Saint Rita

Santa Rita

Saint Rita of Cascia, I offer you this ex-voto thanking you for not giving me diabetes because I got very much frightened when I was passing by drunk and the Death and the Devil himself appeared to me. I ran away to my house because my stomach was bursting. But then I realized it was the Day of the Dead and people dressed up like that to ask for sweets because it’s the tradition of all Mexicans. Viva la Catrina and those who celebrate the Day of the Dead!

Grateful chilango, November 1 and 2, 2014
Mixquic, Mexico City

Felipa Muñoz went to Acapulco for vacation. She was drowning, but a gringo saved her. A romance arose from this. She thanks Saint Rita because now she has her blonde man and they live very happily.

1939

Retablo by

Because of a very powerful hurricane that hit our town, the river bursted its banks and I was trapped in my truck with my little dog. I give infinite thanks to Saint Rita with this retablo because the rescue team came in time and saved me and my little dog Canela.

Remedios Velasco ~ Nuevo Leon, Mexico

Retablo by

I admire the paintings of the Mexican artist Frida Kahlo. I thank Saint Rita with this exvoto because when I travelled to Mexico I visited the Modern Art museum to contemplate one of my favorite works—her self-portrait called “The Two Fridas”.

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , , #

Concepcion B. was caught by her boyfriend while having sexual conversations on her cell phone with another man. She thanks Saint Rita with this retablo for nothing serious happened and he forgave her.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Thank you, Saint Rita, for giving me comfort after my lover dumped me. Although, between you and me, what upsets me the most is that he took the piggy bank with my savings.

Dulce Carmona

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Graciela Ramos got a job as a waitress in a gentlemen club. But she was invited so many times for a drink she was becoming an alcoholic. She gives infinite thanks to Saint Rita with the present retablo for finding strength to quit the nightlife.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , , #

Señora Adriana Jimenez used to steal clothes of other people until one day she was caught and got what she deserved. She thanks Saint Rita with this retablo for she wasn’t thrown in jail and promises to amend.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Laura Ortiz scored a great goal and took off her t-shirt forgetting that she had no bra under it. She thanks Saint Rita with this retablo for overcoming the embarrassment after this stupid move.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

Señorita Angelica Suarez was dusting books when scorpions began falling on her. She thanks Saint Rita with this retablo for having recovered after many stings.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Maria Cristina Sandoval, with great devotion, thanks Saint Rita with this retablo because with her journalist work she could break up a dog-fighting network.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

J. A. R. was suffering a lot because her husband forced her to swallow his semen. She implored Saint Rita of Cascia, and her husband left her for another woman. Now she lives in peace, and there’s no more nausea. She’s infinitely grateful for that.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

Juanita Romero loved to dress up very provocatively, and one day she was almost raped in the park. She thanks Saint Rita because the policeman came in time and saved her. She promises to not dress like this when she walks alone.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

Святая Рита

Santa Rita

Рита Сандоваль позировала для своего жениха голой в поле, рядом с загоном для скота. На нее залезли клещи, и она заболела. Она благодарит Святую Риту Кашийскую за выздоровление и обещает впредь не быть эксгибиционисткой.

Очень уж мне нравилась одна девица, но я боялся признаться ей в этом. Тогда раз ночью я пошел в кабак выпить текилы и набраться храбрости. Затем я отправился петь ей серенаду. Но я был так пьян, что перепутал балкон и спел серенаду старой деве нашего городка. Благодарю Святую Риту за то, что ни она, ни ее семья меня не узнали, ведь если б я пел и дальше, они бы выдали ее за меня. Обещаю быть смелее, чтобы прямо признаваться женщинам в своих любовных чувствах.

Серапио Эррада
Теуакан, Пуэбла

Как-то раз утром Лупита Мендес проснулась и увидела, что ее комната полна огромных черных бабочек. Она благодарит Святую Риту этим ретабло за то, что у нее не случился инфаркт, ведь она очень сильно перепугалась.

Все выглядело вполне обычно в моем сне, пока вдруг не появилась Святая Рита с самой огромной бутылкой бренди, что я видел.

Я люблю заниматься серфингом. Но однажды меня сбросило с большой волны. От всей души благодарю Святую Риту Кашийскую, что несмотря на жесткое падение, я не получил серьезных травм и могу продолжать свое любимое занятие. Посвящаю это ретабло в благодарность.

Рамон Сальгадо
Пуэрто-Эскондидо, Оахака

Мария Б. испытала ужасный стыд, когда ее мама нашла ее секс-игрушку. Она благодарит Святую Риту этим ретабло за то, что мама все поняла и не рассказала папе.

Хамелеон в маске посвящает это ретабло Святой Рите Кашийской в благодарность за победу в региональном чемпионате по борьбе без правил, когда он одолел гринго Тони Брауна(?) Джонсона, сильного и упорного противника.

Эрмосильо, Сонора

Хуана М. напилась и решила, что неплохо бы прокатиться голышом на велосипеде. Она благодарит Святую Риту этим ретабло за то, что полиция арестовала ее всего лишь на 48 часов.

Посвящаю это скромное ретабло Святой Рите Кашийской в благодарность за то, что мой сын Валенте с честью исполняет ковбойское мастерство. Он один из лучших в кручении лассо, что наполняет меня большой гордостью.

Маргарито Гарсия
Сапопан, Халиско

Девочка Роса Хименес благодарит этим ретабло Святую Риту за то, что победила в конкурсе моделей и получила возможность поехать в Париж, чтобы продолжить свое обучение.

Каролина Ортега упражнялась на бревне. Выполняя прыжок ножницы, она упала и больно ударилась между ног. Каролина благодарит Святую Риту, так как она поправилась и у нее прошел страх.

Сеньорита Энрикета страдала от очень тяжелой бессонницы. Дошло до того, что по ночам ей начал видеться ее умерший жених. Она благодарит Святую Риту этим ретабло, поскольку благодаря молитвам она снова смогла спать.

Посвящаю это ретабло Святой Рите. Благодаря ее помощи я бросила работу на пивной фабрике в Пеньяско, чтобы после невероятных усилий и бессонных ночей стать самой развратной шлюхой в штате Халиско.