— tagged with “bullfighting”

The bullfighter El Cordoves thanks the Virgin of Guadalupe for surviving after being deadly gored.

May 21, 1990

Retablo by

The torero Catarino Mendoza brings this retablo thanking Saint James for healing the wound on his buttock after being pierced by the bull.

Puebla, 1940

I humbly dedicate this simple retablo to Saint George with my eternal gratitude for being with me on the day of my debut at the town bullring. I performed splendidly and received an ovation from the audience.

Salamanca, Guanajuato
Gerardo del Castillo

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

I pray to my sweet Jesus to help me fulfill my dream of triumphing as a bullfighter an NYC’s Carnegie Hall.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , #

I thank Saint Liberata. When I was performing at the Plaza in Tabasco, the bull Fanfarron got me badly. But I was lucky—I got only one leg amputated and one eye removed. I’m recovering quite quickly so I could back to bullfighting as soon as possible.

Retablo by

I dedicate the present retablo to Saint Michael the Archangel thanking him, with all my heart, for he always accompanies me at my work as a picador. During all my years in this profession, I didn’t suffer from any grave accident, nor did my horse Sparky. So I feel blessed.

Abelardo Rosas
Apizaco, Tlaxcala

With all my faith, I dedicate this retablo to Saint James the Apostle for protecting me from being kicked by a bull. I got an angry bull, and only thanks to the saint’s divine intervention nothing serious happened.

Carmelo Trujillo
Guanajuato

Retablo by

During the third bullfight at the arena Plaza Mexico, the Blueyed bull jumped over two barriers right over where we were sitting and almost fell on us. We implored the Angel of Justice and an armed man courageously pushed the bull out. I ordered this retablo for we avoided a tragedy.

Sunday, July 30, 1989

The picador Nemesio Gomes thanks Virgin of San Juan with this retablo for his wound has been healed. He was injured when a bull hit him in his butt cheek.

Tlaxcala, 1929

That day, February 13, 1944, the bull Zapatero hooked Silverio Perez between his legs and threw him over the head on the ground. Silverio got hurt badly. Then the bull kept dragging him all over the arena. We were all praying the Virgin of Guadalupe for Silverio. We were feeling his pain as ours because he had brought glory to us. We thanks for Silverio is recovered.

His fellow townsmen from Texcoco
May 10, 1944

Retablo by

Ponciano Guzman brings this retablo to the Holy Child of Atocha for always helping him in bullfighting.

Queretaro, 1920

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

German Quiroga dedicates this retablo to the Virgin of San Juan thanking her for always protecting and supporting him when he enters the arena facing the angry bulls and risking his life. He thanks because it always ends well for him.

Aguascalientes, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe. I came to Mexico City from Aguascalientes to become a matador. Two years later, I had a performance in a town in Guerrero. During the fight I stumbled and I fell right on the bull’s horn. It pierced through my ribs, I got head injury and brain concussion. I thank for my recovery.

Pedro Arreola
Aguascalientes, 1979

— ретабло с тегом «коррида»

Матадор Кордовец благодарит Пресвятую Деву за то, что выжил после смертельного удара рогом.

21 мая 1990

Тореро Катарино Мендоса приносит это ретабло в благодарность Святому Якову за заживление полученной от быка раны на ягодице.

Пуэбла, 1940

Покорнейше посвящаю это скромное ретабло Святому Георгию с бескрайней благодарностью за сопутствие мне в день моего дебюта на городской арене. Я был на высоте и снискал овацию публики.

Саламанка, Гуанахуато
Херардо дель Кастильо

Я молю моего дорогого Иисуса, чтоб он помог осуществить мою мечту триумфально выступить с боем быков в нью-йоркском Карнеги-холле.

Благодарю Святую Либерату. Когда я выступал на Арене в Табаско, мне серьезно досталось от быка Фанфарона. Но я оказался везунчиком: мне всего лишь ампутировали одну ногу и удалили правый глаз. Сейчас я очень быстро иду на поправку, чтобы как можно скорее снова участвовать в корриде.

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Михаилу Архангелу и благодарю его от всей души за то, что он всегда рядом со мной на моей работе пикадором. За все годы службы ни со мной, ни с моей лошадью Искоркой никогда не случалось тяжелых несчастных случаев, поэтому я чувствую его благословение.

Абелардо Росас
Аписако, Тласкала

От всей души посвящаю это ретабло в благодарность Святому Якову Апостолу за то, что защитил меня от удара быка. Мне достался очень разъяренный бык, и только благодаря божественному вмешательству святого со мной ничего не случилось.

Кармело Трухийо
Гуанахуато

На арене Пласа Мехико во время выхода третьего быка по кличке Голубоглазый тот перепрыгнул через два барьера прямо туда, где сидели мы, и чуть было не рухнул на нас. Мы взмолились Ангелу Правосудия, и один вооруженный господин мужественно вытолкал быка в проход. За то, что удалось избежать трагедии, я заказал это ретабло.

Воскресенье, 30 июля 1989

Пикадор Немесио Гомес благодарит этим ретабло Пресвятую Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что зажила его рана, которую он получил, когда бык боднул его в зад.

Тласкала, 1929

В тот день, 13 февраля 1944 г., бык по кличке Сапатеро зацепил Сильверио Переса рогами за промежность и, перевернув, опрокинул на землю. Сильверио очень больно ударился. Потом бык стал возить его по арене. Мы все взмолились о Сильверио Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской. Мы чувствовали его боль, как свою, ведь он прославил нас. Мы благодарим, что сейчас у Сильверио все в порядке.

Жители его родного города Тескоко
10 мая 1944

Понсиано Гусман преподносит это ретабло Святому Младенцу с Аточи в благодарность за помощь, которую святой всегда оказывал ему во время корриды.

Керетаро, 1920

Херман Кирога посвящает это ретабло Пресвятой Деве Сан-Хуанской в благодарность за постоянную поддержку и защиту, когда он выходит на арену к злым быкам, рискуя жизнью, и за то, что у него всегда все оканчивается хорошо.

Агуаскальентес, Мексика

Руфино Ороско из города Сьюдад-Гусман в штате Халиско посвящает это ретабло Пресвятой Деве Сан-Хуанской за то, что он чудом не погиб от смертельно опасного удара рогом, когда вообразил себя матадором.

15 октября 1940