Holy Face of God

Divino Rostro

Pascual Diaz was in the mountains, and some very drunk skeletons appeared to him. They tried to take him with them. But I implored the Holy Face, and you saved me.

Chihuahua, 1942

Holy Face of God, deliver us from the evil and to not make us suffer. Lord Jesus Christ, bless my house, my family, my kids and all houses in the world.

Retablo by

— tagged with , and #

Octavio Martinez thanks the Holy Face because his neighbor didn’t notice him with his wife and didn’t kill him for that. Octavio and the neighbor’s wife swear that this will never happen again.

May 10, 1985
Tacubaya, Mexico

Holy Face, I thank you for your favors. They said that the abandoned house is so scary because they hanged one man there at the time of the Mexican revolution. I didn’t believe it until one day I got so frightened that my body was paralyzed. I went home and fell off the horse. I had a small heart attack. I give infinite thanks for I managed to save myself from death.

Jaime Moreno
Monterrey, Mexico, 1958

Thank you, Holy Face, for saving me from a demon.

Maria

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

I thank the Holy Face of Acapulco for I killed my husband and they did nothing to me for that.

Maria Reyes
December 17, 1990

Retablo by

I have to thank the “Divine Face” because I look exactly kill the famous actor Brad Pitt.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

The Holy Face of God, I thank you for keeping alive all the Mexicans who participated in the Vietnam war. November 1, 1955, the conflict between North Vietnam and South Vietnam began. US sent the general William Westmoreland over there. The war ended on April 30, 1975.

Mexico City, 1976

— tagged with and and , #

I offer this retablo to the Holy Face of Jesus for helping me to get married and escape from my house, where, after my mother’s death, my stepfather tried to take liberties with me. I asked you to meet a good man who would love me. I’m happy with my husband now, and I thank you for that.

Teodora Mejia
May 5, 1944

Cristoforo Buendia got furious because Lupe disregarded his wedding proposal. He shot Juana because she didn’t force Lupe to love him. Juana was wounded to death, but she swore to respect her daughter’s decision, even if she would be killed for it. Now Juana is out of danger. She offers this retablo to the Holy Face of God.

Zitacuaro, Michoacan, 1935

We thank the Holy Face of God because we returned home after five days in the sea. We suffered shipwreck because of a terrible storm that caught us in the open sea. We entrusted ourselves to the Holy Face, and now we tell about the miracle that happened when we were counted as dead.

August 22, 1935
Juan Tovar & Pancho Trueno
Matamoros, Tamaulipas

I thank the Holy Face. When the brakes didn’t work on a winding road, you helped us. Guillermo Dominguez pays for it with this retablo.

— tagged with and , , #

I was repairing the roof of the house. I stumbled and fell off the ladder right on the stump. It had a splinter that went through my stomach. I prayed to The Holy Face of God and asked for a relief. I got better and recovered from this deadly wound. Lorenzo Garcia dedicates this ex-voto.

Pachuca, Hidalgo
Holy week, 1956

Святой Лик

Divino Rostro

Божественный Лик, благодарю за твои милости. В народе поговаривали, что в заброшенном доме — страшно, потому что во время революции там повесили одного сеньора. Я не верил этому, пока однажды ночью по пути на рынок я так не перепугался, что все мое тело парализовало. Я доехал до дома и свалился с лошади. У меня произошел небольшой инфаркт. Благодарю за то, что я спасся от смерти.

Хайме Морено
Монтеррей, Мексика, 1958

Благодарю, Святой Лик, за избавление от демона.

Мария

Благодарю Святой Лик Акапулькский за то, что я убила своего мужа и мне ничего за это не сделали.

Мария Рейес, 17 декабря 2010

Благодарю Святой Лик за то, что я выгляжу точь-в-точь как известный актер Брэд Питт.

Святой Лик, благодарю тебя за то, что сберег участвовавших в войне во Вьетнаме мексиканцев. 1 ноября 1955 начался конфликт между Северным Вьетнамом и Южным. США отправили туда генерала Уильяма Уэстморленда. Война окончилась 30 апреля 1975.

Мехико, 1976

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Лику Иисуса за то, что он помог мне выйти замуж и покинуть дом. После маминой смерти мой отчим стремился воспользоваться мной, поэтому я молила послать мне хорошего и доброго мужчину, чтобы он любил меня. И теперь я счастлива в браке, за что и благодарю.

Теодора Мехия, 5 мая 1944

Кристофоро Буэндия разозлился из-за того, что Лупе отвергла его предложение о замужестве, и выстрелил в Хуану, поскольку та никак не принуждала Лупе полюбить его. Хуана была смертельно ранена. Но она клялась уважать мнение своей дочери даже под страхом смерти. Хуане теперь ничего не угрожает. Она посвящает это ретабло Святому Лику Господа.

Ситакуаро, Мичоакан, 1935

Благодарим Святой Лик за то, что мы смогли вернуться домой спустя пять дней после кораблекрушения, случившегося из-за страшного шторма, который застал нас в открытом море. Мы вверились Лику и теперь рассказываем о его чуде, когда нас уже считали погибшими.

22 августа 1935
Хуан Товар и Панчо Труэно
Матаморос, Тамаулипас

Благодарю Святой Лик. Когда на повороте у нас отказали тормоза, ты нам помог. Гильермо Домингес преподносит ретабло за это.

Я ремонтировал крышу, оступился и упал с лестницы на пень. Торчащий обломок пня вонзился мне в живот и прошел насквозь. Я взмолился Святому Лику и просил его послать мне облегчение. Я выздоровел и оправился от этой смертельной раны. Лоренсо Гарсия посвящает это экс-вото.

Пачука, Идальго
Страстная неделя, 1956

Когда я срезал солому, то порезал себе руку мачете. Рана стала гноиться, и я ничего не мог поделать. Тогда я вверился Святому Лику, чтобы он послал мне исцеление. Теперь я благодарю его за милость, так как рука зажила. Посвящаю это ретабло.

Акилино Чавес
13 июня 1930

Господи, я, Лепольдо Гутьеррес, сегодня, 31 декабря 1950 г., благодарю тебя за освобождение. Я был обвинен в преступлении, которого не совершал. Я не утерял веры в тебя и молился тебе. Теперь прояснилось, что я невиновен, и я посвящаю ретабло за это.