— tagged with “revolution”

In times of the Revolution, there was a very tough battle in my village, and I became an orphan. One day I met the general Emiliano Zapata himself and humbly asked him for help. I thank the Virgin of San Juan for having sent him to me, because he took me with him and gave me many advices that made me into a hardworking, loyal and brave man.

Maclovio Lopez ~ Jonacatepec, Morelos

Cayetana Dominguez was about to give birth and felt really bad because she had been scared by fighting carransistas. She thanks the Virgin of San Juan for her baby was born without complications.

Cholula, 1912

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

In the heat of the fight Visenta Lopez got confused and shot her old man in the ribs. He was badly screwed. Visenta thanks the Lord of the Miracles for the old man didn’t kick the bucket and got recovered.

Pachuca, Hidalgo, 1914

Enedina Abascal dedicates the present retablo to Saint Anthony of Padua thanking him because she met Ponciano, the love of her life. She was a soldier, and they fought together at the times of the Revolution. When the fight was over, they could get married and were very happy.

Torreon, Coahuila

Retablo by

With all my heart, I thank the Virgin of the Solitude for curing my son Pancrasio. He got a bullet in his left leg during a shooting with the troops. I thank with this retablo for he’s alright now.

Encarnacion Campos — Durango, 1918

In times of the Revolution I was part of the Federal Army but my troops lost a battle, I was badly wounded and was on the edge of dying. I dedicate this retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe because two peasants took me to their home. The cured me and saved my life. In gratitude I decide to fight for the people since that moment and joined the rebels.

Agustin Castillo \ Zacatecas, Mexico

Retablo by

Saint Charbel, thank you. There were five of us hiding in a trench. When we saw the Dorados of Villa coming we went out screaming that we gave up. Right away I got a bullet in my chest and fell down. I survived by a miracle. I was lucky that the bullet came through and didn’t touch my heart. My four comrades, however, were killed. I thank Saint Charbel with this retablo for getting alive.

Elpidio Barrios
Torreon

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for they didn’t shoot me when they mistaken me for a bandit leader Tito Hernandez who had rebelled against the government and dedicated himself to crimes and atrocities until the rural police sherif Juan Lobera’s people didn’t catch him.

Puebla, April 27, 1914

I dedicate this humble retablo to Our Lady of Guadalupe in honor of the female soldiers and their admirable bravery shown on the battlefield of Mexican revolution. These women, also known as adelitas, played a fundamental role in defending our homeland by fighting shoulder-to-shoulder with men.

Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

Caledonia Ruiz was giving birth and got scared by some villistas who were shooting. She prayed to the Virgin of the Solitude, and the baby was born well. She gives infinite thanks with this retablo.

Cerritos, San Luis Potosi, 1914

My brother was very jealous and was kicking out all my suitors. I was worried and afraid that I might end up like an old maid. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan with all my heart because one day came the revulutionaries and took my brother to fight with them. So now I can relax with my beloved one.

Yolanda Garcia \ Piedras Negras, Coahuila

I thank the Holy Lord of Chalma for giving me his protection while I was a member of the Golden Ones of my general Pancho Villa. With them, I faced many tough battles against the government of the usurper Victoriano Huerta. May you be blessed.

Filemon Salas ~ Chihuahua, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

My husband Meliton was called by the Revolutionaries to join them in their fight. I was very sad and worried seeing him leaving me. I entrusted myself to the Virgin of Guadalupe, and she worked the miracle of seeing my husband returning home safe and healthy. I bring this humble retail for that.

Sagrario Corona
Piedras Negras, Coahuila

— ретабло с тегом «революция»

Во времена Революции в моей деревне произошло ожесточенное сражение, и я остался сиротой. Однажды я повстречал самого генерала Эмилиано Сапату и робко попросил у него помощи. Благодарю Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что послала мне его. Генерал взял меня с собой и дал мне много советов, благодаря которым я вырос трудолюбивым, преданным и храбрым мужчиной.

Макловио Лопес ~ Хонакатепек, Морелос

Накануне родов Кайетане Домингес стало плохо, так как проходя мимо кабака, она была напугана сражающимися каррансистами. Она благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что ребеночек родился без проблем.

Чолула, 1912

В пылу сражения Висента Лопес по ошибке пустила пулю своему старику под ребро. Ему серьезно досталось. Висента благодарит Господа Чудес за то, что старик не откинулся и уже поправился.

Пачука, Идальго, 1914

Энедина Абаскаль посвящает это ретабло Святому Антонию Падуанскому в благодарность за то, что она познакомилась с Понсиано, который стал любовью всей ее жизни. Она была солдаткой, и они вместе боролись во времена Революции, а когда борьба завершилась, они смогли пожениться и были очень счастливы.

Торреон, Коауила

От всего сердца благодарю Пресвятую Деву Скорбящую за исцеление моего сына Панкрасио. Во время перестрелки пуля попала ему в левую ногу. Благодарю этим ретабло за то, что теперь с ним все в порядке.

Энкарнасьон Кампос
Дуранго, 1918

Во время Революции я служил в федеральных войсках. Как-то раз мой отряд проиграл сражение, а я получил тяжелое ранение и был на волоске от смерти. Посвящаю это ретабло Деве Гваделупской за то, что крестьянская пара отнесла меня к себе домой. Они выходили меня и спасли мне жизнь. В благодарность с того момента я стал бороться на стороне народа и присоединился к повстанцам.

Агустин Кастильо \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Святой Шарбель, благодарю тебя. Мы впятером скрывались в канаве и, когда увидели, что приближается отряд дорадос Вильи, вышли им навстречу с криком, что мы сдаемся. Я тотчас же получил пулю в грудь и рухнул на землю. Чудом я выжил. Мне повезло, что пуля не задела сердце, а прошла рядом. Мои четыре товарища были убиты. Я благодарю этим ретабло Святого Шарбеля за то, что остался жив.

Эльпидио Барриос
Торреон

Примечание:
Дорадос — персональная охрана и бойцы из окружения Панчо Вильи.

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую, что меня не расстреляли, перепутав с главарем повстанцев Тито Эрнандесом, который выступил против правительства и, кроме того, совершал преступления и злодеяния, пока люди шерифа сельской полиции Хуана Лоберы не схватили его.

Пуэбла, 27 апреля 1914

Примечание:
Rurales — местная жандармерия в сельских регионах Мексики, существовавшая в 1861–1914 гг.

Посвящаю это скромное ретабло Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской в честь солдаток и их завидной храбрости, проявленной на полях сражений во время Мексиканской революции. Эти женщины, известные как аделиты, сыграли основополагающую роль в защите нашей родины, сражаясь плечом к плечу с мужчинами.

Мексика

Каледония Руис рожала, но ее напугали стреляющие вильяисты. Роды из-за этого шли тяжело. Она взмолилась Пресвятой Деве Скорбящей, и ребеночек родился на свет без осложнений. Каледония благодарит Пресвятую Деву и посвящает ей это ретабло.

Серритос, Сан-Луис-Потоси, 1914

Мой брат был очень ревнив и прогонял всех моих ухажеров. Я сильно горевала и боялась, как бы не остаться мне старой девой. От всего сердца я благодарю Деву Сапопаснкую за то, что однажды революционеры забрали с собой моего брата на войну и теперь никто не помешает мне с моим возлюбленным.

Йоланда Гарсия \ Пьедрас-Неграс, Коауила

Благодарю Святого Господа Чалмского за его покровительство, когда я был участником Золотой роты моего генерала Панчо Вильи. Вместе с ними я участвовал в тяжелых боях против правительства узурпатора Викториано Уэрты. Благословен будь.

Филемон Салас ~ Чиуауа, Мексика

Революционеры призвали моего мужа Мелитона присоединиться к их борьбе. Я была крайне расстроена и опечалена, видя, что он покидает меня. Я вверилась Деве Гваделупской, и она сотворила чудо. Я снова увидела моего мужа, ведь он вернулся живым и здоровым. За это я приношу это скромное ретабло.

Саграрио Корона
Пьедрас-Неграс, Коауила