— tagged with “food”

Lordy, thank you form blessing us with Edam cheese thanks to which I can enjoy my marquesitas every week.

Jaircito

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I dedicate this exvoto to the Virgin of Guadalupe for the continuous success of “Taco Loco”. The food is always marvelous, the serves is excellent, and the atmosphere is relaxing and pleasant. I’ve very much enjoyed each meal I’ve had in “Taco Loco”.

Roger Becket \ Shelby Township

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Señora Canute Bermejo was ordered to make mole for the master’s wedding but it turned sour. She was heartbroken and implored Saint Paschal for help, and the mole stayed good. She gives infinite thanks for, although everyone suffered diarrhea, nobody kicked the bucket.

Puebla, 1927

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and #

Thank you Lord for saving my dog and for the neighbor didn’t kill him for tacos. One day I couldn’t find him, and all our family went searching for him. We thought he had been caught for tacos but good thing it wasn’t so and he only walked around the streets. Thank you very much.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

I dedicate the present retablo to Saint Paschal Baylon thanking him because my grandmother Petra instilled me love for the kitchen since childhood. She was a great cook, and I inherited this from her. I discovered my vocation, and I’m a professional chef now. I proudly bring the taste of the traditional Mexican cuisine to the entire world.

Catalina Muñoz / Oaxaca, Mexico

Retablo by

I offer this retablo to the Divine Child of Atocha for the received favor of making my mother-in-law Chonita fall asleep while she was looking after the altar for the dead. She slept so deeply that I managed to eat a pastry. Pancracio Duran gives thanks.

Tehuixtla, Morelos
Painted by E. Espin P., November 1, 2014

I was very desperate when I was fired from my job. I didn’t know how to feed my family. Then I got an idea to sell tacos at night outside my house. I asked Saint Charbel for help, and thanks to his divine assistance the things are going very well. My tacos have become very famous in the neighborhood.

Jasinto Ruiz \ Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and #

This is San Pascual Bailon, the patron saint of cooks and kitchens. I petition him for a good meal. I love to cook.

September 10, Covid-21
SF, Ca.

Retablo by

I give due thanks to Saint Paschal Baylon, because my kitchen almost got burnt when I threw tomatoes to the boiling lard. It produced fire was so huge that even my cat was frozen with fear. I thank for nothing serious happened at the end and the sauce even turned out to be very good.

Carmen G. Batta / Nepantla

I give infinite thanks to Saint Paschal Baylon to commend my dog Pancho to eat a red snapper that was spoiled and to save us all from a serious illness. I beg, please, always bless this kitchen.

July 3, 1893, Ciudad del Carmen

I thank Saint Paschal because, this season of chiles en nogada, I was selling them very good. Many people ask me what’s the secret of its taste. And I answer that it’s the love I put into them while cooking and my eternal devotion to Saint Paschal.

Carmelita Reyes

Cholula, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and , #

My patrons asked me to cook some mole and two turkeys. I was feeling bad to kill birds. I thank Saint Paschal because I convinced my patrons to have another dish and they even gave me those two turkeys as a gift. I took them back to my hut, and I’m very glad.

Asuncion Toxqui ~ Cholula, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and , #

Rosario Hernandez was in love with the foreman of the ranch. She asked Saint Paschal for help and managed to made the foreman fell in love with her, with her dishes. She dedicates this retablo for that, with great faith and devotion.

Tecamachalco, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and , #

— ретабло с тегом «еда»

Я люблю поесть остренького. Но моя Кончита кладет уж слишком много чили в похлебку. Я просил божественной помощи у Святого Паскуаля, потому что не мог терпеть жжения во рту. Теперь моя жена кладет ровно столько чили, сколько нужно.

Касиано Родригес, Пуэбла

Гуделия Фернандес посвящает это ретабло Святому Паскуальчику и благодарит за то, что он всегда помогает ей на кухне и делает все ее блюда такими вкусными.

Пуэбла, 1920

Благодарим Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что в этом году мы собрали большой урожай с наших фруктовых деревьев. Все женщины в нашей семье делали варенье и мармелад. Продав их, мы смогли скопить денег, чтобы пережить нелегкое время.

У нас были серьезные финансовые трудности, и денег не хватало даже на то, чтобы прокормить семью. И совсем ничего не оставалось на скотину, поэтому животные сами добывали себе корм. Они смотрели на меня голодными глазами, и мне было их ужасно жалко. Благодарю Святого Франциска, что тяжелое время осталось позади и теперь у нас достаточно денег. А чтобы искупить муки моей скотины, теперь я даю животным двойную порцию корма.

В знак вечной благодарности приношу это скромное ретабло Святому Паскуальчику. Благодаря прекрасному вкусу, который он придает моей стряпне, я заняла первое место на региональном конкурсе по приготовлению моле. Премию я отдала на нужды моего монастыря.

Сестра Саграгрио
Пуэбла

Я отвратительно готовлю, поэтому моя мама говорила, что я никогда не выйду замуж. Но благодаря Святому Паскуалю я нашла себе мужа, который чудесно готовит. Он любит это занятие, это его настоящая страсть. Он готовит мне и детям вкуснейшие блюда. Благодарю Святого Паскуаля, покровителя поваров.

Сестры Гертрудис и Рефухио благодарят Святого Паскуаля за то, что они продали все моле и чили с орехами, которые они приготовили, чтобы собрать денег для нужд монастыря.

Пуэбла, 1949

У Лауры и Каталины Пенья дела с деньгами обстояли очень плохо. Тогда они, будучи хорошими кондитерами, решили продавать торты. Они благодарят Святого Паскуаля Байлона, покровителя поваров, за то, что теперь они зарабатывают достаточно, чтобы обеспечить себя, сохранить денег на черный день и даже позволить себе иногда кое-какие удовольствия.

Инес Чавес благодарит Святого Паскуаля Байлона за его помощь на кухне и за то, что она научилась готовить вкусные памбасос, от которых ее муж без ума.

В знак бесконечной благодарности посвящаю это ретабло Святому Иуде Фаддею за то, что я чудом смог купить новую передвижную печку для жарки бататов. Прежнюю у меня украли, а без нее я не мог работать. Но теперь моя торговля бататами снова в порядке. Благодарю за это.

Аполонио Тланипа
Пуэбла

Фелипе Родригес устала от того, что свекровь постоянно критикует ее стряпню. Она избила свекровь сковородой и разбила ей башку. Фелипе благодарит Святого Паскуаля Байлона за то, что не очень долго просидела в тюрьме.

Леопольда Текангей была в тяжелых отношениях со своей свекровью, поскольку не умела готовить. Она взмолилась Святому Паскуалю Байлону и теперь готовит так вкусно, что даже свекровь облизывает пальчики. Леопольда благодарит святого.

Пуэбла, 1920

Сеньора Каталина Робледо благодарит этим ретабло Святого Мартина Всадника, поскольку ее заведение по продаже чалупас оказалось очень прибыльным, так что теперь она даже ищет помощников.