Saint James the Apostle

Santiago

Arturo Saldivar used to drink three liters of cherry pulque every day until he was diagnosed with diabetes. Arturo entrusted himself to Saint James and now thanks him with great devotion because the saint gave him the strength to resist the temptation of getting drunk.

1918, at the Ojo de Agua ranch, Catarino Telles found himself in a serious danger when he mounted a very nervous horse. The horse was rearing and Catarino was thinking he would end this ride at the cemetery. Then he entrusted himself to Saint James and could escaped safely from this race. He thanks with big devotion.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

The torero Catarino Mendoza brings this retablo thanking Saint James for healing the wound on his buttock after being pierced by the bull.

Puebla, 1940

Enrique Perez woke up with a thief in his room. He thanks Saint James with this retablo for he managed to grab his gun and shoot him.

The lion tamer Zamudio Rodriguez brings the present retablo to Saint James the Apostle for protecting him every night during his act at the circus. Those three ferocious beats he tames have never attacked him so far.

Jalisco, 1967

Retablo by

Mr. Domingo Ramirez was a misanthrope. One day a cloud of black moths flew into his room. Domingo prayed Saint James. He thanks because the moths flew away, and he promises not to be so angry.

Peubla, 1937

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

When I watched the movie “From dusk till dawn” I completely fell in love with Salma Hayek after seeing her dancing with the snake. She became my platonic love. With this retablo, I thank the Saint James the Apostle because after many year of admiring her I finally could see her in person on a red carpet of one of her films. Few minutes I spent near her was the most marvelous moment of my life.

Francisco Ortiz \ Mexico City

Teofilo Perez was in a bar when one of his mistresses came there. She wanted to cut his balls for being a womanizer. But he implored Saint James and now thanks him for escaping such a peculiar danger.

Tlaxcala, 1921

The young man Enrique Lozano accidentally shot an arrow in the buttock of his neighbor. He thanks Saint James because the wound wasn’t very serious and he was forgiven. He promises to be more careful.

Bernardo Martinez worked cleaning drainages, and one day he was attacked by many rats causing him rabies. Bernardo prayed to Saint James and miraculously got cured. He infinitely thanks for that with this retablo.

The young man Roberto B. got drunk. When he came home he couldn’t hold it and vomited on his father’s feet. He thanks Saint James for his father was understanding and didn’t kick him out.

Humberto Espinosa thank Saint James with this retablo for he’s doing very well collecting plastic bottles. WIth this earning he can pay for his son’s school.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I wholeheartedly thank Saint James the Apostle because after having tried on several occasions before I finally won the first place at the national championship of bass fishing. For such a miracle, I humbly dedicate this retablo.

Guillermo Carrasco
Tamaulipas, Mexico

Святой Яков

Santiago

Благодарю Святого апостола Якова за то, что моя девушка не бросила меня, когда узнала, что я стриптизер. Меня наняли станцевать стриптиз на девичнике, а невеста оказалась подругой моей девушки, и, конечно, она пригласила ее. Теперь моя девушка очень рада тому, что всегда может насладиться приватом.

Роман Н. \ Пуэбла

Артуро Л. съездил в Таиланд и повстречал там в одном борделе женщину своей мечты. Он благодарит этим ретабло Святого Якова за то, что он смог убедить ее бросить свое занятие и уехать с ним.

Артуро Сальдивар каждый день выпивал по три литра вишневого пульке, но однажды ему диагностировали диабет. Артуро вверился Святому Якову и теперь с огромной признательностью благодарит его за то, что святой дал ему сил устоять перед соблазном напиваться.

В 1918 году на ранчо Охо де Агуа Катарино Тейес оказался в опасности, когда оседлал очень дикого коня. Конь брыкался и вставал на дыбы, и Катарино уже думал, что эта поездочка закончится для него на кладбище. Тогда он вверился Святому Якову и смог выбраться живым из этой скачки, за что крайне признателен.

Тореро Катарино Мендоса приносит это ретабло в благодарность Святому Якову за заживление полученной от быка раны на ягодице.

Пуэбла, 1940

Энрике Перес проснулся и обнаружил вора в своей комнате. Он благодарит Святого Якова этим ретабло за то, что успел схватить пистолет и пустить в вора пулю.

Укротитель львов Самудио Родригес посвящает это ретабло Святому Якову Апостолу за то, что он защищает его каждый вечер во время опасных представлений в цирке. И ни разу три зверюги, которых он укрощает, не напали на него.

Халиско, 1967

Сеньор Доминго Рамирес был мизантроп. Но однажды в его комнату налетела туча черных мотыльков. Доминго взмолился Святому Якову. Он благодарит его, что мотыльки улетели, и обещает больше не быть злым.

Пуэбла, 1937

Черные мотыльки считаются плохой приметой.

Когда я смотрел фильм «От заката до рассвета», то без ума влюбился в Сальму Хайек, увидев, как она танцует со змеей. Она стала моей платонической любовью. Этим ретабло я благодарю Святого Апостола Якова за то, что после долгих лет обожания я наконец смог увидеть ее лично — на красной дорожке одного из ее фильмов. Несколько минут рядом с ней были самыми чудесными в моей жизни.

Франсиско Ортис \ Мехико

Теофило Перес сидел в кабаке, и вдруг туда заявилась одна его возлюбленная. Она хотела отрезать Теофило яйца за его измены. Он же взмолился Святому Якову и теперь благодарит за то, что смог убежать от этой непростой опасности.

Тласкала, 1921

Юноша Энрике Лосано случайно угодил стрелой в ягодицу соседке. Он горячо благодарен Святому Якову за то, что рана оказалась не страшной и его простили. Он обещает впредь быть осторожнее.

Бернардо Мартинес работал в очистке канализационных стоков, и однажды на него напала куча крыс. Они заразили его бешенством. Бернардо взмолился Святому Якову и чудом вылечился, за что бесконечно благодарит этим ретабло.

Юноша Роберто Б. напился и, когда пришел домой, не удержался и наблевал в ноги своего отца. Он благодарит Святого Якова за то, что папа отнесся понимающе и не выгнал его.