rivera, artist. His murals about Detroit Industry have been an inspiration for millions of aspiring artist, and they have been a pride of Detroit for almost 100 years.

Luis Romo, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , and #

In 1925, a terrible accident happened when the bus, which young Frida Kahlo was traveling in, crashed into a tram. I was present at the moment. I thank Our Holy Mother of Guadalupe because the young girls survived and became a great painter.

Juana Cruz, Mexico City

Retablo by

I make this retablo to thank Saints Emeterius and Celedonius who were helping me, for 4 years, with my shoulder injury which hurt so much. I thought I could never paint again. Although it still hurts, I can make painting for living. That’s why I want to ask Saint Lucy, patroness of the vision, to help me, Dario Ortiz, so I could keep on seeing everything I love to see.

Mexico City, April 2021

I liked to paint but I was afraid of not having enough talent to become a professional. But one night Frida Kahlo appeared in my dream and encouraged me to paint. I give infinite thanks to Saint Charbel for that dream. It was the inspiration I needed to do what I loved the most—painting.

Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , , and #

The sacristan of the Saint Barbara church gives infinite thanks to Saint Charbel for having received a big donation for the church reconstruction from the painter Frida Kahlo.

Mexico, 1942

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , , #

I dedicate the present exvoto to Saint Barbara for the talent of the great painter Vincent van Gogh, master of post-impressionism. I admire his brilliant works, especially the painting “Sunflowers”.

Jualian Bueno, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

I thank the Archangel of the Neighborhood for the luck of meeting on my path these great women who earn their living by selling pleasures on the streets of Merced. They have inspired me to paint their stories and experiences in this old profession. God bless them, support and always protect them—wholeheartedly asks you this humble neighborhood artist Alfredo Vilchis Roque.

Corner of the miracles, Minas de Cristo, Mexico City

— ретабло с тегом «художники»

Я любитель живописи, и мне особенно нравятся сюрреалистические картины великого испанского художника Сальвадора Дали. Посвящаю это эксвото Святому Луке и благодарю за талант этого великого художника, имевшего столь огромное влияние в XX в., автора моей любимой картины «Христос Святого Иоанна Креста».

Мексика

Это Святой Евангелист Лука, покровитель художников. Я обращаюсь к нему каждый день, чтоб он помог мне создавать хорошие картины. Иногда мне кажется, он слышит меня, а иногда — нет.

3 сентября 21 ковида
С.-Ф., Ка.

Посвящаю это скромное ретабло Святому Хуану Боско в благодарность за то, что я нашел себе работу художником, рисующим обнаженную женскую натуру. По правде, я и рисовать-то не умею, но я смог убедить владельца галереи, что это у меня такой очень абстрактный и модернистский стиль. Так что теперь, помимо заработка, я еще и услаждаю свой взор красивыми моделями.

Гаспар Агилар \ Керетаро, Мексика

Благодарю Ангела-хранителя за то, что удержал меня от убийства друзей, которые приходят в гости к художнику и мешают рисовать.

Елена Букина

Каждую ночь во сне у меня вырастают крылья и я летаю над своим городом. Мои проблемы уходят далеко-далеко. Я просыпаюсь счастливая, потому что Господь дал мне новый день. Я дышу. Я живу. Пишу картины. Люблю жизнь. Мой Ангел-Хранитель всегда со мной. Я говорю «Спасибо!»

Благодаря тебе, Дева Гваделупская, моя жена согласилась позировать обнаженной для моих картин, и благодаря этому я выиграл художественный конкурс и стипендию.

Рохелио, Оахака, Мексика, 1967

Посвящаю это эксвото Святому Иуде Фаддею за невероятную работу и жизнь художника Диего Риверы. Его настенные композиции о индустрии Детройта стали вдохновением для миллионов начинающих художников, и вот уже почти 100 лет они остаются гордостью Детройта.

Луис Ромо, Мексика

В 1925 году произошло ужасное происшествие. Автобус, в котором ехала молодая Фрида Кало, столкнулся с трамваем, и я была тому свидетелем. Благодарю нашу Пресвятую Матерь Гваделупскую за то, что девушка выжила и стала великой художницей.

Хуана Крус, Мехико

Я нарисовал это ретабло, чтобы отблагодарить святых Эметерия и Селедония, которые 4 года помогали мне с травмой плеча. Оно так сильно болело, что я думал, уже никогда не смогу снова рисовать. Хотя оно все еще болит, я могу писать картины, чтобы прожить. Поэтому я хочу попросить Святую Люсию, покровительницу зрения, чтобы она помогла мне, Дарио Ортису, чтобы я дальше мог видеть то, на что мне нравится смотреть.

Мехико, апрель 2021

Мне нравилось рисовать, но я боялась, что мне не хватит таланта, чтобы стать настоящим профессионалом. Но как-то ночью мне во сне явилась Фрида Кало и воодушевила меня рисовать. Я бесконечно благодарна Святому Шарбелю за этот сон. Он оказался именно тем необходимым вдохновением, которое заставило меня заниматься тем, что мне так нравится, — рисованием.

Мехико

Пономарь церкви Святой Барбары бесконечно благодарен Святому Шарбелю этим ретабло за то, что он получил крупное пожертвование на ремонт храма от художницы Фриды Кало.

Мексика, 1942

Посвящаю это эксвото Святой Барбаре в честь таланта великого художника Винсента ван Гога, мастера пост-импрессионизма. Я восхищаюсь его гениальными работами, особенно картиной «Подсолнухи».

Хулиан Буэно, Мексика

Благодарю Районного Архангела за удачу повстречать на моем пути этих великолепных женщин, которые зарабатывают на жизнь, продавая удовольствие на улицах Мерседа. Они вдохновили меня рисовать их жизненные истории из этой древней профессии. Благослови их Бог, помогай им и всегда защищай их — от всего сердца просит тебя скромный художник с района Альфредо Вильчис Роке.

Закоулок Чудес, Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико