Unknown artist #7

My son Ramon used to tease Saul Algumedo’s dogs. But one day the most angry dog started chasing him. The Holy Virgin of Zapopan protected the boy, so he climbed up a tree. The dog just tore his clothes. But Ramon doesn’t tease dogs ever since.

Puebla, 1970

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Forgive me, God, for lacking respect for my father. When I came home on drugs, I tried to beat him, but realized what I was doing and stopped myself. I understood my mistake and I swear to not take drugs anymore. I follow his advice, and he forgot me and helped me to get out of this terrible sin.

Paco, Barrio Norte, 10 May 2000

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for bringing my husband back from the USA. He used to work as a waiter in a restaurant in one of the twin towers in New York. When I saw this on TV, I prayed the Virgin for divine protection and help, and she heard my prayers.

Delfina Montes from here, Mexico City
September 29, 2001

Lord of Chalma, thank you because my wife with my kids have returned to me. She left me because I used to get drunk, to spend all days in the bar and to beat her and kids, when I came home. When I was all alone, as a dog, I realized I couldn’t live without them. I stopped drinking and begged her with tears to come back. There have been 10 years without me drinking.

Jeronimo Urbina
Tacubaya, Mexico City, 1990

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for curing my sheep. They were dying of a horrible disease which no remedy could cure. I prayed to your divine image, and now my sheep are healthy. I offer you this retablo as gratitude.

Juventino
Pueblo Nuevo, 1945

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for helping me to find a job of musician here in Garibaldi after being kicked out from a butcher shop where I had worked before. As I promised, every morning now I sing to you.

Tiodoro Aguilar from Xochimilco
December 12, 1970

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and , #

Holy Virgin of Guadalupe, I’m bringing you this retablo thanking for curing my husband Filemon Garcia of horrible diarrhea with high fever. It all began after one drunk night he had. My husband was dying and no remedy could help him. But I entrusted him to you, and he’s cured now.

Dominga
Chimalistac, Mexico City
December 12, 1930

I thank the Lord of the Miracles for I found my son Jacinto Torres. He was kidnapped by a drunk who treated him badly and forced him to beg money.

Maria Lopez
April 30, 1931 — Uruapan, Michoacan

Thank you, Our Father, for letting us get back to the convent. During our mission we were attacked by people who didn’t know any religion at all. However we hope you would forgive them.

Brother Jose and brother Benito
March 3, 1943 — Mexico City

Retablo by

Fernando Tapia was very sick and couldn’t go out to the toilet. So he was making his business in a chamber pot. Suddenly a scorpion appeared from the pot and sat on a Fernando’s butt-cheek. He entrusted himself to the Lord of the Miracles so that the scorpion wouldn’t sting him and deteriorate his condition even more. Since the Lord made that miracle, Fernando offers this retablo.

Mexico City, 1977

Retablo by

I ordered this retablo to Saint Jude Thaddeus as I had promised. It was my first time and I’ll never forget it. I was 17 and I knew how to use condom for protection from infection. I had a lot of fun with a prostitute. When I saw how voluptuous she was, I was aching to go in hotel with her. It happened in Sulivan, Mexico, on Friday, August 16, 2002.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

In Morelia, señora Justina Lopez Agua was getting out the tram, and her dress got caught so she fell under the wheels. She implored the Virgin of the Health and was saved. She dedicated this retablo in gratitude.

February 1890

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Saint Charbel, I dedicate this retablo to you for healing me from a terrible infection that I caught from a prostitute from a cabaret. I took her in a hotel and spent a night with her. I couldn’t find any remedy, and I was scared that I’d stay impotent for ever. I entrusted myself to you, and now I give thanks for your favor.

Mexico, 1980

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and #

Неизвестный художник № 7

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что вернула мне моего мужа из США, который работал официантом в ресторане в одной из нью-йорских башен-близнецов. Как только я увидела это по телевизору, я взмолилась о святом покровительстве и чтобы Дева защитила его, и она услышала мои мольбы.

Дельфина Монтес из Мехико
29 сентября 2001

Господь Чалмский, благодарю тебя за то, что моя жена с детьми вернулась ко мне. Она уходила, поскольку я постоянно напивался и не вылезал из бара, а если и приходил домой — колотил ее и детей. Когда я остался один, как собака, понял, что нет мне жизни без моей семьи. Я бросил пить и в слезах умолял их вернуться. И вот уже 10 лет, как я не пью.

Херонимо Урбина
Такубайя, Мехико, 1990

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за исцеление моих овечек. Они гибли от ужасной болезни, и никакое средство не спасало от нее. Я взмолился твоему святому образу, и теперь овечки здоровенькие. В благодарность посвящаю это ретабло.

Хувентино
Пуэбло-Нуэво, 1945

Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Гваделупскую за то, что она помогла мне найти здесь в Гарибальди работу музыканта, после того как меня выгнали из мясной лавки, где я работал прежде. Теперь, как и обещал, каждое утречко я воспеваю тебя.

Тиодоро Агилар из Сочимилько
12 декабря 1970

Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, приношу тебе это ретабло в благодарность за исцеление моего мужа Филимона Гарсии от ужасной диареи с сильным жаром. Она началась у него после одной попойки. Мой муж помирал, никакое средство не помогало ему. Но я вверилась тебе, и теперь он в порядке.

Доминга
Чималистак, Мехико — 12 декабря 1930

Благодарю Господа Чудес, я нашла своего сына Хасинто Торреса. Пьяница выкрал его у меня. Он плохо обращался с ним и заставлял просить милостыню.

Мария Лопес
30 апреля 1931
Уруапан, Мичоакан

Благодарим, Отец Наш, за то, что помог нам вернуться обратно в монастырь. Во время нашего пути на нас нападали люди, которые не знали никакой религии. Тем не менее мы надеемся, ты простишь им это.

Брат Хосе и брат Бенито
3 марта 1943, Мехико

Фернандо Тапия был тяжело болен и не мог даже выйти в туалет. Поэтому все свои дела он справлял в горшок. Но вдруг из горшка вылез скорпион и сел Фернандо на ягодицу. Тот взмолился Святому Господу Чудес, чтобы скорпион не ужалил его в зад и не усугубил его болезнь. Поскольку Господь сотворил чудо, то Фернандо посвящает ретабло.

Мехико, 1977

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Иуде Фаддею, как и обещал. Это был мой первый раз, который я никогда не забуду. В 17 лет я научился пользоваться презервативом, чтобы защититься от инфекций, и провёл прекрасное время с проституткой, которая была так хороша, что мне не терпелось поскорее отвести её в отель. Случилось всё на улице Салливан в Мехико, в пятницу, 16 августа 2002 г.

Сеньора Хустина Лопес Агуа, выходя из трамвая в Морелии, зацепилась платьем и упала прямо под колеса. Она взмолилась Пресвятой Деве Здоровья и спаслась. В знак признательности она посвятила это ретабло.

Февраль 1890

Святой Шарбель, посвящаю тебе это ретабло в благодарность за исцеление от страшного заболевания. Меня заразила проститутка из кабаре, с которой я провел ночь в отеле. Никакое средство мне не помогало, и я, испугавшись остаться импотентом, вверился тебе. Теперь я приношу тебе благодарность.

Мехико, 1980

Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Гваделупскую, что существует виагра и я могу наслаждаться жизнью и женщинами.

Хесус Медина
Мехико, 19 января 2000

Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Хукиланскую за виагру и за то, что прошёл мой болезненный недуг и я смог удовлетворить свою жену в постели. Прежде никакое средство мне не помогало, поэтому я вверился тебе и попробовал виагру. Теперь мы счастливы, наш брак спасен, и за это я посвящаю тебе ретабло.

Роберто — Койоакан, Мехико
5 декабря 1999.