— tagged with “Hidalgo”

In the heat of the fight Visenta Lopez got confused and shot her old man in the ribs. He was badly screwed. Visenta thanks the Lord of the Miracles for the old man didn’t kick the bucket and got recovered.

Pachuca, Hidalgo, 1914

I dedicate this retablo to Saint Paschal Baylon because we won a nice American kitchen in a Guanajuato’s radio program raffle. Now I can cook delicious dishes for my husband—green pozole, pork escalopes, tacos al pastor, chicken balls, marinated arrachera steak, meat with mushrooms, grilled ribs, chilaquiles and pork with beens.

Pachuca, January 3, 1969

I offer this retablo to the Zacacalco Crucifix for helping me with the agaves. After selling my pulque I could buy this mule that helps me to deliver more orders in and out of the town. There are a lot of orders now. Bless my work as a pulque gatherer, give me strength and health.

Eligio Chavez
San Cristobal Zacacalco, Hidalgo
May 17, 1960

Retablo by

Bernabe Gonzalez used to beat his wife. But one day she had enough of it, so while her husband was sleeping, she tied him to the bed with the belt and gave him a lesson. Bernabe got so scared that he promised to St. Pancras to not be violent with his wife.

Pachuca, 1935

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

Every day in the office, I was suffering harassment from my boss who used every opportunity to approach me and touch me. He made me improper proposals in change of moving up in my job, and I felt very terrible. I thank Saint Dorothy for giving me enough courage to denounce him to his superiors and to end this nightmare.

Rita N.
Pachuca, Hidalgo

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and , #

We thank the Virgin of Guadalupe because we managed to collect enough money to but a new needle for our record player. So now we can listen that album we have all the day on Sundays.

Hidalgo, March 1962

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and #

My children and I were decorating the Christmas tree. I just needed to put the star on the top of the tree. I couldn’t reach it, though, so I climbed a ladder. At that moment, a very annoying mosquito flew over me and began buzzing around. I tried to kill him but fell down myself with the tree instead. I thank Saint Marta because, although I hit myself tremendously, the tree and the toys weren’t damaged.

Filiberto Ortega
Pachuca, Hidalgo

Thank you, Virgin of Guadalupe, for saving my son Julio. I sent him to take money from my friend. He didn’t come back for a long time and I went to find him. To my surprise, I found him lying on the ground. He had been attacked and shot. I dedicate this retablo to the brown-skin Virgin for saving him.

Felipe Lopez
Pachuca, Hidalgo, 1964

My wife and I used to work together in the same company. But then one day there were doing cutting of employees and I was fired. So I took upon myself all the house duties, cooking including. It was very hard, everything was going wrong. I implored Saint Paschal’s help, and, after many attempts, my dishes started to turn out good and delicious. I thank for such a miracle, and I even think of opening a budget cafe in my garage.

Julian Segura
Pachuca, Hidalgo

I offer this retablo to Saint Martin the Cavalryman thanking him for my son Evaristo finally straightened his life up and found a job. He was already 35 years old, yet he did nothing but lay in the bed and listen his music. I couldn’t support him any longer.

Petra Carranza
Pachuca, Hidalgo

I bring this retablo to Saint Anthony of Padua thanking him for the miracle. He helped me to find a very gallant, romantic and handsome husband who brings joy to my life. At my age, I thought I would stay alone, and now I’m the envy of all my friends.

Delfina Covarrubias
Dolores, Hidalgo

I thank Saint Martin the Cavalryman for helping my husband with job. So we could pay all our debts and celebrate christmas holidays with family.

Josefa Molina
Pachuca, Hidalgo

Macaria Soto thanks for saving her donkey from the bite of a viper beaus the donkey has a perfect vision and saw the snake and killed it with her hoof. She thanks for that with this picture.

Zimapan, Hidalgo, 1952

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and , #

— ретабло с тегом «Идальго»

В пылу сражения Висента Лопес по ошибке пустила пулю своему старику под ребро. Ему серьезно досталось. Висента благодарит Господа Чудес за то, что старик не откинулся и уже поправился.

Пачука, Идальго, 1914

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Паскуалю Байлону за то, что мы выиграли прелестную американскую кухню в лотерее на радиостанции в Гуанахуато. Теперь я смогу готовить моему мужу вкусные блюда: зеленый суп посоле, эскалопа из свинины, такос по-пастырски, куриные шарики, аррачеру в маринаде, мясо с грибами, ребрышки на грилле, чилакилес и фасоль со свининой.

Пачука, 3 января 1969

Сакакалькскому распятию посвящаю я это ретабло за помощь мне с агавами. Я продал пульке и купил на вырученные деньги этого мула, который помогает мне доставлять больше заказов внутри и за пределами моего городка. Заказов теперь стало больше. Благослови мой труд собирателя агав, пошли мне сил и здоровья.

Элихио Чавес
Сан-Кристобаль-Сакакалько, Идальго
17 мая 1960

Бернабе Гонсалес частенько поколачивал свою женушку. Та в конце концов не вытерпела и однажды, пока муж спал, привязала его ремнем к кровати и проучила как следует. Бернабе так перепугался, что пообещал Святому Панкратию больше не бить жену.

Пачука, 1935

Каждый день на работе я страдала от приставаний своего начальника. Он пользовался любой возможностью, чтобы приблизиться ко мне и потрогать меня. Он делал мне непристойные предложения в обмен на повышение, но мне все это было крайне неприятно. Благодарю Святую Дорофею за то, что придала мне мужества заявить на него вышестоящему начальству и прекратить этот кошмар.

Рита Н.
Пачука, Идальго

Благодарим Деву Гваделупскую за то, что мы наконец смогли собрать денег, которых нам не хватало, чтобы купить новую иглу для нашего проигрывателя. Теперь по воскресеньям мы будем весь день слушать нашу пластинку.

Идальго, март 1962

Мы с детьми наряжали елку к Рождеству, и мне оставалось лишь надеть звезду на макушку. Я не доставал до верхушки и залез на лестницу. В этот момент подлетел надоедливый комарик и начал кружить вокруг меня. Я взялся его прихлопнуть, а в результате свалился сам да еще и елку уронил. Благодарю Святую Марту, поскольку хотя я сам и больно ударился, а вот елка не сломалась и украшения не побились.

Филиберто Ортега
Пачука, Идальго

Благодарю тебя, Дева Гваделупская, что спасла моего сына Хулио. Я послал его забрать деньги у одного моего знакомого. Он долго не возвращался, и я отправился на его поиски. С удивлением я обнаружил его распростертым на земле. На него напали и в него стреляли. Посвящаю это ретабло Смуглой Деве за то, что спасла его.

Фелипе Лопес
Пачука, Идальго, 1964

Мы с женой работали в одной и той же компании. Но потом я попал под сокращение. Тогда я взял на себя обязанности по дому, в том числе и по кухне. Это было тяжко для меня, и все у меня шло шиворот-навыворот. Тогда в взмолился Святому Паскуалю о помощи. После многих попыток у меня наконец стали выходить вкусные блюда. Благодарю за это чудо. Теперь я даже подумываю, не открыть ли мне в гараже бюджетную закусочную.

Хулиан Сегура
Пачка, Идальго

Посвящаю это ретабло Святому Мартину Всаднику в благодарность за то, что мой сын Эваристо наконец-то встал на верный путь и нашел себе работу. Ему уже было 35 лет, а он только и знал, что лодырничать, валяться на кровати да слушать свою музыку. Я уже больше не могла его содержать.

Петра Карранса
Пачука, Идальго

Приношу это ретабло Святому Антонию Падуанскому в благодарность за чудо. Он помог мне найти очень галантного, романтичного и симпатичного мужа, который скрасил мою жизнь. Я думала, что в моем возрасте я уже навсегда останусь одной, и теперь все мои подруги завидуют мне.

Дельфина Коваррубиас
Долорес, Идальго

Благодарю Святого Мартина Всадника за то, что помог моему мужу с работой, так что мы смогли расплатиться с долгами и спокойно отпраздновать рождественские праздники всей семьей.

Хосефа Молина
Пачука, Идальго

Макария Сото благодарит, что её ослица избежала укуса гадюки, поскольку благодаря хорошему зрению успела заметить змею и убить её копытом. В знак признательности Макария посвящает данную картинку.

Симапан, Идальго, 1952