— tagged with “gifts”

When I was very young, I had a beautiful experience of meeting Pedro Infante in person. He was shooting a movie in a few blocks from my house. Every day I was going to look him acting, and one day, after the filming, he came to me and gave me his sombrero. I thank Saint James the Apostle for having lived this moment which I never forget and for having this memory about my idol.

Teresita Islas \ Mexico City

My patrons asked me to cook some mole and two turkeys. I was feeling bad to kill birds. I thank Saint Paschal because I convinced my patrons to have another dish and they even gave me those two turkeys as a gift. I took them back to my hut, and I’m very glad.

Asuncion Toxqui ~ Cholula, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and , #

I’m infinitely grateful to Saint Paul the Apostle for having met Leo. He is my best client, and the last time he ordered me to be together he told me that it’d be our last time because he had to leave the country for work. But he was so generous, that the next day he surprised me by presenting me a car which will be a big help for me.

Rubi

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

I wanted to surprise my family so I dressed up as Santa Claus and got in the house to put the gifts around. One thing I didn’t think through is that my dog Rambo wouldn’t recognize me, attack me and chase all around the house. I thank Saint Charbel for my wife could hold the dog before he did more damage to the house and bit my rented Santa Claus costume in pieces.

Abelino Torres, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and and and , , , and #

We thank Jesus Malverde because the cartel people brought the Christmas presents to the children, as they do every year.

Los Mochis, Sinaloa, Mexico, 2018

I give thanks to Saint Jude Thaddeus for granting me the freedom. I was arrested for taking money for the lottery tickets I’d sold. But you know well that I took them to buy Christmas presents for my children. I did it because they’ve never received presents. And today, January 6, my boss found out the truth and withdrew his complaint saying that I’m innocent because he was also a boy once and he’s also a father.

Mexico City, 1968
Melchor Garcia Baltazar

Retablo by

Doña Romanita Montiel felt very lonely, that’s why she implored Saint Pancras, and the next day a neighbor presented her to the painter Frida Kahlo who gave her a parrot. Now she’s not so lonely, and she’s infinitely grateful for that, although the parrot is very insolent.

Puebla, 1937

A housemaid Juaquina Romero brings this retablo to the Virgin of the Solitude infinitely thanking her because her mistress, the painter Frida, gave her her device to listen the music.

Mexico, 194*

Gregoria Romero brings this retablo to Saint Pancras in gratitude for her friend Frida is very happy with a parrot she brought her from Chiapas. The thing she likes the most about the bird that it’s very insolent, just like Diego.

Mexico, 1949

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , , and #

April 16, 1974, my father and I were at the Arena Coliseo watching a wrestling match with El Santo, my greatest idol. I had suffered an accident which left me paralyzed. At the end of the event, Santo came down where we were and gave me one of his masks. Eventually, I began to walk again.

Mario, 1996

I thank the citizens of San Evelio del Volcan for giving me their civic votes. Although I won by six votes—which are more precious than gold—I will try hard for everyone. Now those who didn’t vote for me, I ask them to give back the gifts received during the campaign. It would be fair. This retablo is made by MLE in exchange of a food basket and two tickets to the movies.

Aureliano Quijano, mayor elected by the voters
2016

— tagged with , , #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because Hugo isn’t angry with me anymore because “Chivas” (“Goats”) won 8–0–0 over “Cruz Azul” (“Blue Cross”), and he returned to me, and we’ve just celebrated 6 months together. I gave him a player Kikin t-shirt because it doesn’t matter to me if he’s so irritable, I love him as he is, and I don’t care what people say.

Perla, “Goat” in heart
Mexico City — June 2, 2006

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , , and #

A seamstress Domitila Betansos brings this retablo to the Virgin of the Solitude giving her thanks because she met the painter Frida who gave her a great present—a sewing machine that she lacked so much.

Puebla, 1939

— ретабло с тегом «подарки»

Когда я была молоденькой, мне чудесно повезло лично познакомиться с великим Педро Инфанте. Он снимал фильм в нескольких кварталах от моего дома. Я каждый день ходила смотреть, как он играет, и однажды после съемок он подошел ко мне и подарил мне свое сомбреро. Я благодарна Святому Апостолу Якову за тот момент, который я никогда не забуду, и за воспоминания о моем кумире.

Тересита Ислас \ Мехико

Хозяева попросили меня приготовить моле и двух индюшек. Мне было очень жалко убивать птичек. Благодарю Святого Паскуальчика, поскольку мне удалось убедить хозяев приготовить другое блюдо и они даже подарили мне этих индюшек. Я отнесла их к себе в хижину и очень этому рада.

Асунсьон Тошки ~ Чолула, Пуэбла

Я бесконечно благодарна Святому Апостолу Павлу за то, что я познакомилась с Лео. Он мой лучший клиент, и, когда он снимал меня в последний раз, он предупредил меня, что это наш последний раз, поскольку он уезжает работать за границу. Но он оказался так щедр, что на следующий день устроил мне сюрприз и подарил мне машину, которая мне сильно поможет.

Руби

Я хотел устроить сюрприз для семьи и в рождественскую ночь нарядился Санта Клаусом. Я залез в дом, чтобы разложить подарки, но не учел того, что мой пес Рэмбо не узнает меня, набросится на меня и будет гонять по всему дому. Благодарю Святого Шарбеля за то, что моя жена схватила пса, прежде чем тот наделал еще больше беспорядка и изгрыз костюм, который я взял напрокат.

Абелино Торрес, Пуэбла

Благодарим Хесуса Мальверде, поскольку люди из картеля привезли детям рождественские подарки, что они делают каждый год.

Лос-Мочис, Синалоа, Мексика, 2018

Благодарю Святого Иудушку Фаддея за посланное освобождение. Меня задержали за то, что я взял деньги за проданные мной лотерейные билеты. Но ты хорошо знаешь, что я взял их, чтобы купить рождественские подарки своим детям. Я пошел на это, потому что они никогда не получали подарков. Сегодня, 6 января, мой начальник узнал, в чем дело, и отозвал заявление, сказав, что я невиновен. Он ведь тоже был ребенком и тоже отец.

Мехико, 1968
Мельчор Гарсия Бальтасар

Донья Романита Монтьель чувствовала себя очень одиноко, поэтому она взмолилась Святому Панкратию, и на следующий же день соседка познакомила ее с художницей Фридой Кало, которая подарила ей попугая. Теперь ей не так одиноко, за что она бесконечно благодарит, несмотря на то что попугай очень нахальный.

Пуэбла, 1937

Служанка Хуакина Ромеро приносит это ретабло Деве Скорбящей в знак бесконечной благодарности за то, что ее хозяйка, художница Фрида, подарила ей свой аппарат, чтобы слушать музыку.

Мексика, 194*

Грегория Ромеро преподносит это ретабло Святому Панкратию в благодарность за то, что ее подруга Фрида очень довольна попугаем, которого она привезла ей из Чьяпаса. Больше всего в птице ей нравится, что она крайне нахальна, точь-в-точь как Диего.

Мексика, 1949

16 апреля 1974 г. мы с моим папой были на Арене Колисео и наблюдали за поединком Эль Санто, моего самого большого кумира. Я был парализован из-за несчастного случая, и в конце выступления Санто спустился ко мне и подарил мне одну из своих масок. Со временем я снова начал ходить.

Марио, 1996

Благодарю горожан Сан-Эвелио-дель-Волкан за то, что они отдали мне свои гражданские голоса. И пусть я победил с перевесом всего в шесть голосов, которые мне дороже золота, я буду стараться для всех. Теперь прошу, пусть те, кто не голосовал за меня, вернут подарки, розданные во время кампании. Так будет честно. Это ретабло нарисовал М.Л.Э. в обмен на продуктовый набор и два билета в кинотеатр.

Аурелиано Кихано, мэр, избранный избирателями
2016

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что Уго больше не злится на меня, потому что «Козлы» выиграли 8—0—0 у «Голубого Креста». Он вернулся ко мне, и мы только что отметили 6 месяцев как мы вместе. Я подарила ему футболку игрока Кикина, потому что мне не важно, что он такой вспыльчивый, я все равно люблю его как он есть, и мне пофиг, что говорят люди.

Перла, «Коза» в душе
Мехико, 2 июня 2006

Швея Домитила Бетансос преподносит это ретабло Деве Скорбящей в благодарность за то, что она познакомилась с художницей Фридой, которая преподнесла ей прекрасный подарок — швейную машинку, которой ей так не хватало.

Пуэбла, 1939