Saint Martin the Cavalryman

San Martín Caballero de Tours

The other day, I was working at the construction site, and a very beautiful girl was passing by. I couldn’t resist and made some flirtatious compliments to her. My bad luck, I didn’t notice the cement dropping out of my cart and felling right on the engineer. I thank Saint Martin the Cavalryman because the engineer turned out to be a good man. He didn’t kick me out and saw the whole situation with humor. I promise to not flirt in working hours.

Nabor Rodriguez \ Puebla

Retablo by

Carmelo Coyotzi brings this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman thanking him for the success of his bar.

Tlaxcala, 1920

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

Bernabe Perez brings this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman thanking him because he’s doing well in his chicharrones pan shop.

Retablo by

— tagged with and #

Candido Gomez dedicates the present retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman for helping me to find a better job. He used to work as a mascot for pizzeria wearing the pizza costume which was very hot, so he fainted a lot, and, beside that, the dogs were constantly barking at him. Now he has a much quieter job.

Mexico City, 1996

Retablo by

The bar “El Atorón” was at the point of bankruptcy. Eve flies didn’t visit it. But the lady-owner prayed to Saint Martin, and things went better again. She thanks the saint with this retablo for her place prosperity.

Gudelia Coyotzi
Cholula, 1939

Retablo by

— tagged with and , and #

I dedicate this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman as a gratitude because thanks to my job as an organ-grinder I could support my children and it’s a very good feeling to make the people around feel happy with my music which follows me everywhere.

Gumersindo Lopez, Mexico City

Catalina Robledo thanks Saint Martin the Cavalryman with this retablo because her chalupas shop has been giving good profit and she’s even looking workers for help.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Rogelio Narvaez worked at a musical instruments store. He thanks Saint Martin the Cavalryman for he sold three grand pianos in one day and got a very nice commission for it.

Dionisio Cuautle dedicates this humble retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman who is helping him every day when he sells the birds at the town market. In this was he keeps supporting his family.

Tlatlauquitepec, Puebla

I thank Saint Martin the Cavalryman for helping me out with my job. Thanks to my job as a dressmaker I could support my daughter who is about to finish her secretary studies. I dedicate this humble retablo for that.

Gregoria Cuautle
Puebla de los Angeles

Joaquin S. thanks Saint Martin the Cavalryman for the success he had with his bicycles shop where he sells all brands and models.

Retablo by

I offer this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman thanking him for my son Evaristo finally straightened his life up and found a job. He was already 35 years old, yet he did nothing but lay in the bed and listen his music. I couldn’t support him any longer.

Petra Carranza
Pachuca, Hidalgo

With all our hearts, we thank Saint Martin the Cavalryman for the miracle of opening our own bakery. We couldn’t open it for a while due to lack of money. But now we have many clients and orders, and we dedicate this humble retablo for that.

Anselmo y Meliton Hernandez
Apizaco, Tlaxcala

Retablo by

Святой Мартин Всадник

San Martín Caballero de Tours

Работал я тут на стройке, а мимо проходила ну очень красивая девица. Я прямо не мог удержаться и стал заигрывать с ней. Однако, к моему несчастью, я не заметил, как цемент из моей тележки вылился прямо на инженера. Благодарю Святого Мартина Всадника за то, что инженер оказался хорошим человеком и не уволил меня, а посмотрел на случившееся с юмором. Я же обещаю больше не флиртовать в рабочее время.

Набор Родригес \ Пуэбла

Кармело Койотци посвящает это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за процветание своего кабака.

Тласкала, 1920

Бернабе Перес посвящает это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за то, что дела в его лавке по изготовлению медных кастрюль для чичаррона идут превосходно.

Кандидо Гомес посвящает это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику за то, что тот помог ему найти работу получше. До этого Кандидо работал в костюме пиццы, рекламируя пиццерию. В костюме было ужасно душно, он задыхался внутри, и еще собаки постоянно гавкали на него. Но теперь у него работа поспокойнее.

Мехико, 1996

В 1937 г. таверна «El Atorón» находилась на грани разорения. Даже мухи туда уже не залетали. Но хозяйка взмолилась Святому Мартинушке, и дела снова пошли в гору. В благодарность за процветание своего заведения она благодарит святого этим ретабло.

Гуделия Койотци
Чолула, 1939

Посвящаю это скромное ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за то, что работая шарманщиком, я зарабатываю на пропитание моих детей. К тому же мне приятно, что своей музыкой, которая всегда следует со мной, я скрашиваю день всем вокруг.

Гумерсиндо Лопес
Мехико

Сеньора Каталина Робледо благодарит этим ретабло Святого Мартина Всадника, поскольку ее заведение по продаже чалупас оказалось очень прибыльным, так что теперь она даже ищет помощников.

Рохелио Нарваес работал в магазине музыкальных инструментов. Он благодарит Святого Мартина всадника этим ретабло, поскольку в один день он умудрился продать три рояля, получив большие комиссионные.

Дионисио Куаутле посвящает это скромное ретабло Святому Мартинушке Всаднику, который помогает ему каждый день, когда он продает птиц на городском рынке. Таким образом он содержит свою семью.

Тлатлаукитепек, Пуэбла

Благодарю Святого Мартина Всадника за то, что помог мне с работой. Благодаря моей работе портнихой я смогла поддерживать мою дочь, которая оканчивает обучение на секретаря. За что я посвящаю это скромное ретабло.

Григория Куаутле
Пуэбла де лос Анхелес

Хоакин С. благодарит Святого Мартина Всадника за успех его магазина, в котором он продает велосипеды всех марок и моделей.

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за то, что мой сын Эваристо наконец-то встал на верный путь и нашел себе работу. Ему уже было 35 лет, а он только и знал, что лодырничать, валяться на кровати да слушать свою музыку. Я уже больше не могла его содержать.

Петра Карранса
Пачука, Идальго

От всего сердца благодарим Святого Мартина Всадника за то чудо, что мы наконец открыли нашу булочную. Нам долго не хватало денег, чтобы открыть ее, но теперь у нас много заказов и покупателей. За это посвящаем скромное ретабло.

Ансельмо и Мелитон Эрнандес
Аписако, Тласкала