— tagged with “Minas de Cristo”

To the Holy Virgin of Guadalupe and to Saint Jude Thaddeus I offer this retablo so that they would help and protect the scavengers from the Bordo de Xochiaca dump where they bring waste and garbage from all over my city, the biggest in the world. In order to survive, they earn their living with dignity. I understood there’s no undignified job but undignified people. Remember that.

Alfredo Vilchis Roque
Corner of the miracles, Minas de Cristo
Mexico City — September 24, 2009

I thank you, Virgin of Guadalupe, for all triumphs you granted to my wrestling idol—El Santo, The Silver Mask. I’ll keep telling his story because the art will never die.

A. V. R.
Minas de Cristo, Mexico City
February 4, 2008

I thank God because I had the opportunity to see the inspirational art of bullfighting of the great French matador Nimeño II. I remember him with admiration and respect.

I dedicate this retablo to the people of Nîmes, from the corner of the miracles, Mexico City.

November 2, 2007

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , #

November 20, 1910, the people of Mexico took up arms at the call of Francisco Madero. Entrusting themselves to the Virgin of Guadalupe, the people fought doughtily for their rights, under the slogans “Viva the revolution!” and “Down with the bad government!”. With the faith in the better life and lands, and liberty, people fought for a free and independent Mexico. Don’t forget that there’s no other country like Mexico. Viva Mexico! Viva the revolution!

Minas de Cristo, Mexico City
November 20, 2010

I was coming back from a party when I met a couple of bastards. They wanted to beat me for being dude. I entrusted myself to you, Virgin of San Juan, asking to not let them do harm to me. Then a man arrived and defended me.

Ricardo “The Charisma”
Minas de Cristo, Mexico City
May 17, 2000

I’m celebrating the election of Barack Obama as president of United States. May the Abraham Lincoln’s spirit give him strength, so he would govern with liberty and democracy, with impartial justice and friendly relationship with every corner of the world that welcomes him.

Alfredo Vilchis Roque, artist of the neighborhood
Corner of the miracles, Minas de Cristo, Mexico City
January 20, 2009

I give thanks to the queen of my fatherland, Saint Mary of Guadalupe, for giving me health and a job to tell these stories about the revolution that goes on even now. This great woman, Elin Luque, opened the doors of the Casa Lamm for me. She is doing a marvelous work saving and protecting the value, customs and tradition of the Mexican exvoto. Because the art is a miracle that never dies. Till I have faith, hope and love, I swear my brushes speak for my fatherland.

Alfredo Vilchis Roque
Corner of the miracles
Minas de Cristo, Mexico
January 2011


Elin Luque Agraz is an art historian, curator and director of the Casa Lamm Cultural Center in Mexico.

I thank God for protecting 150 passengers and 5 crew members of the US Airways flight 1549 that departed at 15:03 from the New York airport LaGuardia to Charlotte (North Carolina). Because of an accident occurred three minutes after the departure the pilot Chesley Sullenberger managed to land the plane on the Hudson River. All aboard survived and were rescued. It was a miracle.

Alfredo Vilchis
Corner of the miracles
Minas de Cristo, Mexico
January 15, 2009

Retablo by

In the name of all women in the world I dedicate this ex-voto to the Holy Cross for those women who were cowardly killed in Juarez, Chihuahua. I ask you with sorrow in my heart to receive their souls and present them to paradise. And let this evil stop. Protect women from it. May all the women be blessed. One more Mexican is asking you.

Alfredo Vilchis R.
Minas de Cristo, Mexico, 2004

Virgin of Guadalupe, mother of the Mexicans, through this ex-voto, I give thanks for your favor, because, on my creative path, I met this people, who believed in my work and who invited me to participate in their project and to publish this marvelous book «The Imaginary Revolution». We all together, Karen, Daniel Goldin, Conrrado Tostado and Alfredo Vilchis, you humble and devoted son, thank you and ask you to bless our work.

Minas de Cristo, Mexico City
July 2005

Saint Jude Thaddaeus, I thank you, for I find an inspiration in wrestling to create paintings about tradition and fantasies of my Mexico that lives with folk tradition.

From Mexico to entire world.
A(lfredo) V(ilchis) R(oque)
Alley of miracles, Minas de Cristo. 2009

— ретабло с тегом «Минас-де-Кристо»

Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской и Святому Иудушке Фаддею посвящаю я это ретабло, чтобы хранили и помогали они всем мусорщикам со свалки у Бордо-де-Хочиака, куда свозят мусор и отходы со всего моего города, самого большого на свете. Они с достоинством зарабатывают на жизнь. Я понял, нет недостойной работы, а есть недостойные люди. Помните это.

Альфредо Вильчис Роке
Чудесный закоулок, Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
24 сентября 2009

Благодарю тебя, Дева Гваделупская, за все триумфы, которые ты послала моему кумиру — борцу Эль Санто Серебряная Маска. Я продолжаю рассказывать его историю, потому что искусство никогда не умрет.

А. В. Р.
Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
4 февраля 2008

Благодарю Бога за то, что в искусстве боя быков мне довелось наблюдать за великим французским тореадором Нимейцем Вторым. Я вспоминаю о нём с восхищением и уважением.

Из Чудесного закоулка в районе Минас де Кристо города Мехико посвящаю это ретабло жителям французского города Нима.

2 ноября 2007

20 ноября 1910 г. по призыву Франсиско Мадеро мексиканский народ взялся за оружие. Вверившись Деве Гваделупской, под девизами «Да здравствует революция!» и «Долой правительство!» люди с гордостью и доблестью сражались за свои права. С верой в лучшую жизнь, чтобы дать нам землю и свободу, они с честью умирали за свободную и независимую Мексику. Не забывайте, что нет другой такой страны, как Мексика. Да здравствует Мексика! Да здравствует революция!

Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
20 ноября 2010

Возвращаясь с вечеринки, я попался парочке ублюдков, которые хотели избить меня за то, что я оказался парнем. Я вверился тебе, Дева Сан-Хуанская, чтобы ты не позволила им ничего сделать со мной, и тогда явился сеньор, который защитил меня.

Рикардо «Харизма»
Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
17 мая 2000

Я праздную избрание Барака Обамы президентом США. Пусть дух Авраама Линкольна придаст ему сил, чтобы его правление было свободным, демократическим, справедливым и беспристрастным и чтобы он оставался в хороших отношениях со всеми уголками мира, который его приветствует.

Альфредо Вилчис Роке, художник
Чудесный закоулок, Минас де Кристо, Мехико, 20 января 2009

Благодарю Владычицу моей родины, Святую Марию Гваделупскую, за то, что даровала мне здоровье и работу, чтобы я рассказывал истории о революции, которая продолжается и поныне. Замечательная дама Элин Луке открыла для меня двери Касы Ламм. Она ведет удивительные работы по восстановлению и сохранению ценности, обычаев и традиций мексиканских эксвото, потому что искусство — это чудо, которое никогда не умрет. Покуда во мне живут вера, надежда и любовь, клянусь, мои кисти будут рассказывать о моей родине.

Альфредо Вильчис Роке
Закоулок Чудес
Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
Январь 2011


Элин Луке Аграс — историк искусств, куратор и директор культурного центра Каса Ламм (Дом Ламма) в Мехико.

Благодарю Бога за то, что он защитил 150 пассажиров и пятерых членов экипажа рейса 1549 компании US Airways, вылетевшего в 15:03 из нью-йоркского аэропорта Ла Гуардия в Шарлотт (Северная Каролина). После инцидента, произошедшего через три минуты после взлета, пилоту Чесли Салленбергеру удалось посадить самолет на воду в реке Гудзон. Все выжили и были спасены. Это настоящее чудо.

Альфредо Вильчис
Закоулок Чудес
Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
15 января 2009

Во имя всех женщин мира посвящаю это экс-вото Святому Кресту за всех женщин, трусливо убитых в Сьюдад-Хуаресе (Чиуауа). С горечью в сердце прошу тебя: прими их души и пусть они попадут в рай. И пусть это зло прекратится. Защити от него женщин. Благослови всех женщин. Еще один мексиканец просит тебя об этом.

Альфредо Вильчис Р.
Минас де Кристо, Мехико, 2004

Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, мать мексиканцев, благодарю тебя этим экс-вото за то, что на моем творческом пути я повстречал людей, веривших в мое искусство и пригласивших меня участвовать в их проекте, чтобы с огромной радостью выпустить чудесную книгу «Воображаемая революция». И вот мы все вместе, Карен, Даниэль Голдин, Конррадо Тостадо и Альфредо Вильчис, твой покорный и преданный сын, благодарим и просим благословить наш труд.

Минас-де-Кристо, Мехико
Июль 2005

Святой Иуда Фаддей, благодарю тебя за то, что я нахожу вдохновение в борьбе, чтобы зарисовывать традиции и фантазии моей Мексики, которая живет народными преданиями.

Из Мехико — всему миру.
А(льфредо) В(ильчис) Р(оке)
Закоулок чудес, Минас-де-Кристо. 2009