— tagged with “widowhood”

The widow Ana Maria Rivera brings the present retablo to Saint Anthony thanking him for, despite being 80 years old and having 13 kids, she still found her love.

San Nicolas, 1917

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

My late husband was very jealous when he was alive. When don Pascual, the hardware store’s owner, started to court me after me being a widow for many years, the angry ghost of my husband Jose began to appear at night. I prayed the Virgin of Zapopan for her intervention so Jose would let me in peace. The Holy Virgin made the miracle, and the ghost didn’t come back, even despite the fact I accepted the Pascual’s courtship.

Don Luciano Herrera was a very rich man in our town. After having widowed, he began to court me. I didn’t like him because he was much older than me. But he was stubborn and even offered some lands to my parents in exchange for marrying me. I thank Saint Raymond for I managed to go live with my aunt in the capital and I’ve never seen this dirty old man anymore.

Rosita Buendia ~ Zapopan, Jalisco

I’m a single father. After my wife died I took charge of my little Mary. She had a desire that we’d dress up as her favorite fairy princess on her birthday. But I was afraid that the guest would laugh at me. I thank Saint James the Apostle because instead of laughs I received congratulations for this act of father love.

Rafael Corona ~ Villahermosa, Tabasco

I’m a widow, and I don’t have kids. But I don’t lack company because a lot of story dogs came to live with me. Together we are a big family. Very noise, slightly stinking, but still a family united by love. And that’s what’s important. I thank Saint Francis for having sent me all these dogs.

— tagged with and , , #

I became a widow in a young age. I had no children and didn’t want to marry again. I got me a good company of my cats instead. On Sundays I put on a nice dress, my best shoes and a ribbon in my hair, then I take my three cats for a walk. They are my family. The old gossips of the town call me a crazy cat lady and talk behind my back. But I don’t care because my pets and I enjoy our walk and we are happy.

I married Jose a year after he became a widower when his first wife died on the day of the wedding because of indigestion after eating too much. Turned out that the ghost of the first wife was very jealous. She began to appear at nights with the angry face and scared me a lot. Then I ordered a novena for her soul, and it made the ghost to go away and rest in peace. I thank the Virgin of Zapopan because now I’m happy with Jose.

One day I found out that I love to cook. But my wife wasn’t happy at all of having my at the kitchen. Every time I tried to make a wonderful dish, she used to get angry. It was frustrating. I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because my friend Jorge, who is a widower, is very happy with letting me use his kitchen. He has a beautiful and spacious kitchen, and he loves what I cook. So there I can develop my culinary art as I wish.

One year after I had become a widow, I married German. Then my other husband’s ghost began to appear to us at nights. It was moaning and frightening us. I prayed to the Virgin of Guadalupe so that she would rest his soul, and the Virgin made the miracle. Since November 2, 1966, he stopped appearing.

I became a widower shortly after my wedding. I didn’t want to marry again after that. I forget about my loneliness in the company of my cocks. When they see me in sad mood, they come to me and peck my legs showing me that I’m not alone. I thank the Virgin for that.

Retablo by

Ana Maria Rosete became a widow and decided to sell piñatas. The things went very well. She thanks the Virgin of Juquila for her help with this retablo.

Retablo by

My husband was a very happy man, and he filled my life with happiness. But he used to eat a lot, and it was a cause of his death. I was grieving so deeply, I was crying and praying to the Virgin of Zapopan to have pity on me and to let my husband visit me at night before I go to sleep. And my husband began to appear to me, all glowing. When he laughed, the shiny stardust fell from him. I thank the Virgin because my husband’s visits turned me back to life, and I’m happy again.

My sister and I, we are widows with no children. We were a little bit lonely so we began to adopt some dogs which were abandoned by people because they were injured, or little bit aggressive, or restless. Then we realized there are thousands of dogs on the streets. So we opened a shelter where the dogs could live until some caring and responsible people adopted them. We thank Saint Francis for filling our lives.

— ретабло с тегом «вдовство»

Вдова Ана Мария Ривера преподносит это ретабло Святому Антонию в благодарность за чудо, что несмотря на свои 80 лет и 13 детей впридачу она смогла повстречать любовь.

Сан-Николас, 1917

Мой покойный муж при жизни был крайне ревнив. Я была вдовой уже много лет, и дон Паскуаль, владелец магазина хозтоваров, решил приударить за мной. Тогда недовольный призрак моего Хосе начал являться мне по ночам. Я молилась Деве Сапопанской о ее вмешательстве, чтобы Хосе оставил меня в покое. Пресвятая сотворила чудо, и больше он не появлялся, даже несмотря на то что я приняла ухаживания Паскуаля.

Дон Лусиано Эррера был очень богатым господином в нашем городе. Когда он овдовел, то начал ухаживать за мной. Мне он не нравился, ведь он был намного старше меня. Но он был упрям и даже предложил моим родителям земли за брак со мной. Благодарю Святого Рамона за то, что я смогла уехать жить к тете в столицу и мне больше не пришлось встречаться с этим папиком.

Росита Буэндия ~ Сапопан, Халиско

Я отец-одиночка. Когда умерла моя жена, я остался один воспитывать мою маленькую Мэри. Она мечтала, чтобы на ее день рождения мы нарядились в костюм ее любимой волшебной принцессы. Я боялся, что гости будут смеяться надо мной. Благодарю Святого Якова Апостола за то, что вместо насмешек я получил похвалу за этот акт отцовской любви.

Рафаэль Корона ~ Вильяэрмоса, Табаско

Я вдова, и у меня нет детей. Но я не одинока, потому что ко мне пришло много бездомных собак. Они живут вместе со мной, и вместе мы большая семья. Пусть шумная и немного пованивающая, но все же семья, в которой царит любовь. А это самое важное. Благодарю Святого Франциска за всех посланных мне собак.

Я овдовела еще в молодости, у меня не было детей, и я не хотела снова выходить замуж. Тогда я завела себе хорошую компанию из котов. И вот по воскресеньям я надеваю красивое платье, свои лучшие туфли, заплетаю ленту в волосы и вывожу на прогулку трех моих котов, которые как семья для меня. Старые городские сплетницы зовут меня спятившей кошатницей и перешептываются за моей спиной. Но мне все равно, ведь мы с моими питомцами наслаждаемся прогулкой и мы счастливы.

Я вышла за Хосе спустя год как он овдовел, когда его первая жена переела и умерла в день свадьбы от несварения желудка. Оказалось, однако, что призрак первой супруги очень ревнив. Она стала появляться по ночам с очень злым лицом и страшно пугала меня. Тогда я заказала отмолить девятиднев по ее душе, и это упокоило призрак. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что теперь я могу жить счастливо с Хосе.

Однажды я обнаружил, что мне нравится готовить. Но моя жена вовсе не была в восторге от меня на кухне. Всякий раз как я пытался состряпать удивительное блюда, она злилась, и это меня огорчало. Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что мой овдовевший приятель Хорхе очень рад, что я хожу готовить к нему домой. У него прекрасная просторная кухня, и ему нравится, что у меня получается. Таким образом я могу совершенствоваться в кулинарном мастерстве в свое удовольствие.

Спустя год после того, как я овдовела, я вышла за Хермана. Тогда по ночам нам стал являться призрак моего первого мужа. Он стенал и пугал нас. Я взмолилась Деве Гваделупской, чтобы она упокоила его душу, и Пресвятая сотворила чудо. Со 2 ноября 1966 г. призрак больше не появлялся.

Я овдовел скоре после свадьбы и более уже не думал жениться. Свое одиночество я скрашиваю в компании мои петухов. Когда они видят меня в печали, то приходят и клюют мне ноги, чтобы показать, что я не один. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву за это.

Ана Мария Росете овдовела и решила торговать пиньятами. Дела у нее пошли очень хорошо. Этим ретабло она благодарит Пресвятую Деву Хукиланскую за ее помощь.

Мой муж был удивительно веселым человеком. Он наполнял мою жизнь счастьем. Однако он очень много ел, и это в конце концов стало причиной его смерти. Я была подавлена горем, я рыдала и молилась Пресвятой Деве Сапопанской сжалиться над моими страданиями и разрешить моему мужу навещать меня по ночам, прежде чем я иду спать. И случилось так, что мой муж явился, окруженный сиянием. А когда он засмеялся, то из него посыпалась блестящая звездная пыль. Я благодарю Пресвятую Деву, так как визиты моего мужа вернули меня к жизни и я снова счастлива.

Мы с сестрой — бездетные вдовы. Нам было немножечко тоскливо, и тогда мы стали брать себе разных собачек, которых люди бросили потому что те были или ранены, или немного злые, или непоседливы. Вскоре мы поняли, что таких собаки тысячи. Тогда мы открыли приют, где собаки могли бы жить пока любящие и заботливые люди не возьмут их себе. Благодарим Святого Франциска за то, что наполнил нашу жизнь.