— tagged with “Michoacan”

With this exvoto, for God’s sake, I testify for such a great favor. I was very much worried about my wife who was a sleepwalker. She got up at night in her sleep and went out to the street putting herself in danger. When I entrusted her to the Virgin of Guadalupe, she quit sleepwalking. Otherwise I couldn’t sleep in peace because I was constantly watching her.

Señor Carlos Gomez, October 5, 1981, Quiroga, Michoacan, Mexico

Susana Monroy, a bearded lady, wishes to wholeheartedly thank the Lord of Araro because she’s been performing in the Huandacareo circus for more over 20 years. Her children, all famous clowns and acrobats, were born here. She met her love here as well—the Taquito clown with whom she visited distant places of the Republic and Central America.

Huandacareo, Michoacan, 1967

Retablo by

More than one year ago, I was diagnosed with depression. It went terrible for me. Now I’m ready to give up pills and start feeling again. Thank you, Brown-skin girl.

Zamora, Michoacan, 2021

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because I’ve managed to get into the US without being seen by the immigration police. I ask to find a good job to send money to my family.

Donato Gutierrez
Michoacan, Mexico, 1975

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

December 31, 1968

When I, full of hope of getting into the United States, crossed the Rio Bravo, I was caught by the migration police. He threatened me with death, pointing his gun in my mouth. I saw that there was no salvation for me, and I implored the Holy Virgin of Guadalupe. I realized what it is to be in a foreign land. I was searched, they took the little i got on me, then they threw me back to the river. I came back, relaying on my luck. I promised to bring you this retablo when I came back to my land. Now I do what I promised because you stayed with me.

Tomas Huerta — Zitacuaro, Michoacan

In Quiroga, Michoacan, October 23, 1947, the boy Jaime Sanchez was playing at the kitchen and stabbed his own hand with a knife. His parents thank Saint Paschal for the boy could recover, after having a great shock. They offer the present retablo.

The Sanchez family

In the year 1928, the month of October, the date 14th, Micaela Estrada and her husband Donato Tejedor, with a great affliction and a very big fear, turned to the Virgin of Guadalupe to look after her pregnant belly as she had lost first three pregnancies. Thanks for relieving her pain.

Morelia, 1930

Retablo by

Morelia, Michoacan, 1953. When my husband got retired, he started to cook in order to occupy himself. He cooked so terribly, that we all had a stomach-ache. I was scared that he’d poison all of us. Thanks to Blessed Saint Paschal, my husband finally got bored with cooking and dedicated himself to gardening. I offer this retablo.

I, Anacleto Coloyo Meras, thank Saint Daniel for he got me out of gigolo and I’ve become a lion tamer.

Michoacan, Mexico, 1990

Retablo by

I persuaded my girlfriend Juanita to make love right in the field where no one could see us. She was so excited she accidentally kicked me in my balls with her knee. I give infinite thanks to the Holy Child of Atocha for the blow wasn’t very serious as I was afraid not being able to have children.

Arnulfo Martinez ~ Zamora, Michoacan

Retablo by

Rosaura Morales pays with this retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe because when I converted into mermaid I didn’t hurt my family, and I pay for that with this.

Michoacan, 1917

It was very hard for me to live in the country because I felt that I was different but my family and friends didn’t understand me. I thank Saint Martha for giving me courage to go to the city and there I could develop my personality. Now I’m a successful stylist, and I’m proud of my sexual preferences.

Inocencio Pascual ~ Michoacan, Mexico

Panfilo Hurtado was in the field when a very horrible monster appeared to him and wanted to abduct him. But he prayed the Holy Heart and was saved.

Michoacan, 1936

— tagged with and and #

— ретабло с тегом «Мичоакан»

Бородатая женщина Сусана Монрой желает от всего сердца отблагодарить Господа Арарского за то, что вот уже более 20 лет она выступает в цирке Уандакарео. Здесь родились ее дети — все известные клоуны и акробаты. Также она повстречала тут свою любовь — клоуна Такито, вместе с которым она побывала в самых отдаленных уголках республики и Центральной Америки.

Уандакарео, Мичоакан, 1967

Больше года назад у меня диагностировали депрессию. Я ужасно перенесла ее. Теперь я готова отказаться от таблеток и снова обрести чувства. Спасибо, Смугляночка.

Самора, Мичоакан, 2021

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что я смог пробраться в США и миграционная полиция меня не заметила. Я прошу найти хорошую работу, чтобы отсылать моей семье.

Донато Гутьеррес
Мичоакан, Мексика, 1975

31 декабря 1968

Полный надежд добраться до Соединенных Штатов, я пересек Рио-Браво, но меня тут же поймал миграционный офицер и стал угрожать мне смертью, наставив ружье мне в рот. Увидев, что мне нет спасения, я взмолился Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской. Я понял, что значит находиться на чужбине. Меня обыскали, забрали то немногое, что у меня было, и выкинули обратно в реку. Я вернулся домой, доверившись своей судьбе. Я обещал принести тебе это ретабло, когда вернусь домой, и теперь исполняю обещанное, поскольку ты была со мной.

Томас Уэрта — Ситакуаро, Мичоакан

23 октября 1947 г., в Кироге, Мичоакан, мальчик Хайме Санчес играл на кухне и засадил себе нож в руку. Его родители горячо благодарят Святого Паскуальчика за то, что после страшного испуга мальчик смог поправиться. Они посвящают это ретабло.

Семья Санчес

В 1928 году, в октябре месяце, 14-го числа, Микаэла Эстрада и ее муж Донато Техедор обратились к Деве Гваделупской с великим горем и огромным ужасом, чтобы она уберегла ее беременное чрево, так как она потеряла три первых плода. Спасибо за облегчение ее боли.

Морелия, 1930

Морелия, Мичоакан, 1953. Когда мой муж вышел на пенсию, то чтобы увлечь себя чем-нибудь, принялся готовить. И готовил он так ужасно, что у нас у всех болели животы. Я боялась, что он нас перетравит. Благодаря Благословенному Святому Паскуалю моему мужу наконец наскучило готовить, и теперь он увлёкся работами в саду. Посвящаю это ретабло.

Я, Анаклето Колойо Мерас, благодарю Святого Даниила за то, что он вытащил меня из жизни жиголо и я стал укротителем львов.

Мичоакан, Мексика, 1990

Я уломал свою девчонку Хуаниту заняться любовью прямо в поле, где никто не мог нас увидеть. Она так возбудилась, что нечаянно двинула мне коленкой по яйцам. Я бесконечно благодарен Святому Младенцу с Аточи за то, что удар оказался не очень серьезным, ведь я жутко перепугался, что не смогу иметь детей.

Арнульфо Мартинес ~ Самора, Мичоакан

Росаура Моралес платит этим ретабло Деве Гваделупской за то, что, когда я превратилась в сирену, я не причинила вреда своей семье, за что я плачу этим.

Мичоакан, 1917

Мне было очень тяжело жить в деревне, потому что я чувствовал, что я другой, а семья и друзья меня не понимают. Благодарю Святую Марту, которая дала мне мужества отправиться в город, где я смог развиться как личность. Теперь я превосходный стилист и горжусь своими сексуальными предпочтениями.

Иносенсио Паскуаль ~ Мичоакан, Мексика

Страшное чудище явилось Панфило Уртадо в поле и хотело утащить его с собой. Но он взмолился Святому Сердцу и спасся.

Мичоакан, 1936

Я была в отчаянии, поскольку из-за того, что я не умела готовить, блюда у меня выходили отвратными. Я попросила помощи у Святого Паскуальчика Байлона. Теперь мой муж очень доволен моей стряпней. Он даже накупил мне новых кастрюль и сковородок. Еда у меня выходит очень вкусная, за что я благодарю.

Хосефина Лопес
Мичоакан, 1942