— tagged with “art”

I dedicate this exvoto to Saint Marta for the great talent of Vincent van Gogh. His beautiful colorful paintings made him one of the main exponents of post-impressionism and greatly influenced the XX century art.

Gabriel, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

With the present retablo, I thank the Holy Virgin of Guadalupe for Frida Kahlo’s tenacity and will to live. In spite of her illness and physical pain that troubled her all her life, she had courage and talent to express her feelings through her art which remains valid till our days.

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , #

I wholeheartedly dedicate this exvoto to Saint Hedwig because after saving for a long time I finally managed to fulfill my dream to go to Spain to visit the Prado Museum and to see the work of the brilliant Flemish painter Peter Paul Rubens whom I admire so much for being one of the greatest in the history of art.

Raul H., Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , , and #

I dedicate this retablo to the Lord of Miracles for the great talent of the Italian Michelangelo Buonarroti. He is considered one of the greatest artist in history, for his sculptures and paintings, and before all for the marvelous work he did in Sistine Chapel.

Manuel R., Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I dedicate this exvoto to Saint Philip Neri for the work of Francisco Goya. He was a genius who used his brash to comment on injustices of his times. His works have inspired many people after his death.

Alberto Suarez, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I dedicate this retablo to Saint Francis de Sales for the talent of the Norwegian painter Edvard Munch. His most famous work “The Scream”, as many other his works, brings to perfection such topics as anxiety and depression, and it made him a great representative of the XX century art.

Roberto Lopez, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I dedicate this retablo to the Holy Lord of Chalma for the talent of great Mexican engraver artist Jose Guadalupe Posada. This prominent artist is known for his drawings full of social criticism and costumbrism with Mexican features. He’s also famous for his skeletons and La Catrina.

Eduardo L., Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I thank the Virgin of Talpa for giving me the opportunity of studying her retablos and for it was possible, thanks to the generous support of many people, to publish this book about her. I ask God for his intercession and to always look after the priests of Talpa, holy fathers Estrada Sting, Enrique Flores and Salazar Gonzalez, as well as Martha Becerra, don Francisco Arias and mr. Ernesto Valdez.

Prof. Elin Luque Agraz, Mexico City, May 10, 2015

Retablo by

I dedicate the present exvoto to Saint Catherine of Bologna for the brilliant Italian artist Leonardo da Vinci. He was a distinguished sculptor, inventor, architect, engineer, urbanist and much more, but, before all, I admire him for his paintings such as the worldwide famous “La Gioconda”.

Pablo R., Mexico

Retablo by

I thank Saint John of God for the talent and compassion of David de Leon and six other plastic artists who painted together a mural “The heroes also cry” in Acapulco as a message of solidarity with the doctors, nurses and all the healthcare personnel during this COVID-19 pandemic.

The survivors, 2020

Retablo by

I give infinite thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe for the creativity and artistic talent of the Mexican people. They can find beauty even in this tragic moment when the country is fighting against COVID-19, and these embroidered masks show it.

Gerald Dilley, New York

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

— It’s work…
— The most important thing is work…

This work is a redux of an ex-voto painted almost 10 years ago. The original text reads «To the ghost of Andy Warhol and the attitude of Lou Reed. Keep me on the straight and narrow path of hard work. As Alan Davie wrote to me [in 1997] “Magic (in art) comes from lots of hard work—No easy way!” 25th March 2007». The original work resides in Wellington, N.Z. in the Sweetman collection. The work is also important nod to the album “Songs for Drella” by Reed and John Cale, a huge influence.

Matthew Couper, Nov 3rd, MMXVI

Retablo by

— tagged with , and , , , #

Rufiano Tamarzo, known as Warhol of Bondojito, thanks all these critics who said awesome things about my vanguard art which neither I understand—Raquel Ti-Bone, Avellana Lester, Carloss Bla-bla Nice gay, O. M. Dadiva and Gerardo Annoyed.

— tagged with , and , #

— ретабло с тегом «искусство»

Посвящаю это эсквото Святой Марте в честь великого таланта Винсента ван Гога. Его яркие и прекрасные работы сделали его одним из главных представителей постимпрессионизма и оказали огромное влияние на искусство XX века.

Габриэль, Мексика

Этим ретабло я благодарю Пресвятую Деву Гваделупскую за упорство и волю к жизни Фриды Кало, которая, несмотря на болезнь и физическую боль, преследовавшую ее всю жизнь, обладала силой и талантом выразить свои чувства через искусство, которое остается актуальным и в наши дни.

От всего сердца посвящаю это эксвото Святой Ядвиге, поскольку я очень долго копил и мне наконец удалось осуществить мою мечту — съездить в Испанию, чтобы посетить музей Прадо и увидеть работы гениального фламандского художника Питера Пауля Рубенса, которым я восхищаюсь как одним из величайших в истории искусства.

Рауль, Мексика

Посвящаю это ретабло Господу Чудес за огромный талант итальянца Микеланджело Буонарроти. За свои скульптуры и картины — прежде всего за чудесную работу в Сикстинской капелле — он считается одним из величайших художников в истории.

Мануэль Р., Мексика

Посвящаю это эксвото Святому Филиппу Нери за творчество Франсиско Гойи. Он был гением, который использовал свою кисть, чтобы высказаться о несправедливости своего времени. Его работы вдохновили многих после его смерти.

Альберто Суарес, Мексика

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Франциску Сальскому в честь таланта норвежского художника Эдварда Мунка. Его самое известное произведение «Крик», как и многие другие его работы, доводят до совершенства такие темы, как беспокойство и депрессия, и это сделало его великим представителем искусства XX века.

Роберто Лопес, Мексика

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Господу Чалмскому в честь таланта великого мексиканского художника-гравера Хосе Гуаудалупе Посады. Этот выдающий художник знаменит своими рисунками, полными критики общества, костумбризма и мексиканский реалий; также он известен рисунками скелетов и Катрины.

Эдуардо Л., Мексика

Благодарю Деву из Тальпы за то, что она дала мне возможность изучать ее ретабло и что благодаря щедрой поддержке многих людей мне удалось выпустить книгу о ней. Прошу Бога о его посредничестве, чтобы он всегда хранил батюшек из Тальпы, святых отцов Эстраду Стинга, Энрике Флореса и Салазара Гонсалеса, а также Мартиту Бесерру, дона Франсиско Арьяса и господина Эрнесто Вальдеса.

Проф. Элин Луке Аграс, Мехико, 10 мая 2015

Посвящаю это эксвото Святой Екатерине Болонской в честь гениального итальянского художника Леонардо да Винчи. Он был выдающимся скульптором, изобретателем, архитектором, инженером, урбанистом и много еще кем, но, прежде всего, я восхищаюсь его картинами, такими как всемирно известная «Джоконда».

Пабло Р., Мексика

Благодарю Святого Хуана Божьего за талант и сострадание Давида де Леона и шести остальных художников-пластистов, которые вместе нарисовали в Акапулько настенную роспись «Герои тоже плачут». Это послание солидарности с врачами, медсестрами и персоналом здравоохранения во время пандемии COVID-19.

Выжившие, 2020

Я бесконечно благодарен Деве Гваделупской за изобретательность и художественный талант мексиканского народа. Они могут найти красоту даже в такой тяжелый момент, когда страна борется с COVID-19, о чем свидетельствуют эти вышитые маски.

Джеральд Диллей, Нью-Йорк

— Труд.

— Самое важное — это труд.

Это переиздание эквото, нарисованного почти 10 лет назад. Оригинальный текст гласил: «Духу Энди Уорхола и позиции Лу Рида. Держите меня на стезе усердного труда. Как писал мне Алан Дэйви [в 1997 г.], „волшебство (в искусстве) достигается тяжелым трудом, — легкой дорожки нет!“ 25 марта 2007». Оригинал хранится в коллекции Свитмана в Веллингтоне, Новая Зеландия. Эта работа также служит важной отсылкой к альбому Рида и Джона Кейла «Songs for Drella», оказавшему огромное влияние.

Мэттью Купер, 3 ноября MMXVI

Руфиано Тамарсо, известный как Уорхол из Бондохито, благодарит этих критиков, сказавших потрясающие слова о моем авангардном искусстве, которое даже я сам не понимаю: Ракель Ти-Бон, Авельяна Лестер, Карлос Бла-бла Милогеев, О. М. Дадива и Херардо Затюканный.