Flor Palomares

The mariachi “Voices of Mexico” dedicate this humble retablo, with great faith and devotion, to Saint Cecily for having a lot of work because the tourists who came to the Garibaldi Sq. are very fond of their music and hire them to brighten up their Mexican nights.

Mexico City

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , and , #

The brothers Cosme and Crispin Trejo went to the cemetery to celebrate the November 2 and met a mister who sat on a tomb. He was going to give them a chest full of gold so they would continue with their vice. But suddenly they noticed that it was a skeleton who talked with them. They implored the Virgin of the Solitude for protection, and nothing happened with them. They promised to not drink anymore and to not disturb the dead.

Tlaxcala, 1948

We were going through difficulties with maintenance of the convent. But I had an idea to prepare and sell mole using my grandmother’s recipe. I thank Saint Paschal Baylon because it has been sold vey well and, thanks to his divine intervention, we can move on financially. May you be blessed.

Sister Clemetina
Puebla, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , , , and #

My husband couldn’t perform in bed. Preoccupied, we asked Saint James the Apostle for a solution. We decided to try the medicine called viagra. It worked. Now we’re very happy and very much in love like when we were young. We thank for that.

Casilda C.
Huajuapan de León, Oaxaca, 2005

Hermenegildo Castro dedicates this humble retablo to Saint Anthony the Great because thanks to his divine intervention he found his donkey Filemon which had been lost in the filed. Without the donkey he couldn’t work and now he’s very glad.

Tepeaca, Puebla

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , and , #

I bring this retablo to Saint Anthony thanking him for Lolita has become my fiancée. I was afraid she would reject me because I wasn’t her equal. But I loved her with all my heart. We’re very happy, and her family is glad.

Benito Cruz
Guanajuato, 1946

Retablo by

— tagged with and and #

My mother confirmed my suspicions about my husband when she saw him walking with other women. That’s why he was almost never home and wouldn’t come to sleep sometimes. Then I entrusted myself, with all my heart, to Saint James the Apostle so that he would straighten my husband. And now my hubby is always at home. He even does household chores and cooks. He’s faithful now and I thank for that.

Antonieta Zavala — Yucatan

Because I kept staring at two hot chicks walking down the street I didn’t notice a banana peel. I slipped on it and almost fell into an opened manhole. I thank Saint Charbel who didn’t let me fall into this manhole and break my bones. I promise him not to show off in front of the girls and not to give them the glad eye.

Fulgencio Robledo, 1981

Retablo by

— tagged with and , , , #

Since the rains continued for a long time, we couldn’t work, because the materials deteriorated. We prayed to the Virgin of San Juan because we were scared we would be fired because we weren’t working. But the engineer understood us and didn’t fire us. He even celebrated the Day of the Holy Cross with us. We present this humble retablo, as we promised.

Michoacan, 1970
Lucio and Evelio Grajales

Retablo by

Doña Felecitas always meddled in the other people’s life, especially in her daughter-in-law Lupita’s. The poor girl didn’t know how to defend herself because her husband always defended Felecitas. He used to say that the mother is sacred and whatever she says or does is also sacred. One day Felecitas came to complain about shirts that had been supposedly badly washed. She wanted to hit her, but Lupe became furious and belabored her mother-in-law who was left stunned. Afterwards, Lupe, scared and confused, asked help from the Holy Blind Child. Her husband didn’t find out what happened. And her mother-in-law actually doesn’t bother her anymore. She even address to her politely and gently.

Lupita Anacleto
Puebla de Atempan, Puebla, 1987

The Teodoro brothers and Lucio Garcia thanks Saint James the Apostle because they rooster El Giro won over the White Cock which had never lost a fight before. With the money they won they payed off their debts.

Aguascalientes, 1949

Since I got internet at home for my work my wife has been spending all her time chatting with her friends and playing the computer. She wouldn’t do her household chores and neglected our baby. I thank Saint Raymond Nonnatus for delivering her from this internet obsession. And now she’s an excellent mother and a great wife.

Filiberto Pantoja — Chihuahua

The superhero Squirrel Woman was fighting with two criminals when suddenly the third one hit her in the back. She lost her conscience. When she came back to her senses she asked for superior help, and thank to the Sorrowful Virgin of Memories she could get up and catch the scoundrels.

Apizaco, Tlaxcala, 1974

Флор Паломарес

Мариачи «Голоса Мехико» с большой признательностью посвящают это скромное ретабло Святой Сесилии за обилие работы, поскольку туристы, посещающие площадь Гарибальди, очень довольны их музыкой и нанимают их, чтобы скрасить свои мексиканские ночи.

Мехико

Братья Косме и Креспин Трехо отправились на кладбище отметить 2 ноября, когда повстречали господина, сидящего на одной из могил. Он собирался вручить им сундук, полный золота, на что братья были особенно падки. Но вдруг они заметили, что господин, с которым они говорят, — скелет. Они взмолились Пресвятой Деве Скорбящей, чтобы она защитила их и чтобы с ними ничего не случилось, и пообещали ей впредь не пить и не тревожить покойников.

Тласкала 1948

Нам было тяжело содержать монастырь, и тогда мне пришла в голову идея готовить и продавать моле по рецепту моей бабушки. Благодарю Святого Паскаля Баллона за то, что моле хорошо продался и благодаря его божественному вмешательству мы смогли избавиться от финансовых трудностей. Будь благословен.

Сестра Клементина
Пуэбла, Пуэбла

У моего мужа не получалось в постели. Переживая из-за этого, мы обратились за помощью к Святому Якову. В настоящее время мы решили попробовать медицинское средство под названием виагра, и теперь у мужа всё в порядке, мы счастливы и влюблены, как в дни, когда мы были молоды. За что и благодарим.

Касильда С.
Уахуапан-де-Леон, Оахака, 2005

Эрменехильдо Кастро посвящает это скромное ретабло Святому Антонию Великому, так как благодаря его божественному вмешательству он смог найти своего осла Филемона, потерявшегося в поле. Без него он не смог бы работать и теперь очень рад.

Тепеака, Пуэбла

Приношу это ретабло Святому Антонию в благодарность за то, что Лолита стала моей невестой. Я боялся, она отвергнет меня из-за того, что я ей не ровня. Я же любил ее всем сердцем. Теперь мы счастливы, и ее семья тоже довольна.

Бенито Крус
Гуанахуато, 1946

Мама подтвердила мои подозрения, когда увидела моего мужа гуляющим с другими женщинами. Из-за этого он почти не появлялся дома и не приходил ночевать. Тогда я всем сердцем вверилась Святому Якову Апостолу, чтобы он исправил мне мужа. Теперь мой муж очень ласков со мной и все время дома. Он даже делает работу по дому и готовит. Он верен мне, и я благодарю за это.

Антониета Савала
Юкатан

Засмотревшись на двух прехорошеньких девиц на улице, я не заметил, как наступил на банановую кожуру. Я поскользнулся и стал падать в открытый канализационный люк. Я благодарю Святого Шарбеля, что он не позволил мне упасть в него и переломать все кости. Обещаю ему впредь не заглядываться на девиц и не выпендриваться перед ними.

Фульхенсио Робледо, 1981

Очень долго шли дожди, и мы не могли работать, ведь строительные материалы испортились. Мы взмолились о помощи Деве Сан-Хуанской, так как боялись, что нас уволят из-за того, что мы не работаем. Инженер нас понял и не уволил нас, а вместе с нами отпраздновал День Святого Креста. Мы преподносим это скромное ретабло, как и обещали.

Мичоакан, 1970
Лусио и Эвелио Грахалес

Донья Фелеситас всегда вмешивалась в дела других людей и особенно придиралась к своей невестке Лупите. Бедняжка уж не знала, как ей быть, поскольку муж всегда защищал Фелиситас, приговаривая, что мама — это святое и всё, что она делает и говорит, — тоже свято. Однажды та стала выказывать Лупите претензии, что рубашки были якобы плохо постираны, и собиралась её ударить. Тут Лупе рассвирипела и отдубасила обескураженную свекровь. Лупе, испугавшись сама, не знала, что делать, и взмолилась о помощи Святому Слепому Младенцу, и муж так и не узнал о происшедшем. А свекровь больше к ней не придирается, даже наоборот, обращается к ней кротко и учтиво.

Лупита Анаклето
Атемпан, Пуэбла, 1987

Братья Теодоро и Лусио Гарсия благодарят Святого апостола Якова за то, что их петух Юркий победил Белого петуха, который прежде никогда не проигрывал боя. На выигранные деньги они смогли расплатиться с долгами.

Агуаскальентес, 1949

С тех пор как я провел домой интернет для работы, моя жена постоянно чатиться со своими подружками и играет за компьютером. Она забросила домашние дела и не присматривала за нашим ребенком. Благодарю Святого Рамона Нонната за то, что у нее прошла одержимость интернетом и она снова стала замечательной женой и матерью.

Филиберто Пантоха
Чиуауа

Супергероиня Женщина-белка сражалась с двумя преступниками, но внезапно третий ударил ее в спину, и она потеряла сознание. Позднее, придя в себя, она попросила помощи свыше и благодаря Пресвятой Деве Печальных Воспоминаний смогла подняться, нагнать и схватить негодяев.

Аписако, штат Тласкала 1974