— tagged with “Zacatecas”

I was a bandit. One day I was going to a town to do my misdeeds and stopped near a very beautiful girl. She saw that I was thirsty and she was kind to offer me some water. She didn’t know who I was, and I, as soon as I saw her, fell completely in love with her. I’m infinitely thankful to Saint Anthony of Padua for having met her. Thanks to her advices and her love I managed to amend my ways, and I’m a good man now.

Tiburcio Zamora / Zacatecas, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

I give infinite thanks to Saint Anthony of Padua for sending a good woman to my life. I got married very young, but got a bad wife. She left me for another man. I became very disappointed and took refuge in my carpenter job for many years. But one beautiful day I met Carmelita and I believed in love again. We are very happy. May you be blessed.

Cayetano Aguilar \ Zacatecas, Mexico

In times of the Revolution I was part of the Federal Army but my troops lost a battle, I was badly wounded and was on the edge of dying. I dedicate this retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe because two peasants took me to their home. The cured me and saved my life. In gratitude I decide to fight for the people since that moment and joined the rebels.

Agustin Castillo \ Zacatecas, Mexico

Retablo by

The night of August 15, 1930, I was coming back to Zacatecas. While crossing a river, I was dragged by the current from a saddle and carried away. I was afraid to die drowning and prayed the Holy Child of Atocha. My horse saved me and dragged me to the shore. With this retablo, I testimony this miracle and ask to bless my horse for her loyalty.

Gumaro from Fresnillo, Zacatecas

January 27, 1908, I left my three-year-old boy to play alone. When I was back, I saw that the pigs jumped on him and tried to eat him. I entrusted myself to the Holy Child of Atocha and started to throw stones at the pigs. Since I managed to save my son and he was safe and sound, I dedicate this retablo in gratitude.

Plateros, Zacatecas. March 1908
Teofila Martinez

With this humble retablo, I thank the Holy Child of Atocha for protecting me on every November 2. This night my bar is filled with the souls of the dead from the village. They come very happy to celebrate their holiday with a lot of music and mezcal.

Ramiro Dominguez \ Zacatecas, Mexico

At the Christmas party in the neighborhood, I went to put some liquor in my punch. Since I was already tipsy I got into the piñata event and was kicked in the head. I give thanks to the Holy Child of Atocha because I got only the lump. I promise not to drink so much on the December holidays.

Celedonio Hernandez \ Zacatecas, Mexico

Don Casiano Perez brings this retablo to Saint Jude Thaddeus with eternal devotion because thanks to his divine help balloons sales in the town park go very well. Apart of supporting his family in this way, he also brings joy to the children.

Zacatecas, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Holy Child of Atocha for curing my son from a horrible pneumonia.

Petra, Zacatecas
April 30, 1948

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

There was a very pretty girl in our town that I liked very much. One night I embrace myself to give her a serenade without any idea that she had a very aggressive and grumpy father. I thank Saint Jude Thaddeus with this humble retablo because the mariachi and I could escape before he started to shoot at us with a shotgun he pulled out.

Epigmenio Reyes \ Zacatecas, Mexico

As promised, I bring this retablo to the Holy Child of Atocha for the miracle of winning my first mask for mask fight, taking down the tough Red Scorpion with a “hurracarana” throw. It was the most important fight in my career.

The Great Chameleon
Zacatecas, 1986

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Every time I went to sell the flowers to the town square, a very happy young man used to pass by and salute me. I liked him a lot. I dedicate this retablo to Saint Anthony because that man finally decided to ask me to court me and now we are couple—my Aurelio and I.

Remedios Pascual, Zacatecas

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

My kitten Pepe is my only company because I didn’t marry and have no kids. That’s why, the other day when we had a fire in the building, I was very much preoccupied since I was outside and couldn’t get in and save him. I thank Saint Francis of Assisi for a brave firefighter risked his own life to save my kitten who is everything for me. May he be blessed.

Socorro Montejo
Zacatecas, Mexico

— ретабло с тегом «Сакатекас»

Я был бандитом. Однажды я направлялся в один городок, чтобы устроить там разбой, и остановился возле очень красивой девушки, которая увидела, что я мучаюсь жаждой, и любезно подала мне воды. Она не знала, кто я, а я, как только увидел ее, совершенно потерял голову и влюбился. Я бесконечно благодарен Святому Антонию Падуанскому за то, что я повстречал ее. Благодаря ее советам и любви, я смог встать на верный путь и теперь я порядочный человек.

Тибурсио Самора / Скатекас, Мексика

Благодарю Святого Антония Падуанского за то, что он послал мне прекрасную женщину. Я женился в молодости, но жена попалась мне дурная. Она бросила меня и ушла к другому. Я был крайне разочарован и на долгие годы ушел с головой в столярное дело. Но в один прекрасный день я познакомился с Кармелитой и снова поверил в любовь. Мы очень счастливы. Благословен будь.

Кайетано Агилар \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Во время Революции я служил в федеральных войсках. Как-то раз мой отряд проиграл сражение, а я получил тяжелое ранение и был на волоске от смерти. Посвящаю это ретабло Деве Гваделупской за то, что крестьянская пара отнесла меня к себе домой. Они выходили меня и спасли мне жизнь. В благодарность с того момента я стал бороться на стороне народа и присоединился к повстанцам.

Агустин Кастильо \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Ночью 15 августа 1930 г. я возвращался в Сакатекас. Когда я пересекал реку, течение выкинуло меня из седла и стало уносить с собой. Я испугался, что вот-вот утону, и взмолился Святому Младенцу с Аточи. Моя лошадь спасла меня от гибели и вытащила на берег. Этим ретабло я свидетельствую о случившемся чуде и прошу благословить мою лошадь за ее преданность.

Гумаро
Фреснильо, Сакатекас

27 января 1908 г. я оставила моего трехлетнего сыночка играть одного. Когда я вернулась, то увидела, как свиньи напали на него, пытаясь сожрать. Вверившись Святому Младенцу с Аточи, я стала бросать в свиней камни. Поскольку мне удалось спасти моего сына и он остался жив и здоров, в благодарность я посвящаю это ретабло.

Платерос, Сакатекас, март 1908
Теофила Мартинес

Этим скромным ретабло я благодарю Святого Младенца Аточи за то, что он защищает меня каждое 2 ноября. В эту ночь мой кабачок заполняют души умерших жителей деревни. Они приходят повеселиться и отметить свой праздник с музыкой и мескалем.

Рамиро Домингес \ Сакатекас, Мексика

На праздновании Рождества в квартале я пошел подлить чего-нибудь покрепче в свой пунш. Поскольку я уже хорошо поддал, то забрел туда, где разбивали пиньяту, и мне вломили прямо по башке. Благодарю Святого Младенца Аточи, что я отделался лишь шишкой, и обещаю впредь не напиваться в декабрьские праздники.

Селедонио Эрнандес \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Дон Касиано Перес с большим почтением преподносит это ретабло Святому Иуде Фаддею за его божественную помощь, поскольку продажи шариков в городском парке идут очень хорошо. Помимо того что он так кормит свою семью, он еще приносит много радости детям.

Сакатекас, Мексика

Благодарю Святого Младенца с Аточи за исцеление моего сына от ужасной пневмонии.

Петра, Сакатекас, 30 апреля 1948

Нравилась мне одна очень миленькая девушка из нашего городка. И вот как-то ночью я собрался с духом и отправился к ней с серенадой. Я и не думал, что у нее такой сердитый и недовольный папаша. Благодарю Святого Иудушку Фаддея этим скромным ретабло за то, что мы с музыкантами-мариачи смогли удрать прежде, чем папаша начал палить по нам из обреза.

Эпигменио Рейес \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Как обещал, приношу это ретабло в благодарность Святому Младенцу с Аточи за то чудо, что я победил в своей первой битве в масках, свалив упорного Красного Скорпиона с помощью урракарраны. Это был очень важный поединок для моей карьеры.

Великий Хамелеон
Сакатекас, 1986

Примечание:
Урракаррана (hurracarrana) — прием в борьбе без правил, когда борец прыгает на другого, обхватывает его ногами вокруг шеи и валит на ринг.

Всякий раз как я шла продавать цветы на городскую площадь, мимо проезжал очень веселый парень и всегда приветствовал меня. Он мне очень нравился. Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Антошеньке за то, что он наконец решился и попросил у меня разрешения ухаживать за мной. Теперь мы с моим Аурелио пара.

Ремедиос Паскуаль, Сакатекас

Мой котенок Пепе — мой единственный друг. Я не вышла замуж, и у меня нет детей. Поэтому когда в здании случился пожар, я очень волновалась за него. Я была снаружи и не могла спасти его. Благодарю Святого Франциска Ассизского за то, что отважный пожарный, рискуя жизнью, спас моего котенка, который все для меня. Благослови его.

Сокорро Монтехо
Сакатекас, Мексика