— tagged with “chase”

When I was five, a turkey ran after me in the yard. It bit me and chased me up to a tree. It was gobbling loudly and shaking its horrid thing. I prayed my Guardian Angel, and my mommy saved me from this monster.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

We were taking our chickens to the town to sell them, but on our way we were chased by a bull escaped from the corral. Only by the Virgin’s miracle he didn’t gore us, because the chicken ran away and one of them flew right to the bull’s snout, it grabbed him so the bull couldn’t see anything, and we ran to a house where they let us stay until they caught the bull. Then we picked up our chicken and sold them for a good price.

— tagged with and , , , , #

Artemio Garcia and his buddy were coming back from the sowing when suddenly an angry bull jumped out on them and took up a tremendous chase after them. The buddy even forgot about his bad leg. He thanks Saint Charbel for this damned bull didn’t get them.

Puebla, 1917

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

1914, coming to Puebla, the federals were close on my heels. I entrusted myself to Saint Martin the Cavalryman and could escape safely so they didn’t catch me. I thank for this great favor.

Toribio Alvarado

Retablo by

Irena and Rosa went to the market together. Suddenly an enormous bull came from an alley. He was probably escaped from its corral. He was in bad humor and began to chase the woman. They entrusted themselves to Saint Quiteria for they didn’t want to die being gored. The bull started to snort, and they got more scared. Rosa threw out her basket with vegetables, and the bull stopped chasing them and began to eat spinach and carrots. Irena and Rosa thank for they were saved.

— tagged with and , , #

An angry bull ran after Joaquin and Lara Ramirez. It escaped from the San Pedro ranch. The children prayed the Virgin of Zapopan, and the animal stopped chasing them and began to eat plants from the fence. Señora Ramirez offers this retablo on behalf of her children.

July 7, 1941

— tagged with and , , , #

A fighting bull escaped from his corral and ran into us. The animal began to chase us, and my son Simon who is very clumsy and stumbles over his own shadow fell down. I implored Saint Quiteria so she would save him. And when the animal was about to attack my son, a cowboy came and lassoed the bull. My poor son was saved from being gored.

— tagged with and , , , #

A bull started chasing Ramon Mendoza. Running away, Ramon climbed up a tree, but the bull hit the tree so hard the whole tree shook. Ramon thanks the Virgin of San Juan for the tree was an apple-tree so he could eat apples all that time while the bull was waiting for him down. The bull stayed all day, and only when the dark came some workers helped Ramon. He thanks for that because his legs and arms got numb and he couldn’t stay any longer at the tree.

August 15, 1972

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

I was taking my children to the school. We decided to use a short-way—through the Estrella rancho. Suddenly a giant bull started chasing us. My children jumped over the fence, and I, being very fat, couldn’t do it. I prayed to the Virgin of San Juan and by pure miracle I felt light as a feather. I jumped on the fence at ease although it was painful to fell over the fence because all my weight came back to me right away. Nevertheless, I was saved from the bull, and I’m thanking the Virgin.

— tagged with and , , , , #

Because of land disputes, the Gomez brothers set a trap for me. They waited in ambush to kill me. But I entrusted myself to the Virgin of Zapopan, and she made so I noticed them and could escape. The Virgin also gave my horse an extra-speed so the brothers Gomez couldn’t catch me.

— tagged with and , , , , #

The Carrion sisters were passing by the market when suddenly they saw an enormous bull which had escaped from the Las Golodrinas ranch. The animal was furious and began chasing the sisters. They didn’t want to die from the bull’s horns so they prayed to Saint Quiteria. That moment, some spinach fell of the basket of one sister, and the bull stopped to eat it. The sisters managed to escape and arrive to their house safe and sound. They offer this retablo for her protection in need.

— tagged with and , , #

Serafin and Amalia Gomez were coming back from the town and decided to take a shortcut through the Maravillas ranch. There they found themselves in a danger when an enormous coal black bull began shaking them. They implored the Virgin of Zapopan, and the bull miraculously stooped running after them distracted by some rabbits he ran into. So they could escape.

— tagged with and , , , #

Miguel Martinez went through the forest at the dusk. Suddenly he ran into a witch sitting on her broom. He made his horse to run as fast as the wind. He managed to escape from the witch. He thanks the Blessed Sacrament for she didn’t curse him nor did she put an evil eye on him.

— ретабло с тегом «погоня»

Когда была я пятилетним ребенком, во дворе за мной погнался индюк, укусил и загнал на дерево. При этом громко блябляблякал и тряс своим ужасом. Я взмолилась Ангелу-Хранителю, и моя матушка спасла меня от этого чудовища.

Мы несли наших кур в город, чтобы продать, но по пути за нами погнался бык, сбежавший из загона. Лишь чудом Пресвятой он не забодал нас, поскольку куры разбежались и одна из них влетела быку в морду, вцепилась в него, так что он ничего не мог разглядеть, а мы добежали до домика, в котором нам разрешили переждать, пока быка не отловили. Затем мы собрали кур и продали их по хорошей цене.

Артемио Гарсия с товарищем возвращались с посевной, как вдруг на них выпрыгнул злой бык и устроил за ними настоящую погоню. Товарищ даже позабыл, что у него больная нога. Он благодарит Святого Шарбеля за то, что проклятый бык их не догнал.

Пуэбла, 1917

В 1914 г., подъезжая к Пуэбле, федералы наступали мне на пятки. Тогда я вверился Святому Мартину Всаднику и смог удрать, так что они меня не поймали. Благодарю за эту великую милость.

Торибио Альварадо

Ирена и Роса отправились вдвоем на рынок. Внезапно из переулка на них выбежал здоровенный бык, сбежавший из загона. Он был в дурном настроении и погнался за женщинами. Они вверились Святой Квитерии, потому что не хотели погибнуть от бычьих рогов. Бык же начал фыркать, и они еще больше перепугались. Роса бросила корзинку с овощами, и тут бык перестал преследовать их и принялся уплетать шпинат и морковку. Ирена и Роса благодарят за свое спасение.

Злой бык погнался за Хоакином и Ларой Рамирес. Он сбежал с ранчо Сан-Педро. Дети взмолились Пресвятой Деве Сапопанской, и животное тотчас бросило преследовать их и стало подъедать растения на заборе. Сеньора Рамирес посвящает это ретабло от имени своих детей.

7 июля 1941

На нашем пути мы повстречали боевого быка, который сбежал из загона. Он погнался за нами, и мой неуклюжий сын Симон, который даже о свою тень спотыкается, упал. Я взмолилась Святой Квитерии, чтобы она спасла его. И когда зверь почти настиг его, появился ковбой и заарканил быка. Мой бедный сыночек был спасен от рогов.

За Рамоном Мендосой погнался бык. Убегая, Рамон залез на дерево, но бык так сильно ударил по стволу, что все дерево сотряслось. Рамон благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что дерево оказалось яблоней и он питался яблоками все время, пока бык стерег его внизу. Бык не уходил весь день, и лишь с наступлением темноты какие-то рабочие помогли Рамону. Он благодарен за это, так как его руки и ноги затекли и он уже больше не мог держаться на дереве.

15 августа 1972

Я вела своих детей в школу. Когда мы решили срезать путь через ранчо Эстрейа, огромный бык погнался за нами. Мои дети быстро перепрыгнули через забор, а я, поскольку была слишком толстая, никак не могла. Я взмолилась Деве Сан-Хуанской и каким-то чудесным образом, как пушинка, с легкостью перемахнула через забор. Несмотря на то что падение по ту сторону и оказалось немножко болезненным — ведь мой вес тотчас же вернулся ко мне, — мне удалось спастись от бычьих рогов. Благодарю Пресвятую.

Из-за земельных споров братья Гомес устроили мне ловушку. Они ждали в засаде, чтобы убить меня. Я вверился Деве Сапопанской, и она помогла мне обнаружить засаду и ускакать от них. Пресвятая Дева также придала моему коню скорости, и братья Гомес не нагнали меня.

Сестры Каррион проходили мимо рынка, как вдруг появился огромный бык, сбежавший с ранчо Лас-Голондринас. Животное было разъярено и пустилось вдогонку за сестрами. Они же, не горя желанием погибнуть от бычьих рогов, взмолились Святой Китерии. В этот миг из корзинки одной из сестер выпал шпинат, и бык остановился съесть его. Сестры смогли убежать и добраться до дома целыми и невредимыми. Они посвящают святой это ретабло за её покровительство в столь необходимый момент.

Серафин и Амалия Гомес шли из города и решили срезать путь через ранчо Маравильяс. Но они оказались в опасности, когда огромный угольно-черный бык погнался за ними. Они взмолились Деве Сапопанской, и чудом зверь бросил погоню, отвлекшись на кроликов, оказавшихся на его пути. Так они смогли убежать.

Смеркалось. Мигель Мартинес ехал через лес, и ему повстречалась ведьма на метле, которая погналась за ним. Он заставил своего коня нестись со скоростью ветра и смог удрать от ведьмы. Он благодарит Святые Дары за то, что ведьма его не прокляла и не сглазила.