— tagged with “old people”

The widow Ana Maria Rivera brings the present retablo to Saint Anthony thanking him for, despite being 80 years old and having 13 kids, she still found her love.

San Nicolas, 1917

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I’m very happy in my old age. Thank you, Virgin of Guadalupe.

Pedro Zamora, 1975

Retablo by

— tagged with and #

My great-grandmother is so old, she couldn’t remember how old is she. One day she asked me to let the birds that lived in her house free. They were making so her happy but she said I must to do it so the birds would open the path for her soul since she was thinking she was about to die. I freed the birds, and they flew to the sky. But later they all came back, they stayed in my great-grandmother’s garden and kept making her happy flying in the trees.

— tagged with and , , #

Señora Maria Tereza de la Garza lived alone. One day she fell and couldn’t get up. She thanks Saint Patrick because one and half-day later her neighbor heard her screaming and came to help.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Gilberto Velazquez was badly infected with lice and was even expelled from the school because of that. The boy thanks the Virgin of San Juan because his grandmother gave him a homemade remedy. All lice were gone, and he didn’t have to go bald.

With the tears of happiness and hope, I thank the Brown-skin girl from Tepeyac because she granted me a possibility to see with my own eyes His Holiness John Paul II, at my 90 years. Let his message touch the hearts of all Mexicans and their rulers so this country would be the Paradise of the new century.

Mexico, the end of millennium

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , and #

Two thieves got into doña Genoveva’s house but her cats defended her to the death. She brings the present retablo to Saint Anthony the Great thanking him for no cat got hurt.

Retablo by

The old man Felipe Suarez wanted to go after young chicks and took three viagras. He got it so hard, he had to go to the hospital. He thanks Saint Augustine for his cock didn’t explode and promises to not go crazy with prostitutes.

Juan Ramirez got angry with his grandson who wouldn’t quiet down and hit him in the mug with a stick. He got in jail for that. He thanks Saint Jude Thaddeus with this retablo for getting out and promises to be a better person.

The old lady doña Chonita was walking a very big dog that ended up dragging her after him. She thanks Saint Martin de Porres for some young men helped her and she didn’t get hurt very much.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Mariquita Robledo enjoyed hitting the kids with her stick when they made noise. But one day she ran into a stubborn boy who respond her with throwing a stone at her and hitting her in the head. Mariquita thanks the Virgin of Guadalupe for her recovery and promises to be kinder.

Jesus Christ, thank you for your favors. I thank because my grandson returned alive from the war in Vietnam. I also thank for my grandson came to visit me in Mexico. It might be a last time I see him because I feel very tired and my health is bad.

Margarita Galindo
Mexico City, 1976

Amalia Lopez got drunk and that’s why she involuntarily let her aunt to fall from stairs in a wheelchair. She thanks Saint Marta because her aunt wasn’t killed although she kicked her out of the house.

— ретабло с тегом «старики»

Вдова Ана Мария Ривера преподносит это ретабло Святому Антонию в благодарность за чудо, что несмотря на свои 80 лет и 13 детей впридачу она смогла повстречать любовь.

Сан-Николас, 1917

Я очень счастлив в старости. Благодарю, Дева Гваделупская.

Педро Самора, 1975

Моей прабабушке было столько лет, что она даже не могла вспомнить, сколько именно. Однажды она попросила меня освободить всех птиц, что у жили у нее дома и скрашивали ее дни. Она сказала, что это необходимо для того, чтобы птицы открыли путь ее душе наверх, ибо думала, что вот-вот помрет. Я отпустила птиц, и они улетели в небо, однако затем они вернулись. Они стали жить в прабабушкином саду и продолжили радовать ее, порхая по деревьям.

Сеньора Мария Тереса де ла Гарса жила одна. Однажды она упала дома и не могла встать. Она благодарит Святого Патрика, что спустя полтора дня сосед услышал ее крики и помог ей.

У Гильберто Веласкеса завелись вши. И их развелось так много, что его выгнали из школы. Мальчик благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую, так как его бабушка дала ему домашнее снадобье. Вши исчезли, и Гильберто не пришлось бриться наголо.

Со слезами счастья и надежды благодарю я Тепейакскую Смугляночку за то, что в возрасте 90 лет она даровала мне возможность увидеть воочию Его Святейшество Папу Иоанна Павла II. Пусть его послание мира тронет сердца всех мексиканцев и их правителей, чтобы эта страна стала раем в новом веке.

Мехико, конец тысячелетия

Два вора залезли в дом к донье Хеновеве, однако ее коты защищали ее и бились насмерть. Сеньора преподносит это ретабло Святого Антонию Великому в знак искренней благодарности, что ни один кот не пострадал.

Дедушка Фелипе Суарес решил тряхнуть стариной и принял три виагры. У него так встал, что его пришлось везти в больницу. Он благодарит Святого Августина за то, что его пипка не взорвалась, и обещает впредь не безумствовать с проститутками.

Хуан Рамирес разозлился на своего неугомонного внука и влепил ему палкой по роже. За это его посадили в тюрьму. Он благодарит Святого Иуду этим ретабло за то, что вышел на свободу, и обещает быть хорошим.

Старушка донья Чонита отправилась выгулять огромного пса, и все окончилось тем, что он поволок ее за собой. Она благодарит Святого Мартина де Порреса за то, что молодые люди пришли ей на помощь и она не сильно пострадала.

Марикита Робледо любила охаживать шумливых детей своей тростью. Но однажды она натолкнулась на нахального мальчишку, который в ответ кинул камень и угодил ей в голову. Марикита благодарит Пресвятую Деву Гваделупскую за то, что поправилась, и обещает быть добрее.

Иисус Христос, благодарю тебя за твои милости. Благодарю за то, что мой внук вернулся живым с войны во Вьетнаме. Также благодарю Христа за то, что мой внук приехал в Мексику навестить меня. Может быть, я его вижу в последний раз, ведь я чувствую сильную усталость и здоровье мое не очень.

Маргарита Галиндо
Мехико, 1976

Амалия Лопес напилась и по этой причине нечаянно уронила с лестницы свою тетю в инвалидном кресле. Она благодарит Святую Марту за то, что тетя не убилась, хотя и выгнала ее после этого из дома.