— tagged with “books”

I enjoyed reading books in the yard. One day a little girl came by and asked me to read to her. Now I have a lot of children coming by. I read them, and I enjoy it very much. I thank the Holy Virgin because the books and the children alleviate my loneliness.

— tagged with and , , #

Francisco Rivera thanks Saint Nicholas of Bari with this retablo for he found a very antique edition of “Don Quixote” which will become a great piece of his collection.

The student Jose Luis Vasquez was stung by a scorpion when he took a book in the library. He was in bad condition, so he prayed to the Lord of the Wonders. Jose got better, so he thanks for that with the retablo.

My wife used to have terrifying nightmares because she read horror stories. She woke up at night screaming and kicking around. She even pushed me off the bed. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan, because my wife reads love stories now. She tells that she has nice dreams about handsome men, she looks like she kisses them at her dream, and we both sleep in peace.

I had a monotonous life and a tedious job, and even my husband whom I love dearly is a boring man. That’s why I thank the Virgin of San Juan for opening the magical world of the books. I didn’t enjoy reading until one day I was given a very captivating book to read. I was overwhelmed with the stories, and I’ve seen reading ever since. Even my dreams are full with adventures and I travel to distant and magical lands. Now I’m always in great mood.

— tagged with and , #

My son Arturo became a good for nothing hippy. He spent days reading big books and smoking marijuana. I prayed to the Virgin of Zapopan to amend his ways. Thank to her, although he’s still reading his books and smoking, he got a very good job and started wearing shoes.

I was told by the doctor to stay in bed for few weeks. It was hurting so much to not be able to play with my grandchildren and to read them fairy-tales before they go to sleep every night. But then my grandchildren started to come to my bed so I could read them and we would travel together to the fantasy world. Even my illness went smoother with their love and care. I thank the Virgin of the Rosary.

— tagged with and , , , #

Since she was little, my daughter loved when I read to her. However, when she learnt to read she refused to read to herself. I didn’t know what to do, until the Virgin of Guadalupe sent me a wonderful idea. I offered to my girl to read books for the cats. She agreed. The cats seemed to love this idea also. They were fascinated by my daughter’s voice and gathered around her to listen. I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for this miracle.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

My daughter Raquel loved when I was reading stories to her. She loved it so much, she learned to read by herself very soon. She was reading faster than my other children. When I got sick, she read to me, and it was wonderful. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan for such a clever and caring daughter.

— tagged with and , , #

My daughter used to get sick a lot, and she didn’t have a lot of friends. I couldn’t see her so sad, so I prayed to the Virgin. My daughter began to read more, and now she’s happy in the world of books and fantasies. I thank the Virgin.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I never got married. However, my animals became a real family for me. We gather all together in the garden and I read what we like the most—the horror stories. It happens that we get frightened at night after reading all these scary tales. So we stay together to protect ourselves and not to be afraid of threatening shadows. I thank Saint Francis for such wonderful and intelligent animals.

— tagged with and , , #

My life was tedious and my job was boring. But one day I was given a book. I liked it so much, I began to read more. Now I have wonderful dreams about fantasies and adventures. I thank the Virgin of the Rosary for discovering the wonderful world of books.

— tagged with and , #

I dedicate this retablo to Saint Ignatius of Loyola. I thank him because my husband finally realized, after I put some pressure on him, that he must stop buying books. We have no more space in our house and we’ve got so many books that we’d never read them all in our lifetime.

Mrs. Bone
March 5, 2009

— ретабло с тегом «книги»

Мне нравилось выходить читать во дворике. Однажды ко мне подошла маленькая девочка и попросила почитать ей вслух. Теперь ко мне приходят много детей, я им читаю, и мне это очень нравится. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву за то, что книжки и дети скрашивают мое одиночество.

Франсиско Ривера благодарит Святого Николая Барийского этим ретабло, поскольку он обнаружил очень древнее издание «Дон Кихота», которое станет достоянием его коллекции.

Когда студент Хосе Луис Васкес взял книгу в библиотеке, его укусил скорпион. Ему стало очень плохо, и он взмолился Господу Чудес. Хосе поправился и теперь благодарит этим ретабло.

Моей жене снились страшные кошмары, а все из-за того, что она читала истории ужасов. Она просыпалась с криками и начинала размахивать руками, так что сталкивала меня с кровати. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что теперь моя жена увлеклась любовными историями. Она говорит, ей снятся прекрасные мужчины, и она будто целуется с ними во сне. Но зато мы оба спим спокойно.

Моя жизнь была однообразная, работа — тоскливая и даже мой муж (которого я очень люблю) был немного скучен. Поэтому я благодарю Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что я открыла для себя волшебный мир книг. Я никогда не была любительницей чтения, пока один раз мне не дали почитать одну увлекательную книгу. Я была заворожена историями и с тех пор постоянно читаю. Теперь в моих снах я переношусь в далекие и волшебные места, так что благодаря этому у меня отныне всегда прекрасное настроение.

Мой сын Артуро стал ни на что не годным хиппи. Он целыми днями читал толстые книги и курил марихуану. Я молила Деву Сапопанскую наставить его на путь истинный. Благодаря ей, хотя мой мальчик по-прежнему читает свои книженции и курит, он все-таки получил хорошую работу и начал носить ботинки.

Доктор прописал мне постельный режим на несколько недель. Мне было горько перестать играть с моими внучатами и читать им сказки перед сном. Но тогда они сами стали приходить ко мне в постель, чтобы я им почитала вслух и мы вместе отправились в волшебный мир книг. С их любовью и заботой даже моя болезнь прошла намного легче. Благодарю Деву Розария.

Моя дочка с раннего детства любила, когда я ей читала. Однако научившись читать, она отказывалась читать для себя самой. Я не знала, что поделать с этим, пока Дева не послала мне замечательную идею. Я предложила дочке читать книжки котам, и она согласилась. Да и котам эта идея, похоже, понравилась. Они были очарованы голосом дочки и каждый день собирались вокруг нее, чтобы послушать. Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за это чудо.

Моя дочка Ракель любила, когда я читала ей сказки. Ей они так нравились, что вскоре она сама научилась читать книжки. Причем быстрее, чем все мои остальные дети. А когда я болела, она читала мне, и это было чудесно. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за такую умную и заботливую дочку.

Моя дочка часто болела, и у нее было мало друзей. Я не могла смотреть, как она грустит, поэтому я взмолилась Пресвятой Деве. Моя девочка стала больше читать, и теперь она счастлива в мире книг и фантазий. Благодарю Пресвятую.

Я никогда не выходила замуж, однако мои животные стали мне настоящей семьей. Мы собираемся все вместе в саду, и я читаю то, что нам больше всего нравится, — ужасы. Бывает, по ночам мы сильно пугаемся, наслушавшись страшных историй, и держимся рядышком, чтобы быть вместе под защитой и не бояться угрожающих теней. Благодарю Святого Франциска за таких замечательных зверей, к тому же настолько умных.

Моя жизнь была крайне тосклива, а работа скучна. Но однажды мне дали почитать книжку, и она мне так понравилась, что я всерьёз увлеклась чтением. Теперь мне снятся удивительные сны с фантастическими приключениями. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Розария, что мне открылся чудесный мир книг.

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Игнасио Лойоле в благодарность за чудо, что мой любимый муж наконец — после того как мне пришлось немного надавить на него — осознал, что должен покончить с постоянной покупкой книг. В нашем доме не так уж много места, и вдобавок книг у нас уже больше, чем мы сможем прочесть за всю жизнь.

Костлявая, 5 марта 2009