August 7, 1957, Camila and Rozaura Beltrones were coming back from the mess, and an insane person, who had arrived to their town, followed them. They were afraid he’d attack them and they entrusted themselves to the Virgin of Zapopan. The Virgin protected them and they arrived home safe and sound. And the insane went away without doing any harm to them. They thank for that with this retablo.

— tagged with and #

One day I found out that my boyfriend fell in love with my brother. I was insulted, offended, disappointed and very angry. But thanks to Saint Michael Archangel I met Jose Antonio and fell madly in love with him. Now I think it’s very nice that my brother and David love each other and are happy together, as I am. I dedicate this retablo to Saint Michael in gratitude.

My wife Juana had fits of fury quite often. She crushed everything in the house. I was scared that my kids also would have similar disorders, so I prayed for help to the Virgin of Zapopan. Thanks to her miracle my wife calmed down and she hasn’t been having outbursts for a long time. I dedicate the retablo for that.

Candida Martinez had a tough choice to make. He feel in love with two men in at the same time, Humberto, a shop owner, who gave her a lot of presents, and Martin, who spoke so sweet about love. She thanks the Lord of Villaseca for helping her to choose Martin. Now she asks only for a good job for him, so they could get married.

Guanajuato
May 15, 1959

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

June 16, 1964 Maricela Morena was trying on her wedding dress at the house of her grandparents. The dogs were very irritated by that dress and attacked her. Hearing the material tearing apart Maricela start praying desperately to the Virgin of San Juan. The Virgin worked a miracle so the dress didn’t tear. Maricela gives thanks for that.

— tagged with and , , , #

Leonorilda Perez went to a fortune-teller, and she told her that a man would give her an unforgettable surprise. It turned out to be gonorrhea, and only the Virgin of Guadalupe was able to cure her. Leonorilda thanks for this favor.

Retablo by

Venerable Saint Lazarus. After waiting for so many years, finally there is a female Pope. Praise Jesus! Glory to God! We have read and written so many feminist books, and finally, you have heard our prayers. Thank you! We will not let you down!

Retablo by

I thank the Virgin of Zapopan because after many years, when we couldn’t have children, she blessed us with the most beautiful baby we have ever seen. The baby is strong and healthy, and we are the happiest parents in the world.

— tagged with and , , #

One policeman leant on the balcony and broke my grandmother’s flower pot. My grandmother went out and started beating the policeman with a stick. The policeman got angry and wanted to arrest my grandmother. I prayed to the Virgin of Paloma, and she miraculously softened his heart. So he didn’t throw her in jail.

— tagged with and , , , #

Because of our lack of money, we couldn’t build a stable. And every time when it rained, my wife brought the cow in the house so that it wouldn’t get wet. I hated that, because this damned animal licked my feet and waked me up. I prayed to the Virgin of Guadalupe for money for the stable. The Virgin worked that miracle for me, and now the cow sleeps outside.

Virgin of Guadalupe, I’m going to thank you because you sent me Emilio, a man, who fell in love with me, knowing that I was a prostitute. I also fell in love with him. He proposed me and took me out of this sad life. I’m verry happy with him. Bless our marriage!

Lupe Chavez
Peralvillo, Mexico City
December 12, 1970

My son Arturo became a hippy. He didn’t study, didn’t work, and smoked weed all day long. I prayed the Virgin but she didn’t hear me. Then I asked Saint Michael the Archangel. He was touched by my sorrow, and some time later my son went to the University. Now he is not as dopey as before.

Marina Perez worked in a fish shop, and she came home having a fishy smell. Her husband didn’t want to approach her, and Marina felt offended and sad. Then, with all her savings, she opened a flower shop. So now she smells like roses and jasmine. And her husband even offered her to have a new baby. She thanks Saint Anthony because now she is happy.

7 августа 1957 г. за возвращавшимися с мессы сеньоритами Камилой и Розаурой Белтронес увязался сумасшедший, пришедший в деревню, и они, опасаясь, что он нападёт на них, вверились Пресвятой Деве Сапопанской. Дева защитила их, и они спокойно добрались до дома, а безумный ушёл, никого не обидев. За что они и благодарят этим ретабло.

Однажды я обнаружила, что мой жених влюбился в моего брата. Я была оскорблена, рассержена и разочарована. Но благодаря Святому Мигелю Архангелу я познакомилась с Хосе Антонио и совершенно потеряла голову от него, и теперь мне приятно, что мой брат и Давид любят друг друга и что они счастливы, как и я. Посвящаю это ретабло в благодарность Святому Мигелю.

У моей супруги Хуаны постоянно случались ужасные приступы гнева, во время которых она метала и крушила всё подряд. Я боялся, что у детей тоже начнутся подобные расстройства, поэтому я стал просить помощи у Девы Сапопанской. Благодаря её чудесному вмешательству моя жена успокоилась и не бесится уже долгое время. В знак благодарности посвящаю это ретабло.

Кандида Мартинес мучилась тяжким выбором, влюбившись одновременно в Умберто, хозяина лавки, который задаривал её подарками, и Мартина, который ей говорил много сладостных слов о любви. Она благодарит Господа Вильясекского за то, что он помог ей решиться и выбрать Мартина, и теперь просит лишь послать тому хорошую работу, чтобы они могли спокойно пожениться.

Гуанахуато, 15 мая 1959

16 июня 1964 Марисела Морено примеряла свадебное платье в доме своих бабушки и дедушки. Собаки были раздражены этим нарядом и напали на неё. Услышав, как рвётся платье, она стала отчаянно просить Деву Сан-Хуанскую о помощи. Дева явила прекрасное чудо, так что платье не порвалось, а Марисела приносит ей благодарности.

Леонорильда Перес пошла к гадалке, и та сказала ей, что мужчина преподнесет ей незабываемый сюрприз. Этим сюрпризом оказалась гонорея, и только Пресвятая Дева Гваделупская была в силах излечить ее. Леонорильда благодарит за эту милость.

Преподобный Святой Лазарь, после стольких лет ожиданий, наконец, у нас есть папесса. Славься, Христос! О мой Бог, слава тебе! Мы прочли и написали столько феминистских книг, и наконец ты услышал наши просьбы. Спасибо! Мы не подведем тебя.

Благодарю Деву Сапопанскую за то, что после долгих лет, когда мы не могли иметь детей, она послала нам ребёночка невиданной красы, здорового и крепенького. Так что мы — счастливейшие родители в мире.

Один полицейский, оперевшись о балкон, случайно разбил цветочный горшок моей бабушки. Она выбежала и стала колотить его палкой. Полицейский рассердился и хотел посадить её в тюрьму. Я взмолилась Деве Паломской, и она чудесным образом смягчила сердце мужчины, и он не посадил бабушку.

Из-за недостатка денег мы так и не смогли построить стойло, поэтому каждый раз во время дождя моя жена приводила корову домой, чтобы та не промокла, и меня раздражало, что это проклятое животное постоянно мне докучало, облизывая пятки. Я много молился Деве Гваделупской, чтобы мы заработали хоть немного деньжат на стойло, и Пресвятая послала мне это чудо, так что теперь корова спит снаружи.

Дева Гваделупская, приношу тебе благодарности, что послала мне Эмилио, который, зная, что я проститука, полюбил меня, как и я его, предложил мне выйти замуж и вытащил из этой жалкой жизни. Я очень счастлива рядом с ним. Благослови мой брак!

Лупе Чавес
Пералвильо, Мехико
12 декабря 1970

Мой сын Артуро стал хиппи и круглыми днями курил марихуану, не учился и не работал. Я обращалась к Святой Деве, но она не вняла моим молитвам. Тогда я стала просить Святого Михаила Архангела. Его тронули мои горести, и спустя некоторое время мой сын поступил в университет. Теперь он не такой балбес как прежде.

Марина Перес работала в рыбном магазине и приходила домой вся пропахшая рыбой. Ее муж не хотел находиться рядом с ней, из-за чего Марина чувствовала себя оскорбленной и несчастной. Тогда на их сбережения она открыла цветочный магазин. Теперь она приходит домой, благоухая розами и жасмином, так что муж даже предложил ее завести еще одного ребенка. Она благодарит Святого Антония, так как теперь она счастлива.