— tagged with “sport”

I’m not a good football player but since I’m the son of the team owner the coach always keeps me on the bench. The other day, during a very important match, the forward of my team was injured and I was put to play. I dedicate the present retablo to Saint John Bosco in gratitude for I scored the victory goal although I did it in a very peculiar manner since I didn’t even see the ball coming. It hit me in the face and went into the goal.

Rogelio Sandoval \ Guadalajara, Jalisco

— tagged with and , and , #

The discussion on the stands became very intense during a game Chivas–America, and Facundo Romero ended up in a fight with Alfredo Sierra. They both thank Saint Jude Thaddeus for they managed to get out from the stadium without being arrested, although very much beaten. Now they are friends.

Retablo by

The national soccer team thanks the Holy Child Football player with all their hearts because he has heard their prayers and they won a ticket to the world championship. They were at the point of watching it on tv at home but at the end they got through by the skin of their teeth. Now they are very happy to go there.

Mexico, 2013

Retablo by

With this humble exvoto I ask the Holy Child Football player so that everything would go well for our national team at the world championship in Russia. So that we wouldn’t end up with penalties, and Ochoa would take everything, and Chicharito wouldn’t fail us, and they wouldn’t penalize us—like in case with Robben when there was no foul—and so we would stay at least till the fifth game to bring some joy to our very devastated Mexico.

Cuahutémoc Márquez \ México

The boys Juan and Pedro Ramirez thank Saint Maroun for having won the high diving championship in pairs.

Retablo by

Casimiro Ramos was about to make his debut as a boxer. But when he came up to the ring, he felt so scared he peed himself. He thanks Saint John Bosco with this retablo for, despite this embarrassment, he stood and fight and won.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

Marcelo “El Torito” Dominguez thanks Saint Charbel for having won the boxing championship in light heavyweight. The saint has been giving him his divine help since the beginning of his career in the Tepito neighborhood. He brings this humble retablo for that.

Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and , #

The young man Rodolfo Palasios was hit unconscious in an American football game. His mother thanks the Child of Atocha for his recovery.

Eugenia Alvarez was practicing on uneven bars and flew off them falling down pretty badly. She brings this retablo to Saint Thomas thanking him for the recovery, although she had to leave the gymnastics.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I thank the Holy Child Doctor of the Sick for granting me with health so I could back to boxing. A Canadian boxer knocked me down very strongly and I was told I wouldn’t be able to box ever again. And then we met at the ring once again, only this time I won the championship. I dedicate the present ex-voto with all my heart.

Juan “The Falcon” Mendez
Toluca, 1977

Retablo by

He was refereeing a street soccer match and was attacked by various players while marking a penalty. They sent him to the hospital. He thanks Saint John Bosco because he’s recovered and the culprits are in jail.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

The American football player was caught by his coach while fucking a cheerleader in the locker. He thanks Saint John Bosco with this retablo for he wasn’t kicked out of the team but just suspended for three games.

Day before his fight, Ruperto Rivero got sick with a diarrhea. Since no remedy could help him, he implored the Virgin of Guadalupe. Ruperto recovered and won the fight. He thanks for that.

Mexico, 1948

— ретабло с тегом «спорт»

Я не очень хороший футболист, но поскольку я сын владельца команды, то тренер всегда держит меня на скамейке запасных. И вот как-то раз во время очень важного матча нападающий моей команды получил травму и меня поставили играть. Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Хуану Боско в благодарность за то, что я забил победный гол, пусть это и случилось в необычной манере, поскольку я даже не увидел, как мяч ударил мне в лицо и отскочил в ворота.

Рохелио Сандоваль \ Гвадалахара, Халиско

Во время матча Чивас—Америка на трибунах разгорелся жаркий диспут, и закончилось все тем, что Факундо Ромеро сцепился с Альфредо Сьеррой. Они вдвоем благодарят Святого Иуду Фаддея за то, что им удалось покинуть стадион — пусть битыми, но зато их не арестовали. Теперь они подружились.

Сборная по футболу от всего сердца благодарит Святого Младенчика Футболиста за то, что он услышал их молитвы и они смогли выиграть путевку на чемпионат мира. Они находились на грани того, чтобы смотреть его у себя дома, но все же смогли проскочить, и теперь невероятно счастливы, что поедут туда.

Мексика, 2013

Этим скромным ретабло я прошу Святого Младенца Футболиста, чтобы у национальной сборной все получилось на чемпионате мира в России. Чтобы, пожалуйста, дело не дошло до пенальти, чтобы Очоа все ловил, чтобы Чичарито не подвел нас, чтобы нам не назначили штрафы, как в случае с Роббеном, когда нарушений не было, и чтобы мы сыграли как минимум в пятом матче, чтобы порадовать нашу удрученную Мексику.

Куаутемок Маркес \ Мехико

Мальчики Хуан и Педро Рамирес благодарят Святого Марона за то, что им удалось выиграть чемпионат по синхронным прыжкам в воду с трамплина.

У Касимиро Рамоса должен был состояться боксерский дебют, но когда он вышел на ринг, то так перепугался, что описался. Этим ретабло он благодарит Святого Хуана Боско за то, что несмотря на этот позор, он выступил и победил в бою.

Марсело Домингес по клике Бычок благодарит Святого Шарбеля за победу в чемпионате по боксу в полутяжелом весе. Святой помогал ему, еще когда он только начинал боксировать в квартале Тепито. В благодарность за это он преподносит это скромное ретабло.

Мехико

Во время игры в американский футбол молодого Родольфо Паласиоса так ударили, что он потерял сознание. Его мама благодарит Святого Младенца с Аточи за то, что Родольфо поправился.

Эухения Альварес тренировалась на разновысоких брусьях и неудачно слетела с них, очень больно упав. Она преподносит это ретабло Святому Фоме в благодарность за то, что поправилась, хотя ей пришлось оставить гимнастику.

Благодарю Святого Младенца Врачевателя Больных за то, что послал мне здоровье и я снова смог вернуться в бокс. После того как канадский боксер отправил меня в сильнейший нокаут, мне сказали, я больше не смогу боксировать. И вот я вновь встретился с ним на ринге, и в этот раз я выиграл чемпионат. За это великое чудо я посвящаю это эксвото.

Хуан Ястреб Мендес
Толука, 1977

Он судил дворовый футбольный матч. Во время назначения пенальти игроки набросились на него, так что после он угодил в больницу. Он благодарит Святого Хуана Боско за свое выздоровление и за то, что виноватые сели в тюрьму.

Тренер застукал в раздевалке игрока в американский футбол, когда тот трахал чирлидершу. Игрок благодарит Святого Хуана Боско этим ретабло за то, что его не выгнали из команды, а лишь отстранили на три игры.

Накануне боя у Руперто Риверы случился приступ диареи. Поскольку никакое средство ему не помогало, он взмолился Деве Гваделупской. Руперто поправился и выиграл поединок, за что благодарит Пресвятую Деву.

Мехико, 1948