— tagged with “Guadalajara”

I’m not a good football player but since I’m the son of the team owner the coach always keeps me on the bench. The other day, during a very important match, the forward of my team was injured and I was put to play. I dedicate the present retablo to Saint John Bosco in gratitude for I scored the victory goal although I did it in a very peculiar manner since I didn’t even see the ball coming. It hit me in the face and went into the goal.

Rogelio Sandoval \ Guadalajara, Jalisco

— tagged with and , and , #

A monster began to appear in the Laurita Rios’ closet. She was very frightened and prayed the Virgin of the Rosary so that the monster wouldn’t come back. Thanks to the Holy Virgin the girl’s father got a better job in Guadalajara so they moved there. Laurita thanks the Virgin because there are no monsters in the capital.

My life was very sad and unhappy. I had no job or anything to call my own. I thank Saint John Bosco with this retablo because one day my remote uncle whom I didn’t even remember left me a big inheritance completely changing my life. Now my devoted dog Fido and I are enjoying the pleasures of life.

Rogaciano Buendia
Guadalajara, Jalisco

Retablo by

I thank the Virgin of Zapopan. When I was in a dating house with a great company, suddenly my wife came in. I wished the earth would swallow me up and asked the Virgin to cover me up with her cloak. The Virgin made the miracle, and my wife didn’t see me. I dedicate this retablo for that.

Guadalajara, 1966
Santos Gutierrez

Delfina Hernandez dedicates this humble retablo to Saint Barbara in sign of gratitude for her master pays her very good for her discretion so she won’t tell her wife about his infidelity, when he brings home young girls taking advantage of his wife’s absence. With this extra-money, she could help more to her family which stays back in her village.

Guadalajara, Jalisco

I thank the Virgin of Zapopan for being a part of the folk dance group of my state. In this way, I’ve been able to travel around the world and to show a little bit the colors of my beloved Mexico. I dedicate this humble retablo for that.

Guadalupe Soriano
Guadalajara, Jalisco

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and , #

Rogaciano R., Panfilo N. and Silverio J. thank Saint Raymond Nonnatus for having finally made up. The girlfriend of one of them was spreading some rumors which led to a huge fight between them. They didn’t want to know each other. But then they found out it was only a lie. As a consequence, they realized they don’t have any interest in women anymore.

Guadalajara, Jalisco

Antonia Cruz thanks the Virgin of Guadalupe because after the attack on the twin towers in New York her husband safely returned to beautiful and beloved Mexico which he should never leave.

September 11, 2001
Antonia & Jasinto
Guadalajara, Jalisco

I, Ramon, thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because my family accepted my homosexuality.

21–II–90
Guadalajara

I thank God and Saint Francis of Assisi for the miracle of meeting the love of my life. I was 40 years old and thought that I was never going to marry. But then my old boyfriend came back from the United States and proposed to me. I thank God because we are very happy and have become the parents of a beautiful baby.

Juanita Lopez & Amador Ramirez
Guadalajara, Jalisco
December 12, 1986

Retablo by

I thank Jesus Christ because bastards who attacked and violently raped me didn’t kill me and didn’t infect me with AIDS. I thank the Lord Jesus Christ with this retablo.

Monica Torres Avila
Guadalajara, Jalisco, 1971

Retablo by

Saint Jude Thaddeus, thank you for the happiness you gave me—for The Cheeky. Every day on my way to the bakery, I saw a guy who stared at me. I always looked away and ignored him but one day I noticed that he was following me. Another day he slapped my ass. I felt embarrassed and became very nervous. That’s how I met Sotero and we became a couple.

Isaias Lugo
Guadalajara, Jalisco, 1960

On her third year in the boarding school, Dorita Martinez started to sleep-walking. She and her little sister Sandra prayed to the Virgin of Zapopan for curing Dorita because the nuns had told that if she wouldn’t stop sleep-walking they’d send her back home before the end of the school year. And Dorita was bored in her village. They thank the Virgin because she got cured.

Guadalajara, Jalisco
June 9, 1959

— ретабло с тегом «Гвадалахара»

Я не очень хороший футболист, но поскольку я сын владельца команды, то тренер всегда держит меня на скамейке запасных. И вот как-то раз во время очень важного матча нападающий моей команды получил травму и меня поставили играть. Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Хуану Боско в благодарность за то, что я забил победный гол, пусть это и случилось в необычной манере, поскольку я даже не увидел, как мяч ударил мне в лицо и отскочил в ворота.

Рохелио Сандоваль \ Гвадалахара, Халиско

В шкафу у Лауриты Риос стало появляться чудовище. Она сильно боялась его и молилась Деве Розария, чтобы чудище больше не возвращалось. Благодаря Пресвятой Деве папа девочки получил работу получше в Гвадалахаре, и они переехали. Лаурита благодарит Пресвятую Деву за то, что в столице чудовища не появлялись.

Жизнь моя была горькая и несчастливая. Я был без работы и не имел ни кола ни двора. Этим ретабло я благодарю Святого Хуана Боско за то, что однажды мой далекий дядюшка, которого я совсем не помнил, оставил мне большое наследство. Это полностью изменило моя положение, и теперь мы вместе с моим верным псом Фидо наслаждаемся жизнью.

Рогасиано Буэндия
Гвадалахара, Халиско

Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую. Когда я проводил время в прекрасной компании в доме свиданий, внезапно пришла моя жена. Я хотел сквозь землю провалиться и попросил Пресвятую Деву, чтобы она скрыла меня своей мантией. Она сотворила чудо, и моя жена меня не увидела. За это я посвящаю ретабло.

Гвадалахара, 1966
Сантос Гутьеррес

Дельфина Эрнандес посвящает это скромное ретабло Святой Барбаре в благодарность за то, что ее хозяин хорошо ей платит за то, что она хранит секрет и не рассказывает хозяйке о его неверности, когда ее муж, пользуясь ее отсутствием, водит молодых девок в дом. Этой прибавкой она помогает своей семье, оставшейся в деревне.

Гвадалахара, Халиско

Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что я выступаю в народном танцевальном коллективе моего родного штата. Таким образом мне удается путешествовать по всему миру и хоть чуть-чуть показывать краски моей любимой Мексики. В благодарность посвящаю это скромное ретабло.

Гуадалупе Сорьяно
Гвадалахара, Халиско

Рогасиано Р., Панфило Н. и Сильверио Х. благодарят Святого Рамона Нонната за то, что они помирились. Невеста одного из них распусхала слухи, из-за которых они повздорили и страшно перессорились, не желая более знать друг друга. Но потом они узнали, что слухи оказались грязным враньем, и, как следствие, обнаружили, что женщины им вовсе не интересны.

Гвадалахара, Халиско

Сеньора Антония Крус благодарит Деву Гваделупскую за то, что после атаки на башни-близнецы в Нью-Йорке ее муж вернулся живым в прекрасную и любимую Мексику, из которой ему не следовало бы уезжать.

11 сентября 2001
Антония и Хасинто
Гвадалахара, Халиско

Я, Рамон, благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что моя семья приняла мою гомосексуальность.

21—II—90
Гвадалахара

Благодарю Бога и Святого Франциска Ассизского за то чудо, что я повстречала любовь всей моей жизни. Мне исполнилось 40 лет, и я уже не думала, что когда-нибудь выйду замуж. Но из Соединенных Штатов вернулся мой старый жених и предложил мне руку и сердце. Благодарю Бога, так как мы очень счастливы и стали родителями прекрасного ребеночка.

Хуанита Лопес и Амадор Рамирес
Гвадалахара, Халиско, 12 декабря 1986

Благодарю Господа Иисуса Христа, что подонки, напавшие на меня и жестоко изнасиловавшие, не убили меня и не заразили спидом. В знак признательности посвящаю это ретабло.

Моника Торрес Авила
Гвадалахара, Халиско, 1971

Святой Иуда Фаддей, благодарю тебя за посланное мне счастье (за Нахала). Всякий раз по пути в пекарню я сталкивался с пареньком, который меня пристально разглядывал. Я отводил глаза и не обращал на него внимания, пока одним вечером не заметил, как он следует за мной, а в другой раз он даже шлёпнул меня по заду. Я терзался и сильно переживал. Так я познакомился с Сотеро, и теперь мы пара.

Исайас Луго
Гвадалахара, Халиско, 1960

На третий год обучения в интернате Дорита Мартинес стала ходить по ночам. Она и ее сестренка Сандра молились Пресвятой Деве Сапопанской, чтобы та исцелила Дориту, поскольку монахини сказали им, коли она не прекратит ходить по ночам, они отправят ее домой, не дожидаясь конца года. А Дорите очень не хотелось возвращаться в ее деревню. Они благодарят Пресвятую Деву, поскольку девочка исцелилась.

Гвадалахара, Халиско
9 июня 1959