— tagged with “Guanajuato”

I bring this humble retablo to the Virgin of Guadalupe as my eternal gratitude for helping me to drop this vice of mine. All days long, I was drinking at the bars and saloons losing my life and my health. But I’m healthy now and even have got a job.

Delfino Mendoza
Guanajuato, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I bring my gratitude to the Virgin of the Solitude for my son’s arm has been cured. He was hit with a lightning when we were gathering woods in mountains and got caught by a storm. I saw his arm getting on fire and immediately entrusted him to you. I dedicate this retablo thanking for the miracle.

Anselmo. August 19, 1931
the Soledad neighborhood, Celaya, Guanajuato

Virgin of San Juan, thank for your favors. A cockfight was going on, and it seemed that my cock was going to win. I cheered him but then suddenly the other cock owner stab me in my eye. My eye fell off and I almost lost it. I thank the Virgin for enlightening the surgeon who worked on me.

Ambrosio Ibarra
Leon, Guanajuato, 1961

I liked my neighbor, and she responded me. But we were secretly seeing each other for she had a grumpy and violent father who didn’t let her to have a boyfriend. One night I climbed to her room to see her, and her father caught us by surprise with a pistol in his hand. I thank Saint Benedict for illuminating me to pretend a sleep-walker. With his divine help, her father believed it, so I saved my skin.

Nepomuceno Diaz
Guanajuato, Mexico

A pretty big black viper came to Saturnino Cardoso, and the horse almost threw me off. I thank.

Guanajuato
October 23, 1938

Virgin of Guadalupe, thank you for hearing my prayers. I didn’t let my sister to meet with Juan because he was known as a womanizer and drunkard. But he wouldn’t listen and decided to run away with him. They sat on a horse. I ran for her and grabbed her arm. The horse jolted and dragged me. A year later my sister came home in despair and with a baby in her arms. Turned out Juan kicked her out.

Paola Salas
Guanajuato, 1949

I bring this retablo as testimony of gratitude to Saint Anthony of Padua who made so that Lolita became my fiancée. I was afraid she’d reject me since I wasn’t of equal position with her. But I loved her so much. Now we’re happy together, and her family has accepted our relationship.

Maximino Cruz
Guanajuato

Retablo by

With all my heart, I’m thanking Saint Anthony of Padua for delivering my son Valentin from a love pain caused by an evil woman who cheated on him. That’s why he was spending all his time drinking. I was heart-broken. But thanks to the divine intervention, my boy is back to work now. He’s calm and peaceful now, and I bring this retablo for that.

Eduviges Salazar
Guanajuato, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

I thank the Holy Death for her favors. What a fear I got when I was told that my son was found in a grave with other people. I saw a newspaper article about this. And that moment, my boy came home. I felt so happy. He wasn’t home for a few days, and I though he’d really died—one of the corpses looked a lot like him. My son went with his friends to Veracruz without telling me.

Margarita A. G.
Guanajuato, 2008

I was a very gossipy woman. Every time I went to the market it was about gossiping around. But one day, as soon as I arrived at the market, I felt a strong sulfur smell. Then I had a horrible apparition with wings and horns. Oh my God, it was the devil himself. Frightened as hell, I would never gossip again nor would I talk badly about any person. Thanks to the Virgin of Guadalupe.

Gudelia Ramirez,
San Miguel de Allende, Guanajuato, Mexico
January 7, 1959

I’m infinitely grateful to Saint Anthony of Padua for giving me the talent of singing. Thanks to my beautiful voice and my serenades, I made my pretty Rosita fall in love with me. She is a very romantic person, and she loves when I’m singing under her balcony.

Jorge Alfredo Solis
Guanajuato, Mexico

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , and #

January 1947, near the Guanajuato river, Tomas Ramirez was attacked by three men—two were beating him and the third man, with a gun, shot him in stomach. Tomas fell unconscious. The bullet remained inside. A surgery was performed to avoid any infection. Tomas entrusted himself to the miraculous image of Saint Francis of Paola and little by little got better. Now he’s offering this retablo to keep the miracle in mind.

April 23, 1963. I’m thanking Saint Jude Thaddeus for saving me from dying when I hit an electric pole and stayed several months in the hospital.

Gustavo Teran Morales
Guanajuato

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and #

— ретабло с тегом «Гуанахуато»

Дева Сан-Хуанская, благодарю тебя за твои благодеяния. Петушиные бои были в самом разгаре, и мой петух явно выигрывал. Я подбадривал его, но тут хозяин другого петуха разозлился и ударил меня ножом прямо в глаз. Мой глаз чуть не вылетел из орбиты, и я почти лишился его. Благодарю Пресвятую Деву за то, что дала прекрасное образование хирургу, который меня оперировал.

Амбросио Ибарра
Леон, Гуанахуато, 1961

Мне очень нравилась моя соседка, и она ответила мне взаимностью. Но мы должны были встречаться тайком, поскольку у нее был сварливый и вспыльчивый папаша. Он не разрешал ей встречаться с парнями. Как-то ночью я залез к ней в комнату, и тут нас поймал ее отец. Он был с пистолетом. Благодарю Святого Бенедикта, ибо меня осенило притвориться лунатиком. С его божественной помощью отец соседки поверил в это, так что я спас свою шкуру.

Непомусено Диас
Гуанахуато, Мексика

На Сатурнино Кардосо выскочила весьма крупная черная гадюка, и лошадь чуть не сбросила меня. Благодарю.

Гуанахуато, 23 октября 1938

Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская, благодарю, что услышала мои мольбы. Я запрещала моей сестре встречаться с Хуаном, поскольку он был известен как бабник и пьяница. Но она не слушала меня и решила убежать с ним. Они сели на лошадь, я побежала за ней и схватила за руку. Лошадь дернулась, и меня протащило за ней. Год спустя моя сестра вернулась совершенно подавленная и с маленьким ребенком на руках. Оказалось, что Хуан выгнал ее из дома.

Паола Салас
Гуанахуто, 1949

В знак моей благодарности приношу это ретабло Святому Антонию Падуанского за то, что Лолита стала моей невестой. Я боялся, она отвергнет меня, ведь я не ровня ей, однако я любил ее всей душой. Теперь мы счастливы вместе, и ее семья одобрила наши отношения.

Максимино Крус
Гуанахуато

От всего сердца благодарю Святого Антония Падуанского за избавление моего сына Валентина от тяжелой любовной муки. Злая женщина обманула его, и оттого он пил дни напролет. Это сильно огорчало меня, но благодаря божественному вмешательству мой мальчик снова вернулся к работе и успокоился. Посвящаю за это ретабло.

Эдувигес Саласар
Гуанахуато, Мексика

Благодарю Святую Смерть за ее милости. Какой же ужас охватил меня, когда мне сообщили, что моего сына извлекли из общей могилы. Я видела заметку об этом в газете. И тут мой мальчик вернулся домой. Тотчас же я почувствовала радость. Ведь мой сын несколько дней не появлялся дома, и я считала, что он действительно погиб, — один из покойников был очень на него похож. На самом деле мой сын ездил со своими приятелями в Веракрус и не предупредил меня.

Маргарита
Гуанухуато, 2008

Я была ужасной болтушкой. Всякий раз отправляясь на рынок, я шла посплетничать. Но вот однажды, только я пришла на рынок, неожиданно почувствовался сильный запах серы. Тут мне явилось ужасное видение с крыльями и рогами. Боже мой, это был сам дьявол. От страха я больше никогда не сплетничаю и ни о ком не говорю ничего дурного. Благодарю Деву Гваделупскую.

Гуделия Рамирес
Сан-Мигель-де-Альенде, Гуанахуато, Мексика
7 января 1959

Я бесконечно благодарен Святому Антонию Падуанском за дарованный мне певческий талант. Благодаря моему прекрасному голосу своими серенадами я смог влюбить в себя красавицу Роситу. Он очень романтичная натура, и ей нравится, что я пою под ее балконом.

Хорхе Альфредо Солис
Гуанахуато, Мексика

В январе 1947 г. у реки Гуанахуато на Томаса Рамиреса напали три человека: двое колотили его, а третий — с пистолетом — выстрелил ему в живот, после чего Томас потерял сознание. Пуля осталась внутри, и, чтобы избежать инфенкции, была сделана операция. Томас вверился чудодейственному образу святого Франциска из Паолы и потихоньку пошел на поправку. Теперь он преподносит это ретабло, чтобы увековечить память об этом чуде.

23 апреля 1963. Благодарю Святого Иуду Фаддея за спасение от гибели, когда я врезался в электрический столб и провел многие месяцы в больнице.

Густаво Теран Моралес
Гуанахуато

Когда мой ученик Альфонсо влюбился в меня, мне показалось это очень милым. Но когда я увидела, что он настроен серьёзно, я забеспокоилась и взмолилась о помощи Пресвятой Деве Гваделупской. И спустя некоторое время она сотворила чудо, так как Альфонсито остыл ко мне и переключился на новую девочку, которая посреди учебного года переехала жить из Гуанахуато к нам. Я благодарю, что она, а не я, станет той, кто разобьёт Альфонсо сердце.

Приношу это ретабло Святому Антонию в благодарность за то, что Лолита стала моей невестой. Я боялся, она отвергнет меня из-за того, что я ей не ровня. Я же любил ее всем сердцем. Теперь мы счастливы, и ее семья тоже довольна.

Бенито Крус
Гуанахуато, 1946