— tagged with “violence”

Elena M. and Juana R. were arguing in public baths over a man, and they ended up grabbing each other by the topknots. They bring this retablo to Saint Pancras thanking him for they didn’t hurt themselves very much and only made fools of themselves. Now they are friends again.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , , #

Francisco Robledo received bullets from a tenant when he arrived to collect his rent. He thanks Saint Francis because he only got a scratch on his hand and that lunatic has been arrested.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Evaristo Martinez got a bullet in his buttock for not paying his gambling debts. He thanks the Lord of the Wonders for his recovery and promises to not gamble anymore.

Retablo by

When the young Alejandro Jimenes’ father came home drunk, he used to hang the boy naked and spanked him with the belt. Alejandro thanks the Holy Child of Atocha for the neighbors denounced about it, and now he is safe.

The barber Ernesto Carrasco was attacked in his own shop. He was defending himself and stabbed the attacked with the scissors. Ernesto thanks Saint Elias because they didn’t do anything to him for that and the attacker was arrested.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I bring this retablo to the Lord of Chalma for the miracle that my boyfriend stopped drinking and fighting, to my relief and happiness.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

Teresa Guzman was very gossipy. One day her neighbor couldn’t take it any more, she grabbed her hair and gave her what she deserved. Teresa promises to Saint Raymond to amend herself in order to avoid such complications in future.

Retablo by

Being under the influence of drugs, El Pancho took out his pistol and shot El Abel. Seeing him in danger of dying, we entrusted him to the Lord of Chalma, and he saved his life.

Pedro
Barrio Norte, Mexico City
May 1, 2000

Retablo by

He was refereeing a street soccer match and was attacked by various players while marking a penalty. They sent him to the hospital. He thanks Saint John Bosco because he’s recovered and the culprits are in jail.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because she finally worked the miracle of delivering me from these terrible nightmares in which I was being raped by the demons. Thanks to my prayers to the Virgin now I sleep peacefully.

Isabel Benitez
Mexico City, 1953

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

I, Maria, give thanks to Saint Sebastian because now I’m feeling better. I was beaten by two men after I refused to go in the hotel with them.

February 10, 2000
Merced, Mexico City

Retablo by

When I was returning after a concert, I ran into some bastards who tried to mug me. But they got nothing from me. Then one of them pulled out a gun and put it to my head. I grabbed him and took the gun, but the other one stabbed me. I fell feeling pretty bad. Those two were definitely high. Then the first guy picked up the gun and was going to finish me. That moment, I prayed the Archangel of Justice. Suddenly my pal appeared, and those two ran away, without killing me. Good thing you stopped them in time, pal.

Tepito, Mexico City

Isabel Ramirez was having sex with the baker. But then came his wife and in anger hit Isabel with a rolling pin sending her to the hospital. Isabel thanks Saint Patrick for her recovery and for she didn’t become idiot.

— ретабло с тегом «насилие»

В 1939 году мой приятель застукал меня с его женой и начал по нам палить. Я благодарен Святому Рамону за то, что он не попал в меня и все пули пришлись его жене. Я же отделался испугом.

Макарио М.
Мексика, 1939

Благодарю Пресвятую Деву Гваделупскую. Мои папенька и маменька ругались и дрались по любому поводу. Однажды они очень жестоко колотили друг дружку, и я взмолилась Пресвятой Деве, пообещав посвятить ей ретабло, если они прекратят ссориться. Благодарю, что теперь в нашем доме спокойно и мы живем очень счастливо.

Дионисия
Пуэбла, 14 февраля 1934

Благословенна будь, Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, за то, что помогла мне вернуться живым в Мексику, после того как миграционная полиция избила меня до потери сознания в Аризонской пустыне, через которую я пошел, чтобы заработать немного долларов.

Эль Бето, 2009

Энрике Сандоваль отлынивал и не выплачивал проигрыш. В конце концов его поймали, поколотили и даже угрожали отрезать ногу. Он благодарит Святого Илию, что ногу не отрезали, и обещает исправиться.

Мой брат был очень ревнив и прогонял всех моих ухажеров. Я сильно горевала и боялась, как бы не остаться мне старой девой. От всего сердца я благодарю Деву Сапопаснкую за то, что однажды революционеры забрали с собой моего брата на войну и теперь никто не помешает мне с моим возлюбленным.

Йоланда Гарсия \ Пьедрас-Неграс, Коауила

В 1952 году я вышла с работы. Когда я шла по переулку в квартале Сан-Антонио в Пуэбле, на меня напал человек. Он, кажется, был не в своем уме. Я взмолилась Деве Сан-Хуанской, и тут появился борец Эль Санто Серебряная Маска. Он спас меня, за что я бесконечно благодарна.

Альтаграсия Эрнандес

Энрике Перес проснулся и обнаружил вора в своей комнате. Он благодарит Святого Якова этим ретабло за то, что успел схватить пистолет и пустить в вора пулю.

Хуан Рамирес разозлился на своего неугомонного внука и влепил ему палкой по роже. За это его посадили в тюрьму. Он благодарит Святого Иуду этим ретабло за то, что вышел на свободу, и обещает быть хорошим.

Во время городского праздника проводили петушиные бои. Однажды зрители боев устроили пальбу, и одного мальчика ранило. Семья Родригес благодарит Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что он поправился.

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что спасла меня от смерти после того, как мой товарищ пырнул меня ножом. Он был сильно рассержен из-за слухов, будто я влюблен в его жену, что не было правдой.

1934, Хосе П.

Сусана Гутьеррес флиртовала с соседскими мужьями. Соседкам это надоело, они схватили ее и отколошматили до полусмерти. Сусана благодарит Святого Рамона за то, что поправилась, и обещает исправиться.

Чавелита Руис возвращалась со сборов винограда, и на нее напал нагваль с ослиной головой и укусил за руку. Этим ретабло она благодарит Святую Риту за то, что смогла убежать от него живой.

Из-за разных слухов папаша не жаловал моего жениха и запрел мне с ним видеться. Поэтому мы продолжали встречаться тайком. Но как-то ночью папаша застал нас в моей комнате. В ярости выхватил он свой пистолет. Я взмолилась Святому Рамону Ноннату, чтобы не допустил он надвигающейся трагедии. Пистолет дал осечку, и мой жених смог убежать. После я поговорила с отцом, и в конце концов он стал благосклоннее к моему жениху. За это великое чудо я посвящаю ретабло.

Сара Флорес — Мехико, 1960