— tagged with “Tijuana”

I lied to my boyfriend out of fear and told him that I was a secretary while in fact I was working as a stripper. I thank Saint Raymond Nonnatus because when he proposed to me I revealed my secret, and he didn’t get angry. He understood me showing that he truly loves me and is not ashamed by my profession.

Esmeralda H. \ Tijuana, Baja California

With this retablo, I thank the Virgin of the Charity who helped me to collect some money for the maracas without which I couldn’t have worked in the “Windmill” cabaret in Tijuana.

Abel C. dedicates this humble retablo to Saint George thanking him for his wife hasn’t found out that he has a habit of spending a lot of money on private dances from sexy strippers at “Table Dance” on weekends. He promises to never forget about his obligations as husband, but will go on satisfying his personal whims, even secretly.

Tijuana, Baja California

I was very shy and had no girlfriend. One day I met a beautiful girl on the internet. In order to be accepted by her, I wrote her that I’m handsome and sent her photos of another man. I thank Saint Anthony of Padua because when we finally met in person, she forgave my lies and told me that she loves me not for my look but for what I’m inside. Now we are very happy together.

Lucio Sanchez
Tijuana, Baja California

I offer this retablo to Saint Rose. I decided to visit very famous lesbian tattoo artist in Tijuana to make a surprise for my husband’s birthday. But when my hubby saw my body all covered in tattoos he freaked out and kicked me out. He didn’t want to know me anymore. But the most amazing thing was that after this I came back to Tijuana and went to the lesbian artist with whom I had already started falling in love. Now we’re living and making tattoos together.

I offer this retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe because my arm which was hurt in Tijuana got healed.

Red Angel

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , and #

Saint Charbel, thank you for protecting us. Three years after my husband had gone to work in USA, we went to visit him. There we celebrated a New Year with our son. Two days later he went to visit his friend and never came back. I had some money but they didn’t last long. We got broke very quickly. We have no money to pay for a room but one lady gave us a room in a semi-destroyed house. Later I found out that my husband lives with an American woman.

Fernanda Mendoza
Tijuana, 1960

Demetrio Hernandez worked as referee in a championship fight, and he was knocked out by mistake of the boxer «Kid» Rodriguez. He thanks St. Jude Thaddeus with this retablo, because he only lost two teeth and nothing seriously bad happened. Some time later he returned to work.

Tijuana, 1968

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

I thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because my shoulder, which they hurt me in Tijuana, got better.

Blue Demon

Retablo by

— tagged with and and , and #

Ramiro Treviño, the bass player of the rock band “The Night Cats”, had his hair on fire when the fireworks went on at the end of the concert. He thanks Saint Patrick because there were no grave consequences and he only lost his large mane.

Tijuana, Baja California

I thank Saint Jude Thaddeus because he let me leave the convent for having fun at the disco.

Gabriela
Tijuana, Mexico — October 2010

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Lord of the Cross because it was only a dream and I didn’t fell off the trapeze in real life.

Facundo Peña, acrobat
Tijuana, Mexico, 1980
The “Union” circus

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

I, Raulito Contreras Avila, dedicate this retablo to you, Virgin of Guadalupe, for chasing away flying animals with very angry eyes from my room. I’m living alone and I’m very weak. They really scared me because I am gay since I was little. But you helped me.

Tijuana — November 11, 1980

— tagged with and , , , and #

— ретабло с тегом «Тихуана»

От страха я наврала своему жениху, что работаю секретаршей, хотя на самом деле я была стриптизершей. Благодарю Святого Рамона Нонната, ведь когда он сделал мне предложение, я все же раскрыла ему этот секрет, и он не разозлился, а отнесся с пониманием, показав тем самым, что на самом деле любит меня и не стыдится моей профессии.

Эсмеральда \ Тихуана, Нижняя Калифорния

Этим ретабло я благодарю Деву Милостыни, которая помогла мне накопить деньжат на маракасы, без которых я бы не смогла работать в кабаре «Мельница» в Тихуане.

Абель С. посвящает это скромное ретабло Святому Георгию в благодарность за то, что его жена не обнаружила, что он по выходным спускает кучу денег на приватные танцы сексуальных стриптизерш из «Table Dance». Он обещает никогда не забывать о своих супружеских обязательствах, но будет и далее удовлетворять свои личные прихоти, пускай и тайком.

Тихуана, Нижняя Калифорния

Я был очень стеснительным, поэтому у меня не было девушки. Однажды я познакомился в интернет-чате с очень красивой девушкой. Но чтобы понравиться ей, я написал, что я симпатичный, и отправил фотографии другого человека. Благодарю Святого Антония Падуанского за то, что когда мы наконец встретились в жизни, она простила мое вранье и сказала, что любит меня не за внешний вид, а за то, какой я внутри. Теперь мы очень час ливы вместе.

Лусио Санчес
Тихуана, Нижняя Калифорния

Посвящаю это ретабло Святой Розе. Я решила отправиться в Тихуану к одной известной лесбиянке, которая делала татуировки, чтобы сделать сюрприз для мужа к его дню рождения. Но когда мой муж увидел мое разукрашенное тело, он взбесился, выгнал меня из дома и не хотел больше знать меня. Но самое удивительное, что после этого я вернулась обратно в Тихуану в заведение к татуировщице, в которую я уже влюбилась. Теперь мы живем вместе и делаем татуировки.

Посвящаю это ретабло Деве Гваделупской, так как у меня зажила рука, которую мне повредили в Тихуане.

Красный Ангел

Святой Шарбель, благодарю тебя, что защитил нас. Случилось так, что спустя три года мы отправились навестить моего мужа, который уехал работать в США. Там вместе со мной и нашим сыном он встретил Новый год, а спустя два дня вышел проведать своего приятеля и больше не вернулся. У меня оставалось немного денег, но их не хватило надолго. Вскоре мы оказались на мели. Нам нечем было платить за жилье. Но одна сеньора приютила нас, дав комнату в полуразрушенном доме. Позже я узнала, что мой муж живет с какой-то американкой.

Фернанда Мендоса
Тихуана, 1960

Во время боксерского поединка рефери Деметрио Эрнандес был случайно отправлен в нокаут ударом Малыша Родригеса. Деметрио благодарит Святого Иуду Фаддея этим ретабло, что всё обошлось без серьезных последствий и он лишился лишь пары зубов. Так что спустя некоторое время он смог снова вернуться к работе.

Тихуана, 1968

Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую за то, что зажило мое плечо, которое мне повредили в Тихуане.

Синий Демон

У Рамиро Тревиньо, басиста рок-группы «Ночные коты», от вспыхнувших в конце выступления фейерверков загорелись волосы. Он благодарит Святого Патрика, что все обошлось и он всего лишь лишился своей густой шевелюры.

Тихуана, Нижняя Калифорния

Благодарю Святого Иуду Фаддея за то, что позволил мне оставить монастырь, чтобы тусоваться на дискотеках.

Габриэла
Тихуана, Мексика — октябрь 2010

Благодарю Христа с Крестом, что это был только страшный сон и я не погиб на самом деле, сорвавшись во время двойной трапеции.

Факундо Пенья, акробат
Цирк «Юнион»
Тихуана, Мексика, 1980

Я, Раульчик Контрерас Авила, посвящаю это ретабло тебе, Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, за то, что ты прогнала из моей комнаты летающих тварей с ужасными глазами. Я живу один, и я слабенький, а они очень сильно напугали меня, поскольку я с самого детства гей. Но ты помогла мне.

Тихуана, 11 ноября 1980