— tagged with “airport”

Madrid, morning of February 26, 2010, after 10-hour bus ride from my land Galicia, I had to take a plane to Mexico. One hour before the flight, I found out I had no passport. I immediately entrusted myself to the policeman at the Barajas airport so he would make me a passport for all my money. Miraculously I made it to the plane, which, thank goodness, was delayed. I made this retablo in gratitude.

Nano

Retablo by

— tagged with , , , , and , , #

My husband tried to smuggle me in Europe in a suitcase without a visa. But I was discovered in the airport by a border control officer. I thank the Statue of Liberty for I wasn’t sent back.

With machete in hands we rose up to fight for our land rejecting the construction of the airport and ridiculous expropriation. We knew we weren’t alone and with the blessing of the Virgin of Guadalupe we would achieve what we wanted. We showed them that we weren’t going to sit on our hands and we would defend our land with our lives if it would be necessary.

The people of San Salvador Atenco, state of Mexico
August 1, 2002

In 2002, there were protests in San Salvador Atenco. The violent mass protests against federal and local government were caused by the planned construction of a new international airport for Mexico City. The construction of the airport was cancelled.

— ретабло с тегом «аэропорт»

Утром 26 февраля 2010 года после десятичасовой поездки на автобусе из моей родной Галисии я приехал в Мадрид и должен был сесть на самолет в Мехико. За час до посадки я обнаружил, что у меня нет паспорта. Я тотчас же вверился господину полицейскому в аэропорту Барахас, чтобы он сделал мне правильный паспорт за все те деньги, что у меня имелись. Я чудом успел на самолет, который, к счастью, вылетал с опозданием. В благодарность я нарисовал это ретабло.

Нано

Мой муж пытался перевезти меня в Европу без визы, в чемодане, но в аэропорту меня обнаружили пограничники. Благодарю Статую Свободы за то, что меня не отправили обратно.

С мачете в руках мы встали на путь борьбы, чтобы отстоять наши земли, протестуя против строительства аэропорта и смехотворного отчуждения земель. Мы знали, что мы не одни и что с благословения Пресвятой Девы Гваделупской мы добьемся своего. Мы им показали, что не будем сидеть сложа руки и, если потребуется, будем защищать земли ценой наших жизней.

Люди Сан-Сальвадор-Атенко, штат Мехико
1 августа 2002

В 2002 году в Сан-Сальвадор-Атенко проходили массовые протесты против местного и федерального правительства. Причиной послужило строительство нового столичного аэропорта. После протестов строительство было отменено.