— tagged with “pulque”

Thank you, Virgin of Guadalupe for saving me from my old lady Petronila’s machete, when she furiously attacked me, because I hadn’t been at home for four days, drinking pulque with my buddy El Chipujas. My old lady came and started swinging machete.

Nopaltepec
October 10, 1930

There was a bad plague hitting my agaves, and many of my plants were dying. I was so distressed I implored Saint Isidor Labourer to save my plants. Few days later all my agaves were cured. Now they give a lot of pulque. I give thanks for such a great miracle.

Higinio Valencia, Jalisco, 1952

Retablo by

I used to drink pulque with my buddy every day, but one night that witch my mother-in-law and my wife kicked me off the bar with their brooms. I thank Saint Raymond for I didn’t become an idiot after so many blows since that old nag was absolutely furious and was hitting me with all her might. I promise to stop drinking because it’s better to not mess with these women.

Eulogio Coronel \ Teziutlan, Puebla

Arturo Saldivar used to drink three liters of cherry pulque every day until he was diagnosed with diabetes. Arturo entrusted himself to Saint James and now thanks him with great devotion because the saint gave him the strength to resist the temptation of getting drunk.

I offer this retablo to the Zacacalco Crucifix for helping me with the agaves. After selling my pulque I could buy this mule that helps me to deliver more orders in and out of the town. There are a lot of orders now. Bless my work as a pulque gatherer, give me strength and health.

Eligio Chavez
San Cristobal Zacacalco, Hidalgo
May 17, 1960

Retablo by

I dedicate this retablo to the always Holy Virgin of Guadalupe. The Night of the Dead, I was glad I’d been able to collect some money to put up my altar with lot of offerings, including even mole and pulque. At the last moment, a sparkle fell on me and I was taken by fire immediately, but thanks to the Virgin’s intervention nothing happened.

Eulalia Garcia

Anselmo Barrientos was resting after the work in the field. He was drinking pulque when he saw the bony Death. Anselmo wasn’t a young man, but still he had no desire to die yet. He prayed the Lord of Blue Eye. The Lord scared the Death away, and it left Anselmo in peace.

Acasio Lopez fervently thanks Saint Isidor the Laborer with this retablo for being blessed with these noble lands that give him good agaves from which he makes the best pulque in the region and even sells it in other states.

Tlacolula, Oaxaca

Retablo by

Jorge Ramirez offers this retablo to Saint Jude Thaddeus thanking him for the success he had with his bar. He sells pulque of all flavors and it’s popular with the young people.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

My agaves were possessed by maguey demons. They didn’t let me gather the maguey sap. So I prayed to the Holy Virgin, and she turned them into stones. Now the stones demons are very popular among the tourists. They come to see them, and I sell pulque to the tourists.

— ретабло с тегом «пульке»

Каждый день я ходил пить пульке с товарищем. Но однажды вечером эта ведьма моя теща и моя жена выгнали меня метлами из кабака. Благодарю Святого Рамончика за то, что я не стал идиотом после стольких ударов, ведь старуха просто была просто в ярости и лупила что есть мочи. Я обещаю бросить пить, потому что с этими бабами лучше не связываться.

Эулохио Коронель \ Тесьютлан, Пуэбла

Артуро Сальдивар каждый день выпивал по три литра вишневого пульке, но однажды ему диагностировали диабет. Артуро вверился Святому Якову и теперь с огромной признательностью благодарит его за то, что святой дал ему сил устоять перед соблазном напиваться.

Сакакалькскому распятию посвящаю я это ретабло за помощь мне с агавами. Я продал пульке и купил на вырученные деньги этого мула, который помогает мне доставлять больше заказов внутри и за пределами моего городка. Заказов теперь стало больше. Благослови мой труд собирателя агав, пошли мне сил и здоровья.

Элихио Чавес
Сан-Кристобаль-Сакакалько, Идальго
17 мая 1960

Посвящаю это ретабло Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской. В Ночь Мертвых я была очень довольна тем, что мне хватило деньжат, чтобы устроить красивый алтарь с богатыми приношениями — даже с моле и пульке. В самый последний момент на меня попала искорка, и я вся вспыхнула, но благодаря вмешательству Девы все обошлось.

Эулалия Гарсия

Ансельмо Баррьентос отдыхал после полевых работ, попивая пульке, когда вдруг увидел костлявую смерть. Хоть и был Ансельмо уже не молод, но помирать совсем не хотел. Он взмолился Господу Голубоглазому. Господь спугнул смерть, и та оставила Ансельмо в покое.

Акасио Лопес горячо благодарит Святого Исидора Труженика этим ретабло за то, что тот благословил его достойными землями, дающие ему прекрасные агавы, из которых он получает лучшее пульке в округе, что даже продает его в другие штаты.

Тлаколула, Оахака

Хорхе Рамирес посвящает это ретабло Святому Иуде Фаддею в благодарность за успех его заведения, в котором он продает пульке всех вкусов, что очень популярно среди молодежи.

Агавовые демоны овладели моими агавами и не давали мне собирать сок растений. Я взмолился Пресвятой Деве, и она обратила их в камни. Теперь каменные демоны стали очень популярными среди туристов. Они приезжают посмотреть на них, а я продаю им пульке.