— tagged with “flowers”

We infinitely thank Saint Isidor Labourer for granting us a miracle of a good crop of marigold flowers, so we could sell them outside the cemeteries at this period of the Day of the Dead.

Cleotilde and Nicolasa Castillo
Atlixco, Puebla, 1955

Our family had financial problems but the Virgin of the Solitude inspired me to sell the flowers from my garden at the market. Now I’m happy because I cover our expenses by growing and selling flowers which I enjoy greatly.

— tagged with and , , #

Holy Mother Virgin of Guadalupe, may you be blessed for curing my rheumatism so I can go back to work with my flowers here in Xochimilco. When no remedy would help me I prayed to you, and you cured me.

Merejildo, local of this town
December 12, 1990

Retablo by

On a picnic, my daughter followed some butterflies and went far away from us. We were playing and didn’t notice that she wasn’t there. She didn’t know how to return and got very scared. Instead of going back she walked far away. Then she asked the Holy Spirit for help. That moment, a light breeze came up and the seeds of the dandelion that she was holding in her hand flew away. She followed them, and they brought her to where we were searching her.

Señora Maria offers these flowers and this retablo to the Lord of Chalma because her husband Antonio passed through a dangerous head surgery. He was between life and death, and now they thank for this favor.

January 25, 2000

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

My sister and I bring flowers to our grandmother’s grave on her birthdays. This time we went at the cemetery at night, and got there with the moonlight. We met some skeletons over there. They left their graves to get drunk. They met us with great joy and wanted to dance with us. We were scared and prayed the Virgin of Zapopan. She helped us to escape from the dead so they didn’t chase us. We thank for that.

When my husband got very ill and I didn’t know where to find money to take him to the hospital, the Virgin of Guadalupe gave me the inspiration to cut all the flowers in my garden and go sell them at the tianguis market. I sold them all and look my Juan to the doctor, and he was cured promptly.

Every time I went to sell the flowers to the town square, a very happy young man used to pass by and salute me. I liked him a lot. I dedicate this retablo to Saint Anthony because that man finally decided to ask me to court me and now we are couple—my Aurelio and I.

Remedios Pascual, Zacatecas

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

With this humble retablo, my wife Remedios and I want to thank Saint Isidor the Labourer for the good harvest of marigold flowers this year, so we’ll have good sales at the cemeteries on the next Day of the Dead.

Margarito Hernández
Atlixco, Puebla

We thank the Virgin of Guadalupe for having guided us during our peyote trip in the desert in which we saw various wonders such as flowers of incandescent light and improbable animals that showed us the way and illuminated our path. We came back from this trip much wiser and more tolerant to the other human beings, and also more understanding.

Retablo by

When Martina Gutierrez was chatting with her friend Graciela, a flowerpot fell on her head. It was pushed from the roof by a cat. After the blow Martina began to see double and blurred. She was frightened that she might go blind, and she entrusted herself to Saint Lucy. The saint heard her prayers, and few days later Martina was back to see normally again. She dedicated this retablo as gratitude.

— tagged with and , , , , , , #

My neighbor was a lazy man. When his fence was broken he didn’t fix it, so his pigs went directly to my garden and ate my flowers. I was desperate seeing what those pigs were doing with my garden. I prayed to Saint Francis because no matter how hard I tried to kick them out they always came back. The saint made a miracle. The neighbor patched the hole in the fence and saved me from the pigs. I give thanks.

Socorro Aguilar dedicates this humble retablo to Saint Isidor Labourer because she’s doing well selling her flowers to the tourists who pass in Xochimilco by trajineras boats. She makes their day with beauty and colors.

Xochimilco, Mexico

— ретабло с тегом «цветы»

Благодарим Святого Исидора Труженика за то чудо, что он послал нам много бархатцев, которые в этот сезон мы продаем возле кладбищ ко Дню Мертвых.

Клеотильде и Николаса Кастильо
Атлиско, Пуэбла, 1955

У нас в семье были финансовые проблемы, но Пресвятая Дева Скорбящая вдохновила меня продавать на рынке цветы из моего сада. Теперь я счастлива, так как я помогаю покрывать расходы, выращивая и продавая цветы, что мне очень нравится.

Пресвятая Богоматерь Гваделупская, благословенна будь за то, что вылечила меня от ревматизма, так что я снова могу обрабатывать свои клумбочки здесь в Сочимилько. Когда никакое средство мне не помогало, я взмолился тебе и ты меня вылечила.

Мерехильдо, местный житель
12 декабря 1990

Однажды на пикнике моя дочь погналась за бабочками и ушла далеко от нас. Мы играли и не заметили, что ее нет. Она не знала, как вернуться, и сильно перепугалась. Вместо того чтобы идти назад, она уходила еще дальше. Тогда она попросила Святого Духа помочь ей. В то же мгновение подул легкий ветерок, и семена одуванчика, который она держала в руках, полетели. Она пошла за ними, и они вывели ее к тому месту, где мы ее искали.

Сеньора Мария посвящает это ретабло и эти цветы Господу Чалмскому за то, что ее муж Антонио успешно перенес опасную операцию на голове. Он был между жизнью и смертью, и теперь они благодарят за оказанную милость.

25 января 2000

Мы с сестрой в каждый день рождения нашей бабушки приносили цветы на ее могилку. В этот раз мы пошли ночью и добрались, когда на небо уже вышла луна. На кладбище мы наткнулись на скелетов, повылезавших из могил. Они пьянствовали и очень радостно встретили нас. Им захотелось поплясать с нами, но мы испугались и взмолились Деве Сапопанской. Пресвятая помогла нам убежать от мертвецов, и они не погнались за нами. Благодарим за это.

Когда мой муж серьезно заболел и я не знала, где взять денег, чтобы отвезти его в больницу, Дева Гваделупская вдохновила меня срезать все цветы в моем саду и отправиться продавать их на базар-тиангис. Я все продала и отвезла моего Хуана к доктору, и тот его быстро вылечил.

Всякий раз как я шла продавать цветы на городскую площадь, мимо проезжал очень веселый парень и всегда приветствовал меня. Он мне очень нравился. Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Антошеньке за то, что он наконец решился и попросил у меня разрешения ухаживать за мной. Теперь мы с моим Аурелио пара.

Ремедиос Паскуаль, Сакатекас

Этим скромным ретабло мы с моей супругой Ремедиос хотим отблагодарить Святого Исидора Труженика за хороший урожай бархатцев в этом году, а значит, у нас будут хорошие продажи на кладбищах в ближайший День мертвых.

Маргарито Эрнандес
Атлиско, Пуэбла

Мы благодарим Деву Гваделупскую за то, что она вела нас во время наших пейотного путешествия по пустыне, во время которого мы видели разнообразные чудеса, таких как цветы пылающего света и необычные звери, указавшие нам дорогу и осветившие путь. Из этого путешествия мы вернулись намного мудрее и куда терпимее к прочим человеческим существам, а также более понимающими.

Мартина Гутьеррес болтала со своей приятельницей Грасиэлой, когда ей на голову внезапно упал цветочный горшок. Какой-то кот столкнул его с крыши. От удара у нее стало двоиться и расплываться в глазах. Она испугалась, что ослепнет, и вверилась Святой Люсии. Та услышала ее мольбы, и через несколько дней Мартина снова стала хорошо видеть. Она посвящает это ретабло в благодарность.

Мой сосед человек ленивый. Поэтому когда поломался его забор, он не стал его чинить, а его свиньи стали свободно ходить в мой сад и пожирать цветы. Я была в отчаянии, видя, вот что превратили мой сад эти свиньи. Я взмолилась Святому Франциску, поскольку как бы я ни пыталась от них избавиться, они все равно возвращались. Святой сотворил чудо: сосед залатал дыру в заборе и избавил меня от свиней. Благодарю.

Сокорро Агилар посвящает это скромное ретабло Святому Исидору Труженику в благодарность за то, что ей очень хорошо удается продавать букеты туристам, катающимся на лодках трахинерах по каналам Сочимилько, и радовать их красотой и яркими цветами.

Сочимилько, Мехико