— tagged with “Veracruz”

Big luck you gave me, Virgin of Guadalupe, when I won a trip to Veracruz in a union raffle

Angela Matus

Retablo by

With this humble retablo, I thank Saint Jude Thaddeus because I was able to pass on this beautiful tradition of being a flyer to my son Venustiano. It was my honor to perform this beautiful dance since my young years. Now it’s he who is in charge of keeping our family tradition.

Isidoro Rosas ~ Papantla, Veracruz

Retablo by

We thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for the miracle of saving our ship “Ma. Catalina” when we almost suffered shipwreck during the storm. In despair, we implored your holy name, and the storm miraculously eased off.

Gratitude from the crew of “Ma. Catalina”
Veracruz, Mexico, September 1943

Retablo by

Señor Fausto Lopez always liked the colors of the carnivals. With the present retablo, he thanks Saint Veronica for having visited the Carnival in Veracruz this year. He made many photos of the celebration because photography is his big passion.

Retablo by

A giant spider used to build his web over my bed every night, and it looked me down with its devil eyes. At the mornings there was no spider. I cleaned up the web, but the next night it started all over again. Finally, after many prayers to Saint Barbara, I had a dream in which the saint pierced the spider with her sword. So the next night the spider didn’t come. I thank for that.

Valentina Suarez, November 3, 1946
Xalapa, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

Señora Guadalupe Fernandez from the city of Orizaba, Veracruz, got very sick with ailments in her entire body. She wholeheartedly invoked Saint Anthony, and he worked a miracle of healing her completely. She ordered this retablo in gratitude.

Orizaba, Vercaruz, 1951

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

We thank the Holy Christ of the Good Voyage because fishing is going very good for us. Thanks to him we managed to save money to buy a house to our parents. The one thing we asked is health and to be with us every moment.

Alejandro and Ricardo, Veracruz, Mexico
November 20, 1986

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Virgin of Guadalupe, bless these great women, the Patronesses of Amatlan, Veracruz, and help so they could keep help all the immigrants who cross this country in search of the American dream putting themselves in many dangers, with the hope to get to their destiny. Only God and they know why they leave their homes and families. For a better future. Protect them, this humble neighborhood painter wholeheartedly asks you.

A. V. R. — Mexico City, 2014
May these women be blessed!

Retablo by

— tagged with , and , and , #

When Aurora Valdez was dancing with her snake, it squeezed her so strongly her bones crackled.

Veracruz, November 11, 1944

— tagged with , , and #

I dedicate this simple retablo in gratitude to Saint Philomena for walkways protecting me in my job as a sex-worker. Some of my friends had bad experiences with some clients because women are exposed to many dangers in this profession but we have our motives to do it.

Zulema R. ~ Xalapa, Veracruz

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

October 10, 2004, I was celebrating my 15th birthday. We were all very happy and it was a blast—the cake, the toast and my dance partner who was my prince charming. With this retablo, I give thanks to Saint Alexis and to the Divine Face of God from Tlaxpana for helping me so no one noticed that I was pregnant and my parents didn’t find out until later that, besides stopping be a little girl, I also stopped being a maiden.

Silvia Yanet Rosas
Jalacingo, Veracruz, 2006

Don Roque’s dog was a wild beast. One day my girl got in his yard, and the animal jumped on her. But after snugging her the dog didn’t do anything. I know it was a miracle by Saint Quiteria’s protection.

Doña Teodosia Vallejo
Perote, 1955

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Sofia asked Saint Baylon for her husband when he stayed in open sea and was almost devoured by sharks.

Veracruz, 1879

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

— ретабло с тегом «Веракрус»

Большую удачу ты послала мне, Дева Гваделупская, когда в профсоюзной лотерее я выиграла поездку в Веракрус.

Ангела Матус

Этим скромным ретабло я благодарю Святого Иуду Фаддея за то, что я смог передать по наследству моему сыну Венустиано прекрасную традицию быть летуном. Это моя гордость — с юных лет выступать с этим красивым танцем. Теперь же мой сын берет на себя поддержание нашей семейной традиции.

Исидоро Росас ~ Папантла, Веракрус

Благодарим Деву Гваделупскую за чудесное спасение нашего корабля «Мадре Каталины», когда во время шторма мы чуть не пережили кораблекрушение. В отчаянии мы взмолились твоему святому имени, и чудом шторм утих.

Благодарность от экипажа «Мадре Каталины»
Веракус, Мексика, Сентябрь 1943

Сеньору Фаусто Лопесу всегда нравились краски карнавала. Этим ретабло он благодарит Святую Веронику за то, что в этом году он смог съездить на карнавал в Веракрусе и сделать много фото с празднования, потому что фотография — это его большое увлечение.

Гигантский паук по ночам плел свою паутину прямо над моей кроватью. Он глядел на меня своими дьявольскими глазами. По утру паука уже не было. Я убирала паутину, но ночью все повторялось снова. Наконец, после многих молитв Святой Барбаре мне приснилось, как святая пронзила паука своим мечом. На следующую ночь паук уже не появился. Благодарю за это.

Валентина Суарес, 3 ноября 1946
Халапа, Мексика

Сеньора Гвадалупе Фернандес из города Орисаба, Веракрус, тяжело заболела с болями по всему телу. Всем сердцем она взмолилась Святому Антонию, и он сотворил чудо ее полного исцеления. В благодарность она заказала это ретабло.

Орисаба, Веракрус, 1951

Благодарим Святого Христа Доброго Пути за то, что рыбалка у нас идет очень хорошо. Также благодаря ему мы смогли накопить денег и купить нашим родителям домик. Единственное, о чем мы просим, — здоровье и чтобы он был с нами каждый миг.

Алехандро и Рикардо, Веракрус, Мекиска
20 ноября 1986

Дева Гваделупская, благослови этих великих женщин, Покровительниц из Аматлана, Веракрус, и помоги им, чтоб они и дальше помогали всем мигрантам, которые едут через страну в поисках Американской мечты, подвергая себя стольким опасностям в надежде найти свою судьбу. Только Бог и они сами знают, зачем они оставляют свои дома и семьи. Ради лучшей доли. Защити их, просит тебя от всего сердца скромный районный художник.

А. В. Р. — Мехико, 2014
Благослови этих женщин!

Когда Аурора Вальдес танцевала со своей змеей, та так сильно ее сжала, что аж кости затрещали.

Веракрус, 11 ноября 1944

Я посвящаю это скромное ретабло Святой Филомене в знак благодарности, потому что она всегда защищает меня на работе. Я секс-работница, и у некоторых моих подруг случались неприятности с клиентами. В нашей профессии женщины подвержены многим опасностям, но у нас есть причины, чтобы заниматься этим делом.

Сулема Р. ~ Халапа, Веракрус

10 октября 2004 г. я праздновала свое пятнадцатилетие. Мы были очень счастливы на празднике, и все было просто превосходно: и торт, и тост, и мой кавалер, который был моим прекрасным принцом. Благодарю Святого Алексия и Святой Лик Божий из Тлакспаны за то, что помогли мне и никто не заметил, что я беременна, и мои родители не узнали тогда, что, перестав быть девочкой, я также перестала быть девушкой.

Сильвия Янет Росас
Халасинго, Веракрус, 2006

Собака дона Роке была настоящей зверюгой. Однажды моя девочка зашла к нему на двор, и зверь набросился на нее. Однако, обнюхав ее, собака ничего с ней не сделала. Я знаю, что это было чудо покровительства Святой Квитерии.

Донья Теодосия Вальехо
Пероте, 1955

София молила Святого Байлона о своем муже, когда он находился в открытом море и его чуть было не сожрали акулы.

Веракрус, 1879