— tagged with “traditions”

With this humble retablo, I thank Saint Jude Thaddeus because I was able to pass on this beautiful tradition of being a flyer to my son Venustiano. It was my honor to perform this beautiful dance since my young years. Now it’s he who is in charge of keeping our family tradition.

Isidoro Rosas ~ Papantla, Veracruz

Retablo by

The huehue dance group from Xanaca neighborhood dedicate the present retablo to Saint Rita of Cascia with deep gratitude for granting them health to be able to participate in the Carnival celibrations the last year when they performed the traditional huehue dance for joy of children and adults.

Puebla

Retablo by

I dedicate the present retablo to Saint Rita, with deep gratitude, for granting me a miracle of being selected to the National Folk Ballet. I’m very glad to perform my country’s traditional dances.

Alma Ruiz, Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Señora Josefina thanks Saint Charbel wit this exvoto for the 30th anniversary of her professional performing the traditional dance Jarana Yucateca, along with the folklore dance group that she founded and which three her sons participate in. They make her very proud because they inherited her passion for dance.

Yucatan, Mexico

I love Mexican culture, especially their regional dances. I always had a dream to travel to Mexico to see them. I thank Saint Charbel becasue I visited the state of Chiapas and saw the traditional Parachicos dance that blew me away with its colors and beauty.

John Richardson

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I’m infinitely thankful to Saint Martin the Cavalryman for having a noble profession of making Talavera pottery. It’s greatly appreciated by visitors and foreigner tourists, and I’m very happy that I’ll leave this job to my son Ruperto as my inheritance.

Eleuteria Ortiz, Puebla

Every November 2, I go to the cemetery to visit my dead father and to bring him flowers and candles. I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe with this retablo for, despite the modern age and the passage of time, this beautiful tradition didn’t go away. We remember our dear ones who are not with us physically anymore, and it gives us hope to see them again one day.

San Andres Mixquic, Mexico

I thank the Lord of the Wonders with this exvoto for having participated in the Day of the Dead Parade this year. It was a unique experience full of colors and joy. We share this beautiful tradition with the entire world, and I ask for health to be able to participate again the next year.

Mexico City, 2019

Juan Nepomuseno from San Martin, Metepec, offers this retablo to the Virgin of Tepeyac because he and his family continue to do a beautiful work with clay by tradition of his forefathers which is the pride of his town.

Metepec, Mexico, September 2017

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

With this humble retablo, I thank the Holy Child of Atocha because in Hollywood they created this movie “Coco” in which they show the beautiful and colorful Mexican tradition of the Day of the Dead. And it’s absolutely fair that it won the Oscar for the best animated picture.

Mexico

Retablo by

In my family we used to bring offerings to our dead relatives. But when I became independent and began to live alone, I felt too lazy to put an altar and decided to decorate my house for Halloween instead. The night of the Day of the Dead I was greatly frightened by seeing that my grandparents appeared to me and they were very angry with me for not giving them offerings. I thank Saint Michael for they didn’t take me to a better world, and I promise not to forget my Mexican traditions.

I give infinite thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe because my mom taught me to make traditional dolls Marias, or Mazahuas. By selling them I could support my kids, and I’m very proud that the people who buy them take a part of my culture with each doll.

Queretaro, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Vicente Castillo dedicates the present retablo to Saint Marta in gratitude for his son Renato managed to shoot his fist deer. Hunting is their family tradition, and he’s very proud of his son.

Nuevo Laredo, Tamaulipas

Retablo by

— ретабло с тегом «традиции»

Этим скромным ретабло я благодарю Святого Иуду Фаддея за то, что я смог передать по наследству моему сыну Венустиано прекрасную традицию быть летуном. Это моя гордость — с юных лет выступать с этим красивым танцем. Теперь же мой сын берет на себя поддержание нашей семейной традиции.

Исидоро Росас ~ Папантла, Веракрус

Ансамбль уэуэ из квартала Хонака посвящает это ретабло Святой Рите Кашийской в знак глубокой благодарности за то, что она наградила их здоровьем и они смогли выступить на праздновании карнавала в прошлом году, во время которого они исполнили традиционный танец уэуэ на радость детям и взрослым.

Пуэбла

Посвящаю это ретабло Святой Рите с глубокой благодарностью за то чудо, что меня выбрали в состав ансамбля народных танцев, и я очень рада исполнять традиционные танцы моей страны.

Альма Руис, Мехико

Сеньора Хосефина благодарит Святого Шарбеля этим эсквото, поскольку исполнилось 30 лет с тех пор, как она профессионально исполняет традиционный танец Юкатекскую Харану вместе с фольклорным ансамблем, который сама же и основала и в котором участвуют три ее сына. Она переполнена гордостью за них, ибо они унаследовали ее страсть к танцам.

Юкатан, Мексика

Мне нравится мексиканская культура, и особенно мне нравятся региональные танцы. Я всегда мечтал побывать в Мексике, чтобы увидеть их самому. Благодарю Святого Шарбеля за то, что я смог посетить штат Чьяпас и увидеть танец Парачикос, который поразил меня красотой и красками.

Джон Ричардсон

Я бесконечно благодарна Святому Мартину Всаднику за то, что у меня есть достойная профессия — делать посуду талавера. Посетители и иностранные туристы дорого ценят мою работу, и я рада, что я передам эту работу по наследству моему сыну Руперто.

Элеутерия Ортис, Пуэбла

Каждое 2 ноября я хожу на кладбище навестить моего покойного папу и принести ему свечи и цветы. Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую этим ретабло за то, что, несмотря на ход времени и современную жизнь, эта добрая традиция не исчезла. Мы вспоминаем наших любимых, которые уже не с нами, и это дает нам надежду когда-нибудь снова увидеться с ними.

Сан-Андрес-Микскик, Мехико

Благодарю Господа Чудес этим эксвото за участие в Шествии Дня Мертвых в этом году. Я получила особенно радостные и красочные впечатления. Мы делимся с миром этой прекрасной традицией, и я прошу послать мне здоровья, чтобы снова поучаствовать и в следующем году.

Мехико, 2019

Хуан Непомусено из Сан-Мартина (штат Метепек) посвящает это ретабло Деве Тепеякской за то, что он вместе со своей семьей продолжает заниматься прекрасным делом — работать с глиной по традиции его предков, составляющей гордость его городка.

Метепек, Мексика, сентябрь 2017

Благодарю Святого Младенца с Аточи этим скромным ретабло, поскольку в Голливуде сняли картину «Коко», в которой всему миру показали яркость и красоту мексиканской традиции празднования Дня Мертвых и которая совершенно заслуженно выиграла Оскар за лучший анимационный фильм.

Мексика

В моей семье было принято делать приношения мертвым родичам. Однако когда я стал на ноги и начал жить один, мне было лень устраивать алтарь и я решил вместо этого украсить дом к Хеллоуину. И вот в ночь накануне Дня Мертвых я жутко перепугался, когда увидел, что ко мне пришли мои бабушка с дедушкой и они были очень злы из-за того, что я не устроил им приношений. Благодарю Святого Михаилушку за то, что они не забрали меня на тот свет, и обещаю не забывать свои мексиканские традиции.

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что моя мама научила меня делать традиционные куклы Марии, или Масауа. Продавая их, я могу прокормить своих детей, и я горжусь, что покупатели с каждой купленной куклой увозят с собой часть моей культуры.

Керетаро, Мексика

Висенте Кастильо посвящает это ретабло Святой Марте в благодарность за то, что его сын Ренато подстрелил своего первого оленя. По семейной традиции они занимаются охотой, и он чувствует большую гордость за сына.

Нуэво-Леон, Тамаулипас