Holy Death

Santa Muerte

I thank you, White Girl, for pardoning and not taking us, Diego and me, with you on that day of the motorcycle accident when our tire blew out at full speed. Thank you and thank you more, Holy Death, for your protection and for granting us with more time to keep going on a spree with our infinite love—the music.

Gala Xiuhcoatl, Mexico City, 2018

— tagged with and , , and #

Braulio Perez has created a rock band, and now they are on a tour with big success. He brings this retablo to the Holy Death thanking for this favor.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

I thank the Holy Death for her favors. What a fear I got when I was told that my son was found in a grave with other people. I saw a newspaper article about this. And that moment, my boy came home. I felt so happy. He wasn’t home for a few days, and I though he’d really died—one of the corpses looked a lot like him. My son went with his friends to Veracruz without telling me.

Margarita A. G.
Guanajuato, 2008

David Perez thanks the Holy Death with this retablo for she granted him his biggest wish to have an enormous tv-panel which he uses for watching his homemade porn.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , #

Odilia Coyotl used to sell tamales near by the Church of St. Macarius, and she fell in love with a priest. Some time later he left the church, they got married, and now they even have kids. They thank the Holy Death for all the favors and promise to visit her altar for five years.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , #

Святая Смерть

Santa Muerte

Благодарю тебя, Белая Девочка, за то, что простила меня и Диего и не забрала нас с собой в тот день, когда у нашего мотоцикла лопнуло колесо на полном ходу. Благодарю и еще раз благодарю тебя, Пресвятая Смерть, за твою защиту и за то, что подарила нам еще времени, чтобы и дальше веселиться вместе с нашей вечной любовью — с музыкой.

Гала Шиукоатль, Мехико, 2018

Браулио Перес создал рок-группу, и теперь они с успехом гастролируют. Он посвящает это ретабло Святой Смерти в благодарность за эту услугу.

Благодарю Святую Смерть за ее милости. Какой же ужас охватил меня, когда мне сообщили, что моего сына извлекли из общей могилы. Я видела заметку об этом в газете. И тут мой мальчик вернулся домой. Тотчас же я почувствовала радость. Ведь мой сын несколько дней не появлялся дома, и я считала, что он действительно погиб, — один из покойников был очень на него похож. На самом деле мой сын ездил со своими приятелями в Веракрус и не предупредил меня.

Маргарита
Гуанухуато, 2008

Давид Перес благодарит этим ретабло Святую Смерть, поскольку та исполнила его мечту об огромной плазменной панели, на которой он теперь смотрит свое домашнее порно.

Одилия Койотль продавала свои тамале недалеко от церкви Святого Макария и влюбилась в священника. Со временем он оставил церковь, они поженились, и теперь у них даже есть дети. Они благодарят Святую Смерть за все посланные им милости и обещают в течение пяти лет посещать ее алтарь.