— tagged with “lions”

I’m a big fan of selfies. The other day, I went to the zoo and thought it’d be cool to make a selfie with a lion and upload it on Facebook without realizing how dangerous it could be to have a lion so close. I bring this retablo to Saint Anthony the Great because thank to my phone’s flash the giant cat got scared and didn’t do anything to me. I promise to be more responsible while making photos.

Alex Ríos
Monterrey, Nuevo León

Retablo by

The lion tamer Pedro Garcia brings this retablo to Saint John Bosco thanking him for his lioness gave birth to two cubs without problems and complications.

Retablo by

The lion escaped from his cage and was about to attack the beautiful Carinina but the Virgin gave me courage and I put him back in the cage treating him with my shoe. I thank the Virgin because now I feel brave.

Retablo by

I thank the Virgin, for the lion didn’t eat my piglet.

Luisa

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

April 30, 1930, we were performing in Villahermosa, Tabasco. During the lion taming act the tamer received a strong scratch and even his clothes were torn and his skin was cut. The furious animals was about to attack him again and we thought it should kill the tamer. But suddenly the Holy Virgin made a miracle and saved his life.

The Maravilla circus
Matias Lopez Espinosa
Villita de Guadalupe, October 30, 1932

Gregorio Rosas thanks the Virgin of Guadalupe for saving him. I was taming a lion in the circus and he got angry and attacked me. But you, Holy Virgin, protected and saved me.

Mexico City — October 25, 1977

I was going to be a trapeze artist, following our family tradition. But I wasn’t very good. Then one day I found out that I charm the fierce animals with my voice sound. So I began to work with big cats. They act as little kittens when I talk with them with sweetness, and they do everything I say. My act with the fierce animals has had a great success, and my animals love me. I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for this gift.

Andres Ortega brings this retablo to Saint Thomas thanking him for becoming a lion tamer in the “Doris” circus and for his performances are going very well.

The tamer Teofilo Rosales thanks Saint Catherine the Martyr because she helped him to tame lions and other wild animals in the circus. They never attack him. On the contrary, he cares about them and they reciprocate.

The Internacional Circus
Matamoros, Tamaulipas, 1966

Diana Molina was performing her act on trapeze and lost the rhythm during a throw in the air. She was about to fall on the lions who were down and were very grumpy. She prayed the Virgin of Guadalupe and, in a mysterious way, a trapeze came right to her hands, and she grabbed it.

Retablo by

The erotic model Paty D. was at a photo session in Africa when they were attacked by a lioness. She brings this retablo thanking Saint Francis because they were saved in time by some hunters.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

April 30, 1980, a frightened lion jumped on me. In this danger, I implored the Virgin of Guadalupe. I managed to tame him and the lion didn’t do me any harm. It all ended well.

Seferino — It happened in the “Atayde” circus in Mexico

Retablo by

Antonio Pantoja gives thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe for saving him from death when a lion attacked him during his lion taming act in the circus. He brings this retablo in gratitude.

January 6, 1985

— ретабло с тегом «львы»

Я большой любитель селфи. И вот как-то я пошел в зоопарк и решил, что было бы круто сделать селфи со львом для фейсбука, не подумав, как опасно находиться в такой близости ото льва. Приношу это ретабло Святому Антонию Великому, поскольку благодаря вспышке сотового огромная кошка испугалась и ничего мне не сделала. Обещаю впредь быть благоразумнее, когда фотографируюсь.

Алекс Риос
Монтеррей, Нуэво-Леон

Укротитель львов Педро Гарсия посвящает это ретабло Святому Хуану Боско в благодарность за то, что у его львицы родилось два львенка и все обошлось без проблем и осложнений.

Лев сбежал из клетки и собирался напасть на прекрасную Каринину, но Пресвятая Дева придала мне мужества, и я загнал его обратно в клетку, угрожая ботинком. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву, поскольку теперь я чувствую себя храбрецом.

Слава Пресвятой, что лев не сожрал моего поросеночка.

Луиса

30 апреля 1930 г. мы выступали в Вильяэрмосе в штате Табаско. Во время номера со львами укротитель получил сильный удар лапой, так что ему разодрало одежду и содрало кожу. Разъяренный зверь собирался напасть снова, и мы уже решили, что он убьет укротителя. Но внезапно Пресвятая Дева сотворила чудо и спасла его жизнь.

Цирк «Маравилья»
Матиас Лопес Эспиноса
Виллита де Гуадалупе, 30 октября 1932

Грегорио Росас благодарит Деву Гваделупскую за спасение. Я укрощал льва в цирке, и тот разозлился и напал на меня. И ты, Пресвятая Дева, защитила меня и спасла.

Мехико, 25 октября 1977

Я собиралась последовать семейной традиции и стать акробаткой. Я оказалась никудышной акробаткой, но зато однажды обнаружила, что очаровываю хищников своим голосом. Тогда я стала работать с большими кошками. Когда я начинаю ласково говорить с ними, они ведут себя, как котята, и делают все, что я попрошу. Мой номер с хищниками имел большой успех. Животные любят меня, и я благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за этот дар.

Андрес Ортега преподносит это ретабло в благодарность Святому Фоме за то, что он помог ему стать укротителем львов в цирке «Дорис», и за то, что его выступления проходят очень удачно.

Укротитель Теофило Розалес благодарит Святую мученицу Каталину (Екатерину) за то, что она помогает ему укрощать львов и прочих диких зверей. Они никогда на него не нападали. Даже наоборот: он относится к ним с лаской, и животные отвечают ему тем же.

Цирк «Интернасиональ»
Матаморос, Тамаулипас, 1966

Диана Молина выполняла свой номер на трапециях и во время рывка в воздух сбилась с ритма. Она стала падать на львов, которые сидели внизу и были весьма разъярены. Она взмолилась Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской, и каким-то загадочным образом трапеция пришла ей прямо в руки, и она схватилась за нее.

Эротическая модель Пати Д. была на съемках в Африке, когда внезапно на них напала львица. Она преподносит это ретабло в благодарность Святому Франциску, поскольку охотники вовремя их спасли.

30 апреля 1980 года испугавшийся лев набросился на меня. В этот опасный миг я взмолился Деве Гваделупской, и мне удалось укротить зверя так, что он не причинил мне никакого вреда. Всё обошлось.

Сеферино — Случилось в цирке «Атайде» в Мехико.

Укротитель львов Антонио Пантоха благодарит Деву Гваделупскую за спасение от гибели, когда во время номера в цирке на него набросился лев. Он преподносит это ретабло в благодарность.

6 января 1986