— tagged with “Cholula”

Cayetana Dominguez was about to give birth and felt really bad because she had been scared by fighting carransistas. She thanks the Virgin of San Juan for her baby was born without complications.

Cholula, 1912

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

November, Day of the Dead, a unrested ghost appeared to me. I immediately sobered up and prayed Saint Michael whom I thank now for protecting me so I can escape this danger.

Lucas Perez
Cholula, 1917

Gregoria Tecanguey asked Saint Anthony to send her a husband because she was becoming an old maid. Two days later she went to the pond for water, and her dream came true. She’s thankful and brings this retablo.

Cholula, 1914

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Eulalia Tepox heard a noise late at night. It was coming from a henhouse. She grabbed a pistol and went out. There she saw a horrible being—the Chupacabra—who had killed 80 of her chicken. Eulalia started shooting at it but with no result. The monster ran away. Then doña Eulalia entrusted herself to Saint John the Baptist and now thanks for delivering her from a bigger evil. She brings this as her testimony.

San Juan Cuatlancingo, Cholula, 1973

I thank Saint Paschal because in this season of chiles en nogada I was selling them very good. Many people ask me what’s the secret of its taste. And I answer that it’s the love I put into while cooking them and my eternal devotion to Saint Paschal.

Obdulia Reyes
Cholula, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and , #

Eufimio Gonzalez thanks his guardian angel for protecting him while he was riding an angry bull. He found himself in danger, prayed to the angel and only got his testicles hurt. But they’re all good now.

Cholula, 1914

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

The tortilla vendor Teofila Tecuapetla couldn’t get pregnant in spite of trying hard. She prayed Saint Paschal Baylon and now thank him because she got pregnant and gave birth to twins.

Cholula, 1934

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I was quite depressed after my fiancé had cheated on me. I entrusted myself to Saint Anthony of Padua for delivering me of sorrow. Later I met a guy. He wasn’t from our places, and every time I was going to the church he tried to give me a flower. Eventually, he became my boyfriend. I’m very happy with my Pascual. He’s made me believe in love again. We are going to get married, and I dedicate this retablo for that.

Evaristo Huitzil
Cholula, Puebla, 1948

The bar “El Atorón” was at the point of bankruptcy. Eve flies didn’t visit it. But the lady-owner prayed to Saint Martin, and things went better again. She thanks the saint with this retablo for her place prosperity.

Gudelia Coyotzi
Cholula, 1939

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Juaquina Mendosa brings this retablo joyfully thanking the Virgin of Guadalupe for curing her husband’s rheumatism. He couldn’t walk, and now he dances.

Cholula, 1912

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for the miracle of my father getting better. We played football, and he fell and hit the back of his head. He lied almost like a dead man. I prayed the Virgin so he would survive. I offer this retablo as my gratitude.

Jose Chavez M.
Cholula, July 18, 1940

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Sebastian Ramirez mounted on a very angry bull and hurt his balls. He couldn’t heal them, so he entrusted himself to the Virgin of Guadalupe and everything got cured. He thanks the Virgin and brings her this retablo.

Cholula, 1914

Retablo by

Our masters asked us to cook a turkey stew for the wedding of their daughter. We were feeling bad to cook the turkeys. So we decided to prepare something else and prayed to Saint Paschal to not getting fired. The masters didn’t get angry with us and even gave us the turkeys. We thank for that.

Rita & Josefa Cruz
Cholula, Puebla

Retablo by

— ретабло с тегом «Чолула»

Накануне родов Кайетане Домингес стало плохо, так как проходя мимо кабака, она была напугана сражающимися каррансистами. Она благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что ребеночек родился без проблем.

Чолула, 1912

В ноябре, в День Мертвых мне явился призрак неупокоенной души. Я аж протрезвел от увиденного и взмолился Святому Михаилу, которому приношу теперь благодарности за то, что он защитил меня и я смог спастись.

Лукас Парес
Чолула, 1917

Грегория Текангей просила Святого Антония послать ей мужа, так как она уже почти стала старой девой. И вот спустя два дня она пошла к пруду за водой, и ее мечта осуществилась. В благодарность она посвящает это ретабло.

Чолула, 1914

Поздно ночью сеньора Эулалия Тепокс услышала громкий шум, доносившийся из ее курятника. Она схватила пистолет и вышла во двор. Там она увидела ужасное чудовище, чупакабру, которое убило 80 ее кур. Эулалия стала стрелять в нее, но без результата, так как чудовище бросилось бежать. Донья Эулалия тогда вверилась Святому Иоанну Крестителю и теперь благодарит его за то, что он уберег ее от страшной беды. Она посвящает ему это ретабло.

Сан-Хуан-Куаутлансинго, Чолула, 1973

Благодарю Святого Паскуальчика, поскольку в этом сезоне у меня хорошо продавались чили с орехами. Многие спрашивают, в чем секрет их вкуса. Я отвечаю, что это любовь, которую я вкладываю в блюда, когда готовлю, и моя вечная преданность Святому Паскуальчику.

Обдулия Рейес
Чолула, Пуэбла

Эуфемио Гонсалес благодарит своего ангела-хранителя, который защитил его, когда он оседлал разъяренного быка. Почуяв беду, он взмолился ангелу и отделался лишь ушибленными тестикулами. Но они уже зажили.

Чолула, 1914

Торговка лепешками Теофила Текуапетла, несмотря на все свои усилия, так и не могла забеременеть. Она взмолилась Святому Паскуалю Байлону и теперь приносит ему благодарности, так как наконец забеременела и даже родила двойню.

Я была сильно подавлена, после того как мой жених изменил мне с другой. Я вверилась Святому Антонию Падуанскому, чтобы он помог мне избавиться от печали. Вскоре я познакомилась с молодым человеком. Он был не из наших мест и, когда встречал меня по пути в церковь, все время пытался подарить мне цветок. Со временем он стал моим женихом. Теперь я очень счастлива с моим Паскуалем. Он вернул мне веру в любовь, и мы собираемся пожениться. За это я посвящаю ретабло.

Эвариста Уйтсиль
Чолула, Пуэбла, 1948

В 1937 г. таверна «El Atorón» находилась на грани разорения. Даже мухи туда уже не залетали. Но хозяйка взмолилась Святому Мартинушке, и дела снова пошли в гору. В благодарность за процветание своего заведения она благодарит святого этим ретабло.

Гуделия Койотци
Чолула, 1939

Хуакина Мендоса посвящает это ретабло в знак бесконечной благодарности Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской за то, что она излечила ее мужа от ревматизма. Раньше он не мог ходить, а теперь даже отплясывает.

Чолула, 1912

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то чудо, что мой папа поправился. Мы играли в футбол, и он упал, ударившись затылком. Он лежал, словно мертвый, и я взмолился Пресвятой Деве, чтобы он выжил. В благодарность посвящаю это ретабло.

Хосе Чавес М.
Чолула, 18 июля 1940

Себастьян Рамирес оседлал слишком непокорного быка и в результате ушиб себе тестикулы. Поскольку ему не удавалось их вылечить, он вверился Деве Гваделупской, и все прошло. В благодарность он преподносит Пресвятой это ретабло.

Чолула, 1914

Хозяева заказали нам приготовить к торжественному обеду в честь свадьбы их дочери жаркое с индюшатиной. Но нам было жалко индюков. Тогда мы решили приготовить что-нибудь другое и взмолились Святому Паскуальчику, чтобы нас не уволили за это. Хозяева не обозлились и даже подарили нам индюшек, за что мы благодарим.

Рита и Хосефа Крус
Чолула, Пуэбла