— tagged with “church”

Thank you, Virgin of Carmel, I was able to find my fiancé and convince him to go to the church for his own good.

Petra — Oaxaca, Mexico, 1968

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

I give thanks to you, Virgin of the Solitude, for I was able to catch my boyfriend and bring him back to the church to say “yes” for ever.

Amalia, Oaxaca, Mexico, 1967

Retablo by

To our Lord Jesus Christ, I ask to forgive me for what I did when I found out that the priest abused my son. But since neither the church nor the government have done anything after so many similar cases, I did it.

Filomeno M., 13–11–2018

When Serafin Gonzalez was playing an archangel in the Nativity play in the church, and the rope that held him broke down and he fell hitting his head. His mother, doña Clara, thanks the Holy Virgin of Zapopan for her son didn’t kill himself.

Thank you, Virgin of the Rosary, I was able to convince my fiancé to get back to the church for his own good.

Josefina — Oaxaca, Mexico, 1962

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

God in the highest, thank you because you protected our parish priest when the authorities were looking for him because they said he’d raped some people when they were children. But I know that he didn’t do it by evil because he did it to me also and I know he did it with love because the holy father is very kind and not in bad faith. That’s why you looked after him because you’re also very kind.

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

The day of my wedding was the happiest day of my life because I married a good man, hard-working and handsome. When we came out of the church we got on his horse and went to his ranch. The children waved to us and ran along. I give thanks to Saint Anthony for so much happiness.

— tagged with and , , , , , #

On the day of our wedding there were so many children and doves near by the church doors. It’s a good omen that means many years of happiness. We thank Saint Anthony for his blessing.

— tagged with and , , , , , , #

Isabel E. took a drug and, in her madness, went dancing like crazy on the church tower-bell. She thanks Saint Raymond with this retablo because the priest saved her from the people who wanted to linch her, and she promises to amend.

We thank Saint Anthony. Although the goat was very stubborn and the piglet wouldn’t walk so we had to carry him, we were able to bring them to the Blessing of Animals.

I was coming back from the market and saw a pair of dogs that cornered two cats in an alley. The cats’ hair stood up, and they didn’t know where to run. I quickly grabbed them and ran away, and the dogs ran after us. I thank Saint Quiteria for we got into the church before the dogs attacked us. So I saved the cats, with the help of the saint to whom I dedicate this retablo.

— tagged with and , , , #

My daughter went to buy some tortillas. On her way back, the thunderstorm began. It was hailing, and also raining with frogs. We thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because our daughter was able to find a cover in the abandoned chapel near the road and wait till this incredible storm was over.

I thank the Virgin of San Juan because my children won a calf in the church lottery.

Acadia Martinez Lopez

— ретабло с тегом «церковь»

Благодарю тебя, Дева Кармельская, за то, что я смогла найти своего жениха и убедить его пойти в церковь для его же блага.

Петра — Оахака, Мексика, 1968

Благодарю тебя, Дева Скорбящая, что я смогла догнать моего жениха и вернуть его в церковь, чтоб он сказал «да» навеки!

Амалия, Оахака, Мексика, 1967

У Господа нашего Иисуса Христа я прошу прощения за то, что я сделал, когда узнал, что священник изнасиловал моего сына. Но поскольку ни церковь, ни правительство после многих подобных случаев так ничего и не сделали, сделать пришлось мне.

Филомено М., 13—11—2018

Когда Серафин Гонсалес играл архангела в рождественской церковной постановке, веревка, на которой он висел, оборвалась, и он ударился головой оземь. Его мама, донья Клара, благодарит Пресвятую Деву Сапопанскую за то, что ее сын не убился. Она посвящает это ретабло Пресвятой Деве.

Благодарю тебя, Дева Розария, за то, что я смогла убедить своего жениха вернуться в церковь для его собственного же блага.

Хосефина — Оахака, Мексика, 1962

Господь в вышине небес, благодарю тебя за то, что ты защитил нашего приходского священника, когда его преследовали по закону. Говорят, он изнасиловал несколько человек, когда они были детьми, но я знаю, что он делал это не со зла, ведь он и со мной делал то же самое. Я знаю, что он это делал из любви, потому что наш священник очень добрый и не имеет дурных намерений. Поэтому-то ты его и уберег, потому что ты тоже очень добрый.

День моей свадьбы был самым счастливым в моей жизни, поскольку я вышла замуж за хорошего человека, трудолюбивого и очень красивого. Выйдя из церкви, мы сели на его лошадь и отправились к нему на ранчо. А дети приветствовали нас и бежали за нами. Благодарю Святого Антония за такое счастье.

В день нашей свадьбы у церковных дверей собралось много детей и слетелось множество голубей — это к счастью на долгие годы. Благодарим Святого Антония за его благословение.

Исабель Э. приняла наркотики и, обезумев, пустилась плясать, словно сумасшедшая, голышом на колокольне. Она благодарит Святого Рамона этим ретабло за то, что священник спас ее от толпы, которая хотела ее линчевать, и обещает исправиться.

Благодарим Святого Антония. Пусть коза была очень упряма, а поросенок не хотел идти и нам пришлось нести его на руках, мы все же смогли привести их на благословение животных.

Я шла с рынка и увидела, как пара собак загнала в переулок двух котов. Собаки злобно рычали и лаяли на них. У бедных котиков шерсть стала дыбом, и они не знали куда деваться. Я тотчас же схватила их и побежала прочь. Собаки погнались за нами. Благодарю Святую Квитерию, поскольку мы смогли укрыться в церкви прежде, чем собаки набросились на нас. Так я спасла двух котиков с помощью святой, которой посвящаю это ретабло.

Моя дочь отправилась купить тортильи. Когда она возвращалась обратно, началась гроза с градом, а вдобавок пошел дождь из лягушек. Мы благодарим Деву Гваделупскую за то, что наша дочка смогла укрыться в заброшенной часовне у дороги и переждать, пока эта необычная буря закончится.

Благодарю Деву Сан-Хуанскую за то, что мои дети выиграли в церковной лотерее теленка.

Акадия Мартинес Лопес