— tagged with “war”

In times of the Revolution, there was a very tough battle in my village, and I became an orphan. One day I met the general Emiliano Zapata himself and humbly asked him for help. I thank the Virgin of San Juan for having sent him to me, because he took me with him and gave me many advices that made me into a hardworking, loyal and brave man.

Maclovio Lopez ~ Jonacatepec, Morelos

Enedina Abascal dedicates the present retablo to Saint Anthony of Padua thanking him because she met Ponciano, the love of her life. She was a soldier, and they fought together at the times of the Revolution. When the fight was over, they could get married and were very happy.

Torreon, Coahuila

Retablo by

In times of the Revolution I was part of the Federal Army but my troops lost a battle, I was badly wounded and was on the edge of dying. I dedicate this retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe because two peasants took me to their home. The cured me and saved my life. In gratitude I decide to fight for the people since that moment and joined the rebels.

Agustin Castillo \ Zacatecas, Mexico

Retablo by

Saint Charbel, thank you. There were five of us hiding in a trench. When we saw the Dorados of Villa coming we went out screaming that we gave up. Right away I got a bullet in my chest and fell down. I survived by a miracle. I was lucky that the bullet came through and didn’t touch my heart. My four comrades, however, were killed. I thank Saint Charbel with this retablo for getting alive.

Elpidio Barrios
Torreon

I dedicate this humble retablo to Our Lady of Guadalupe in honor of the female soldiers and their admirable bravery shown on the battlefield of Mexican revolution. These women, also known as adelitas, played a fundamental role in defending our homeland by fighting shoulder-to-shoulder with men.

Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

I thank the Holy Lord of Chalma for giving me his protection while I was a member of the Golden Ones of my general Pancho Villa. With them, I faced many tough battles against the government of the usurper Victoriano Huerta. May you be blessed.

Filemon Salas ~ Chihuahua, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Jesus Christ, thank you for your favors. I thank because my grandson returned alive from the war in Vietnam. I also thank for my grandson came to visit me in Mexico. It might be a last time I see him because I feel very tired and my health is bad.

Margarita Galindo
Mexico City, 1976

My great-great-grandfather, Colonel Biu das Quengas, fought in the Canudos War, alongside defenders of the holy people. When the Army managed to kill the chief Antônio Conselheiro in the final attack in 1892, my great-great-grandfather escaped because he invoked the divine protection of Blessed Zé Pilintra who appeared riding the Mysterious Peacock.

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

I, Jonathan Torrez, thank my Mother, Virgin of Guadalupe, for helping me to survive the war in Iraq in 2002.

Chicago, Illinois

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

The Holy Face of God, I thank you for keeping alive all the Mexicans who participated in the Vietnam war. November 1, 1955, the conflict between North Vietnam and South Vietnam began. US sent the general William Westmoreland over there. The war ended on April 30, 1975.

Mexico City, 1976

— tagged with and and , #

That’s how we celebrated that night till dawn with the adelitas (women soldiers) who had taken Ciudad Juarez, Chihuahua, with the Zaragoza brigade. Thanks to our protectress, Holy Virgin of Guadalupe, the town was surrounded to my general Francisco Villa. Saturday, November 15, 1913, there was a clear victory. Look after our women who risked their lives for this cause.

Simon Trejo

I offer this retablo to the Holy Child of Atocha because my leg has been healed. I got it crushed by a wheel of the canon I was in charge of by the order of the general Felipe Angeles. It happened on the Grillo mountain when we were taking Zacatecas on the evening of July 23, 1914. The city was taken by my general Francisco Villa, and I prayed that my leg wouldn’t have get gangrene. Now I offer this retablo to tell about your favor.

Bartolo Coronel from Fresnillo, Zacatecaz
December 24, 1914

I give thanks to the Lord of Hospital from Salamanca for the miracle of saving me from death in Celaya, April 1915. When we defeated Pancho Villa and his troops, the general Alvaro Obregon had his arm blown off by a grenade. And I was behind him. Realizing what happened, I ordered this retablo.

— ретабло с тегом «война»

Энедина Абаскаль посвящает это ретабло Святому Антонию Падуанскому в благодарность за то, что она познакомилась с Понсиано, который стал любовью всей ее жизни. Она была солдаткой, и они вместе боролись во времена Революции, а когда борьба завершилась, они смогли пожениться и были очень счастливы.

Торреон, Коауила

Во время Революции я служил в федеральных войсках. Как-то раз мой отряд проиграл сражение, а я получил тяжелое ранение и был на волоске от смерти. Посвящаю это ретабло Деве Гваделупской за то, что крестьянская пара отнесла меня к себе домой. Они выходили меня и спасли мне жизнь. В благодарность с того момента я стал бороться на стороне народа и присоединился к повстанцам.

Агустин Кастильо \ Сакатекас, Мексика

Святой Шарбель, благодарю тебя. Мы впятером скрывались в канаве и, когда увидели, что приближается отряд дорадос Вильи, вышли им навстречу с криком, что мы сдаемся. Я тотчас же получил пулю в грудь и рухнул на землю. Чудом я выжил. Мне повезло, что пуля не задела сердце, а прошла рядом. Мои четыре товарища были убиты. Я благодарю этим ретабло Святого Шарбеля за то, что остался жив.

Эльпидио Барриос
Торреон

Примечание:
Дорадос — персональная охрана и бойцы из окружения Панчо Вильи.

Посвящаю это скромное ретабло Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской в честь солдаток и их завидной храбрости, проявленной на полях сражений во время Мексиканской революции. Эти женщины, известные как аделиты, сыграли основополагающую роль в защите нашей родины, сражаясь плечом к плечу с мужчинами.

Мексика

Благодарю Святого Господа Чалмского за его покровительство, когда я был участником Золотой роты моего генерала Панчо Вильи. Вместе с ними я участвовал в тяжелых боях против правительства узурпатора Викториано Уэрты. Благословен будь.

Филемон Салас ~ Чиуауа, Мексика

Иисус Христос, благодарю тебя за твои милости. Благодарю за то, что мой внук вернулся живым с войны во Вьетнаме. Также благодарю Христа за то, что мой внук приехал в Мексику навестить меня. Может быть, я его вижу в последний раз, ведь я чувствую сильную усталость и здоровье мое не очень.

Маргарита Галиндо
Мехико, 1976

Мой пра-прадед, полковник Биу даш Кенгаш, участвовал в войне Канудус на стороне защитников святых людей. Когда в заключительной атаке в 1892 году армии удалось убить их лидера Антониу Консельейру, мой пра-прадед спасся, потому что попросил божественной защиты у благословенного Зе Пилинтры, который появился верхом на загадочном павлине.

Я, Джонатан Торрес, благодарю Пресвятую Матерь Божию Гваделупскую за то, что помогла мне выжить во время войны в Ираке в 2002 году.

Чикаго, Иллинойс

Святой Лик, благодарю тебя за то, что сберег участвовавших в войне во Вьетнаме мексиканцев. 1 ноября 1955 начался конфликт между Северным Вьетнамом и Южным. США отправили туда генерала Уильяма Уэстморленда. Война окончилась 30 апреля 1975.

Мехико, 1976

Вот так той ночью мы веселились в горах до рассвета в компании солдаток-аделит, которые вместе с бригадой Сарагоса вошли в Сьюдад-Хуарес, штат Чиуауа. Благодаря нашей покровительнице, Деве Гваделупской, город сдался моему генералу Франсиско Вилье. В субботу 15 ноября 1913 г. мы одержали полную победу. Храни наших женщин, которые рисковали жизнью ради этого.

Симон Трехо

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Младенцу с Аточи за то, что моя нога уже зажила. Мне придавило ее колесом пушки, к которой меня приставили по приказу генерала Фелипе Анхелеса. Дело было на горе Грильо, когда мы вечером 23 июня 1914 г. брали Сакатекас. Мой генерал Франсиско Вилья захватил-таки город. А я молился, чтобы я не подхватил гангрену. Теперь я посвящаю ретабло, прославляя твою милость.

Бартоло Коронель из Фреснильо, Сакатекас
24 декабря 1914

Искренне благодарю Господа Больничного из Саламанки за чудесное спасение меня от гибели в Селае в апреле 1915. Когда мы победили Панчо Вилью и его войска, взрывом гранаты оторвало руку моему генералу Альваро Обрегону, а я шел следом за ним. Осознав, что произошло, я заказал это ретабло.

В июне 1944 г. в День Д мы высадились в Нормандии. Я видел, как многие из моих товарищей погибли. Я вверил себя Господу Нашему Иисусу Христу и теперь я — американский гражданин. Благодарю за все посланные мне милости.

Эрменехильдо Гонсалес Леон
Сан-Мигель-де-Альенде, Гуанахуато, 1953