— tagged with “parents and children”

A young man Ceferino Fernandez and his mom had a lot of financial problems. He entrusted himself to the Virgin of Juquila whom he gives infinite thanks because they started a sewing business and supported themselves with it.

I liked my neighbor very much, and she responded me. But we were secretly seeing each other for she had a grumpy and violent father who didn’t let her to have a boyfriend. One night I climbed to her room to see her, and her father caught us by surprise with a pistol in his hand. I thank Saint Raymond for illuminating me to act like a sleep-walker. With his divine help, her father believed it, so I saved my skin.

Nepomuceno Diaz / Zacatecas, Mexico

I dedicate the present exvoto to Saint Marinus in gratitude for my husband hasn’t found out about my secret relationship with his son—my step-son. I married for financial reasons because I was always poor. But it’s his son whom I madly and passionately in love with. Our love will always be forbidden, but we’ll cherish it with great discretion.

In 1914, my fiancé had to leave me because he was going to the revolution. But my father was waiting to kill him. I give infinite thanks to the Child of Atocha for my father is bad in aiming and he didn’t do anything to him.

Cadereita, N. L., 1914
Justina Jaime

Infinite Thanks to Saint Leasa Mann, who offered to pay the bills of strangers who were struggling because they’d lost shifts or work during Covid. She doesn’t know this but because of her help, I was able to stay in my supportive queer sharehouse, instead of having to move back to country Victoria with my parents, & back into a deep dark closet.

Please paint me clubbing with lots of tattoos, because they are the first two things I’m going to do when lockdown is over.

Retablo by

The other night, I heard a lot of noice out of my garage. I got very scared that it might be a thief stealing my car that I’d just bought. I thank Saint Pancras for it was only my daughter making out with her boyfriend. I didn’t want them ruin my car, so I preferred to give them money to go to a hotel.

Horacio Lopez \ Yucatan, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

As I promised, I bring this humble retablo to Saint Michael the Archangel for granting me the miracle that I was able to help my father with money to open his pottery workshop because he dreamt about it since he was young.

Teodora Morales, Tlaxcala, Mexico

Acapulco
January 22, 1970

I thank the Holy Face of God from Acapulco for working a miracle that my daughter Sara stopped working as a prostitute.

Her mother Maria Solis

Retablo by

I thank God because my son Juanito has recovered from the fright he had when a nagual appeared to him in form of an enormous black dog near the coal tower for being rude to his father who sent him that night to put more woods to the coal tower. The dog dragged him till the river. When he came back, all wallowed and in tears, he asked us for forgiveness, telling everything that happened, and then fell into the bed. I entrust his recovery to Our Lord, and he granted my wish.

Sorrowful mother
Villa del Carbon, State of Mexico
June 12, 1988

Retablo by

I thank you, Virgin of Guadalupe, because my father didn’t kill my boyfriend when he found him in my room. He got off with fright and marriage.

Silveria, Oaxaca, Mexico, 1960

Retablo by

Since I lived in my grand-mommy’s house, whenever I had a girlfriend and invited her to the house, my grand-mommy would kick her out because she wouldn’t let me have girls until she decided so. In my 25, she treated me like a boy. I give thanks to the Holy Child of Atocha for I finally began to live alone and finally can live my life freely.

Brayan Perez, Puebla

I dedicate this to Juan Diego because Miguel stayed in my apartment to live with me and go on with our relationship without being afraid what his family—which is very opposed to it—would say. He made his mind when I proposed him, and now we are happy together.

Raymundo Cuevas
Col. Condesa, Mexico City, February 14, 1990

My gratitude to the Virgin of Guadalupe because my daughter Yolanda came back after running away with her boyfriend Tomas.

Agapito Mora

— ретабло с тегом «отцы и дети»

Юноша Сеферино Фернандес и его мама страдали из-за крайне бедственного положения. Тогда он вверился Деве Хукиланской, которой бесконечно благодарен, ибо они с мамой занялись пошивом вещей и благодаря этому смогли прокормить себя.

Мне очень нравилась моя соседка, и она отвечала мне взаимностью. Но мы должны были встречаться тайком, поскольку у нее был сварливый и вспыльчивый папаша. Он не разрешал ей встречаться с парнями. Как-то ночью я залез к ней в комнату, и тут нас поймал ее отец. В руках у него был пистолет. Благодарю Святого Рамона, ибо меня осенило притвориться лунатиком. С его божественной помощью отец соседки поверил в это, так что я спас свою шкуру.

Непомусено Диас / Сакатекас, Мексика

Посвящаю это эксвото Святому Марину в благодарность за то, что мой муж не прознал о моих секретных отношениях с его сыном, моим пасынком. Я вышла замуж по финансовым причинам, потому что всю жизнь была бедна, но в кого я действительно безумно и страстно влюблена — так это в его сына. Однако наша любовь навсегда останется запретной, и мы будем хранить ее с большой осторожностью.

В 1914 году мой жених был вынужден проститься со мной, потому что он уезжал на революцию. Но мой папа поджидал его, чтоб убить. Я бесконечно благодарна Младенцу Аточи за то, что мой папа не умеет целиться и он ничего ему не сделал.

Кадерейта, Н. Л., 1914
Хустина Хайме

Бесконечные благодарности Святой Лисе Манн, которая согласилась оплатить счета разных людей, сокращенных и лишившихся работы во время ковида. Она не знает, но благодаря ее помощи я смог остаться в моем комфортном гейском общежитии, вместо того чтобы вернуться обратно в Викторию к родителям и снова скрывать свою гомосексуальность.

Пожалуйста, нарисуй, как будто я тусуюсь и на мне куча татух, потому что это то, что я первым делом сделаю, когда кончится изоляция.

Недавно ночью я услышал громкий шум в гараже и сильно перепугался, что это вор залез украсть мою машину, которую я только купил. Благодарю Святого Панкратия, что это была всего лишь моя дочь, которая ласкалась со своим парнем. Чтобы они не испортили мне машину, я предпочел дать им денег, чтобы они пошли в отель.

Орасио Лопес \ Юкатан, Мексика

Как обещала, приношу это скромное ретабло Святому Михаилу Архангелу за сотворенное им чудо, что я смогла помочь папе деньгами и он открыл собственную гончарную мастерскую, о чем он мечтал еще в молодости.

Теодора Моралес, Тласкала, Мексика

Акапулько
22 января 1970

Благодарю Святой Лик Акапулькский за чудо, что моя дочь Сара бросила работать проституткой.

Ее мама Мария Солис

Благодарю Бога за то, что мой сын Хуанито исцелился от страха, кода возле угольной башни ему явился нагваль в виде огромного черного пса за то, что он нагрубил отцу, который в ту ночь послал его подкинуть дровишек в угольницу. Пес протащил его до самой реки. Когда он вернулся, весь истрепанный и в слезах, то просил прощения, рассказывая, что с ним случилось, а потом свалился в кровать. Я вверила его исцеление Господу Богу, и он исполнил мою просьбу.

Убитая горем мать
Вилья-дель-Карбон, штат Мехико
12 июня 1988

Благодарю тебя, Дева Гваделупская, за то, что моя отец не убил моего парня, когда застал его в моей комнате. Тот отделался страхом и женитьбой.

Сильверия, Оахака, Мексика, 1960

Поскольку я жил у моей бабули, всякий раз когда я приглашал домой девушек, бабуля прогоняла их, потому что не желала, чтобы у меня были девушки, пока она не разрешит. В мои 25 лет она обращалась со мной как с мальчонкой. Благодарю Святого Младенца с Аточи за то, что я стал жить один и наконец могу свободно вести свою жизнь.

Брайан Перес, Пуэбла

Посвящаю это ретабло Хуану Диего за то счастье, что Мигель остался жить у меня квартире и продолжил наши отношения, не опасаясь того, что скажет его семья, которая была сильно против этого. Он принял это решение, когда я предложил ему, и теперь мы вместе и счастливы.

Раймундо Куэвас
Колония Кондеса, Мехико, 14 февраля 1990

Мои благодарности Деве Гваделупской за то, что моя дочь Иоланда вернулась после побега со своим женихом Томасом.

Агапито Мора